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GENERAL PERMIT CONDITIONS

TERMINATION OF PERMIT TO INSTALL

Substantial construction for installation must take place within 18 months of the 
effective date of this permit.  This deadline may be extended by up to 12 months if 
application is made to the Director within a reasonable time before the termination date 
and the party shows good cause for any such extension.

NOTICE OF INSPECTION

The Director of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, or his authorized 
representatives, may enter upon the premises of the above-named applicant during 
construction and operation at any reasonable time for the purpose of making 
inspections, conducting tests, or to examine records or reports pertaining to the 
construction, modification or installation of the source(s) of environmental pollutants 
identified within this permit.

CONSTRUCTION OF NEW SOURCES

The proposed source(s) shall be constructed in strict accordance with the plans and 
application submitted for this permit to the Director of the Ohio Environmental 
Protection Agency.  There may be no deviation from the approved plans without the 
express, written approval of the Agency.  Any deviations from the approved plans or the 
above conditions may lead to such sanctions and penalties as provided under Ohio 
law.  Approval of these plans does not constitute an assurance that the proposed 
facilities will operate in compliance with all Ohio laws and regulations.  Additional 
facilities shall be installed upon orders of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency if 
the proposed sources are inadequate or cannot meet applicable standards.

If the construction of the proposed source(s) has already begun or has been completed 
prior to the date the Director of the Environmental Protection Agency approves the 
permit application and plans, the approval does not constitute expressed or implied 
assurance that the proposed facility has been constructed in accordance with the 
approved plans.  The action of beginning and/or completing construction prior to 
obtaining the Director's approval constitutes a violation of Ohio Administrative Code 
(OAC) Rule 3745-31-02. Furthermore, issuance of the Permit to Install does not 
constitute an assurance that the proposed source will operate in compliance with all 
Ohio laws and regulations.  Approval of the plans in any case is not to be construed as 
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an approval of the facility as constructed and/or completed. Moreover, issuance of the 
Permit to Install is not to be construed as a waiver of any rights that the Ohio 
Environmental Protection Agency (or other persons) may have against the applicant for 
starting construction prior to the effective date of the permit.  Additional facilities shall 
be installed upon orders of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency if the proposed 
facilities cannot meet applicable standards.

PERMIT TO INSTALL FEE

In accordance with Ohio Revised Code 3745.11, the specified Permit to Install fee must 
be remitted within 30 days of the effective date of this permit to install. 

PUBLIC DISCLOSURE

The facility is hereby notified that this permit, and all agency records concerning the 
operation of this permitted source, are subject to public disclosure in accordance with 
OAC Rule 3745-49-03.

APPLICABILITY

This Permit to Install is applicable only to the contaminant sources identified.  Separate 
application must be made to the Director for the installation or modification of any other 
contaminant sources.

BEST AVAILABLE TECHNOLOGY

As specified in OAC Rule 3745-31-05, all new sources must employ Best Available 
Technology (BAT).  Compliance with the terms and conditions of this permit will fulfill 
this requirement.

PERMIT TO OPERATE APPLICATION

A Permit to Operate application must be submitted to the appropriate field office for 
each air contaminant source in this Permit to Install.  In accordance with OAC Rule 
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3745-35-02, the application shall be filed no later than thirty days after commencement 
of operation.

SOURCE OPERATION AFTER COMPLETION OF CONSTRUCTION

This facility is permitted to operate each source described by this permit to install for a 
period of up to one year from the date the source commenced operation.  This 
permission to operate is granted only if the facility complies with all requirements 
contained in this permit and all applicable air pollution laws and regulations.
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AIR EMISSION SUMMARY

The air contaminant emissions units listed below comprise the 
Permit to Install for Nikkos located in Muskingum County.  The 
emissions units listed below shall not exceed the emission 
limits/control requirements contained in the table. This 
condition in no way limits the applicability of any other state 
or federal regulations.  Additionally, this condition does not 
limit the applicability of additional special terms and 
conditions of this permit.

Ohio 
EPA 

Source 
Number

D001

Source 
Identification 
Description

One Dry to 
Dry cleaning 
machine w/ 
Refrigerated 
Condenser

BAT
Determination

Compliance with 
the terms and 
conditions of this 
permit and Federal 
EPA MACT standard

Applicable 
Federal &
OAC Rules

OAC rule 
3745-31-05
NESHAP (40 CFR 
part 63, 
Subparts A and 
M)
OAC rule 
3745-21-09(AA)
OAC rule 
3745-21-10(J)

Permit Allowable 
Mass Emissions 

and/or 
Control/Usage
Requirements

This emissions 
unit is limited 
to less than 140 
gallons 
consumption of 
perchloroethy-le
ne per 12 month 
rolling period.
This emissions 
unit is limited 
to 0.6 ton per 
year 
perchloroe-thyle
ne emissions.

SUMMARY
TOTAL PERMIT TO INSTALL ALLOWABLE EMISSIONS

Pollutant
Perchloroethylene
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Tons/Year

0.6

ADDITIONAL SPECIAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS

A.   Applicable Emission Limitations and/or Control Requirements

1. The dryer shall be equipped with or vented to a 
refrigerated vapor condenser whereby there is no 
exhaust of perchloroethylene vapors to the ambient air 
throughout the drying cycle, except for when the 
dryer’s door is momentarily opened during loading or 
unloading.

