Permit Number:  [Permit Number]
Facility Name:  [Facility Name]
Facility ID:  [Facility ID]


[bookmark: _GoBack]Terms Last Revised: 6/02/2016 
Revised 11/26/13 added the option to reduce the frequency of leak detection inspections based on the percentage of components leaking (no more than 2.0% of the total components) and first leak detection changed to w/i the first 90 days of startup (was 120 days).

New File: 11/20/13

Natural Gas Compressor Station with limits


Note:  This permit was drafted for a compressor station with a combined maximum of 5,000 HP natural gas engines and with limits well below the required NSPS standards in order to pass NOx modeling for significant emissions and the criteria pollutants below major source levels.

	The total NOx emissions, excluding any process heaters or heater treaters is 8.31 lbs NOx/hour
	The total CO emissions are 89.6 tons/year, and 15.2 pounds/hour
	The total VOC emissions are 98.17 tons/year, and 7.15 pounds/hour
	The total NOx emissions are 36.4 tons/year
	The total PE emissions are 11.58 tons/year
	The total SO2 emissions are ~10.8 tons/year

This template includes glycol dehydration unit(s); 2 flares, 1 on the glycol dehydration unit(s) and 1 on the tanks; a combined maximum of 5,000 HP natural gas engines; a 250 HP (combination) diesel engine; ancillary equipment to include leaks and pneumatic controllers; and storage vessels









B.	Facility-Wide Terms and Conditions
The following are the terms and conditions for a General PTIO to be issued to a non-Title V facility
1. This permit document constitutes a permit-to-install issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(F) and a permit-to-operate issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(G).
For the purpose of a permit-to-install document, the facility-wide terms and conditions identified below are federally enforceable with the exception of those listed below which are enforceable under state law only.
0. B.6. and B.8.
For the purpose of a permit-to-operate document, the facility-wide terms and conditions identified below are enforceable under state law only with the exception of those listed below which are federally enforceable.
0. B.9. and B.10.
0. The Ohio EPA has determined that this facility is subject to the requirements of 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart ZZZZ, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) for Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines.  Although Ohio EPA has determined that this Generally Available Control Technology NESHAP (GACT) applies, at this time Ohio EPA does not have the authority to enforce this standard.  Instead, U.S. EPA has the authority to enforce this standard.  Please be advised, that all requirements associated with this rule are in effect and shall be enforced by U.S. EPA.  For more information on the area source rules, please refer to the following U.S. EPA website:  http://www.epa.gov/ttn/atw/area/arearules.html.
Multiple emissions units contained in this permit must comply with various federal New Source Performance Standards (NSPS) or various Maximum Achievable Control Technology (MACT) or Generally Available Control Technology (GACT) standards.  The complete NSPS/MACT/GACT requirements may be accessed via the internet from the Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) website http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov or by contacting the appropriate Ohio EPA District Office or local air agency.  The permittee shall comply with any applicable requirements of 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart OOOO.
Air contaminant sources that qualify as de minimis under OAC rule 3745-15-05, or are exempt under OAC rule 3745-31-03(A)(1) or (4) are not subject to emission standards established within this permit.  Although this permit does not apply to de minimis or exempt sources, emissions from de minimis or exempt sources must be included in the total potential to emit (PTE) calculations for this permit.  PTE calculations should include sources such as: 
qualifying non-road engines (exempt per 3745-31-03(A)(1)(pp)),
emergency diesel generator(s) (exempt per 3745-31-03(A)(1)(nn)),
micro turbines less than 200 kW (de mimimis per OAC rule 3745-15-05), and
natural gas-fired heaters/boilers of various types that are less than 10 MMBtu/hr heat input (exempt per 3745-31-03(A)(1)(a)).
Emissions units permitted under a previously issued PTI/PTIO as portable sources, provided that the qualifying criteria for this General permit are met, shall be subject to the requirements of this permit during the time located at this site.
The requirements of this permit do not supersede any Ohio Department of Natural Resources requirements.
It is the permittee’s responsibility to determine if any air pollution emitting equipment not covered by this permit needs a separate air permit.
Modeling to demonstrate compliance with the “Toxic Air Contaminant Statute”, ORC 3704.03(F)(4)(b), is not necessary if/when the maximum annual emissions for each toxic air contaminant, as defined in OAC rule 3745-114-01, is less than 1.0 ton per year (or are subject to a standard under 40 CFR Part 63).  OAC Chapter 3745-31 requires permittees to apply for and obtain a new or modified PTIO prior to making a "modification" as defined by OAC rule 3745-31-01.  The permittee is hereby advised that changes in the composition of the materials or use of new materials that would cause the emissions of any toxic air contaminant to increase to above 1.0 ton per year may require the permittee to apply for and obtain a new PTIO.
The permittee remains subject to all applicable federal law and regulations and all applicable provisions of the Ohio State Implementation Plan as approved by the Administrator of the U.S. EPA. The provisions of the Ohio State Implementation Plan are independently enforceable by the U.S. EPA.
If the determination that the facility is not a major source is based on actual emissions of 5 tons per year or more of any single HAP or 12.5 tons per year or more of a combination of HAP, the permittee shall update the facility’s major source determination within 1 year of the prior determination and each year thereafter, using gas composition data measured during the preceding 12 months of operation.  Only HAP emissions from glycol dehydration units and storage vessels shall be aggregated for major source determination at the compressor station (facility located prior to the point of custody transfer).
[40 CFR 63.760(c)] and [40 CFR 63.761]
Emission units subject to the requirements of Part 63 Subpart HH and any required control and monitoring equipment shall be operated in a manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions.
[40 CFR 63.764(j)]
