B.  Operational Restrictions
1. The waste from any diatomaceous earth filter which has 

been used to filter perchloroethylene shall contain no 
more than 25 percent by weight VOC, as determined 
under paragraph (J) of OAC rule 3745-21-10.

2. The waste from any distillation operation (solvent 
still) which has been used to distill 
perchloroethylene shall contain no more than 60 
percent by weight VOC, as determined under paragraph 
(J) of OAC rule 3745-21-10.

3. Any disposable filter cartridge which has been used to 
filter perchloroethylene shall be drained in the 
filter housing for at least 24 hours before being 
discarded.

4. All equipment must be maintained so as to prevent the 
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leaking of perchloroethylene liquid and prevent 
perceptible vapor leaks from gaskets, seals, ducts, 
and related equipment.  Any equipment which is leaking 
perchloroethylene liquid or has a perceptible vapor 
leak shall not be operated until the leak is repaired.

5. The owner or operator shall store all 
perchloroethylene and wastes that contain 
perchloroethylene in solvent tanks or solvent 
containers with no perceptible leaks.

6. The door of each dry cleaning machine shall be closed 
at all times except to transfer articles to and from 
the machine.

7. The dry cleaning machine shall be operated and 
maintained according to manufacturer’s specifications 
and recommendations.

8. The outlet gas-vapor stream temperature of the 
condenser shall be a maximum of 45 degrees Fahrenheit.

9. Perchloroethylene shall not be vented or released to 
the atmosphere while the dry cleaning machine drum is 
rotating.

10. The machine shall be operated with a diverter valve to 
prevent air drawn into the dry cleaning machine (when 
the machine door is open) from passing through the 
refrigerated condenser.

C.   Monitoring and/or Recordkeeping Requirements

1. A leak detection and repair program to inspect all dry 
cleaning equipment for leaks that are obvious from sight, 
smell, or touch shall be conducted.  Pursuant to OAC rule 
3745-21-09(AA)(1)(e), any equipment found to be leaking 
perchloroethylene liquid or vapor is not to be operated 
until the leak is repaired.  Leaks are to be repaired within 
24 hours after being found, or repair parts ordered within 2 
working days after detecting a leak that needs repair 
parts.  Repair parts shall be installed within 5 working 
days after they are received.  In accordance with 40 CFR 
Part 63 Subpart M, compliance with this requirement shall be 
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determined through biweekly visual inspection of the 
following components while the dry cleaning system is 
operating: 

a. hose and pipe connections, fittings, coupling and 
valves;

b. machine door gaskets and seatings:

c. filter gaskets and seatings;

d. pumps;

e. solvent tanks and containers;

f. water separators;

g. filter sludge recovery;

h. distillation valves

i. diverter valves;

j. saturated lint from the lint basket;

k. cartridge filters and housings; 

l. muck cookers;

m. stills; and

n. exhaust dampers.

2. The temperature of the air-perchloroethylene gas-vapor 
stream on the outlet side of the  refrigerated 
condenser shall be measured weekly with a temperature 
sensor.  The  temperature sensor shall be used 
according to the manufacturer’s instructions and shall 
be designed to measure a temperature of 45 degrees 
Fahrenheit to an accuracy of plus  or minus 2 degrees 
Fahrenheit.  If the outlet temperature is higher than 
45 degrees  Fahrenheit, adjustments or repairs shall 
be made to meet that value.  Repair parts shall be 
ordered within 2 working days after detecting a 
violation that needs repair parts.  Repair parts shall 
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be installed within 5 working days after they are 
received.

3. The following records shall be kept on site in a log 
for a period of not less than 5 years, and shall be 
made available upon request:

a. receipts of all perchloroethylene purchases;

b. the volume of perchloroethylene purchased each 
month as recorded from perchloroethylene 
purchases.  If no perchloroethylene is purchased 
during a given month, then the entry in to the log 
shall be zero gallons;          

          c. the calculation and result of the yearly 
perchloroethylene consumption (12-month rolling summation), 
to be determined on the first day of each month;

d. the results of all visual inspections, including 
the dates when the dry cleaning system components 
are inspected for leaks and the name or location 
of dry cleaning system components where leaks are 
detected;

e. the dates of repair and records of written or 
verbal orders for repair parts; and,

f. the results and dates of all equipment monitoring  
required by this permit.

4. The following records shall be kept for a period of 
not less than three years:

a. control equipment maintenance;

b. the amount of fabric dry cleaned with 
perchloroethylene, from January 1 to December 31 
of each year, in pounds;

5. A copy of the design specifications and the operating 
manuals for each dry-cleaning system and each emission 
control device located at the dry cleaning facility 
shall be retained onsite and be made available upon 
request.

D.  Reporting Requirements
1. If the yearly perchloroethylene solvent consumption 

limit of 140 gallons is exceeded by the rolling annual  
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perchloroethylene consumption calculation required by 
the recordkeeping requirements section of this permit, 
then the permittee shall submit a signed statement as 
required by 40 CFR 63.324(c).

2.  If the total yearly consumption of perchloroethylene 
exceeds 1800 gallons per year, this facility 

becomes a major source and must comply with the 
requirements for a major source per 40 CFR 63, Subpart 
M, within 180 days of the exceedance determination.
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