C.	Emissions Unit Terms and Conditions


0. Emissions Unit:  Dehydration System, P001
	Operations, Property and/or Equipment Description:
	P001
	Glycol dehydration unit(s) (includes contactor tower or absorption column and glycol dehydration unit reboiler) and gas-condensate-glycol (GCG) separator (flash separator), which may be vented to a BTEX (benzene, toluene, ethyl benzene, xylene) elimination system with condenser and/or flare (less than 10 MMBtu/hr), or a facility wide flare (see P004).



a) This permit document constitutes a permit-to-install issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(F) and a permit-to-operate issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(G).
(1) For the purpose of a permit-to-install document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are federally enforceable with the exception of those listed below which are enforceable under state law only.
1.b)(1)d.
(2) For the purpose of a permit-to-operate document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are enforceable under state law only with the exception of those listed below which are federally enforceable.
1.b)(1)e. and 1.b)(1)f.
2. Applicable Emissions Limitations and/or Control Requirements
0. The specific operation(s), property, and/or equipment that constitute each emissions unit along with the applicable rules and/or requirements and with the applicable emissions limitations and/or control measures are identified below.  Emissions from each unit shall not exceed the listed limitations, and the listed control measures shall be specified in narrative form following the table.
	
	Applicable Rules/Requirements
	Applicable Emissions Limitations/Control Measures

	a.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective 11/30/01
	For Total Organic Compounds (TOC) or benzene, compliance with the applicable control requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HH; or 

Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) shall not exceed 0.42 ton per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period, where exempt from the requirements of Part 63, Subpart HH.

Emissions from a flare used to control emissions from the glycol dehydration unit shall not exceed:
0.25 ton Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period;
0.51 ton VOC per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period; and
0.15 ton Sulfur dioxide (SO2) per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.

See b)(2)a.

	b.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3)(a)(ii)
	See b)(2)b.

	c.
	ORC 3704.03(T)
	Carbon Monoxide (CO) emissions from a flare used as a control device for the dehydrator shall not exceed 1.35 tons CO per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.

	d.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(E)
	See b)(2)b.

	e.
	Part 63, Subpart HH, National Emission Standards for hazardous air pollutants (NESHAP) from Oil and Natural Gas Production Facilities
	Compliance with the applicable portions of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HH.  Any final amendments to this rule will supersede the requirement(s) in this permit.

In accordance with 40 CFR 63.765 and 40 CFR 63.771, where using a triethylene glycol (TEG) dehydration unit located within an UA (urbanized area) plus offset and UC (urbanized cluster) boundary, as defined in 40 CFR 63.761, and not meeting one of the exemptions identified in 40 CFR 63.764(e), emissions from the TEG dehydrator shall be vented through a closed-vent system to a control device that shall either:

1. reduce either TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP by 95% or to less than 20 ppmv on a dry basis corrected to 3% oxygen; or 

2. reduce benzene to a level less than 0.90 megagrams per year (MG/yr); or

3. the process vent emissions from the glycol dehydrator shall be controlled by an open flare designed and operated in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11; or

4. as an alternative, the process vent from the dehydrator may be connected to a process natural gas line through a closed vent system.

	f.
	40 CFR 63.11(b)(4)
	No visible emissions except for 5 minutes during any 2 consecutive hours.



Additional Terms and Conditions
a. The permittee has satisfied the Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements pursuant to OAC paragraph 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective November 30, 2001, in this permit.  On December 1, 2006, paragraph (A)(3) of OAC rule 3745-31-05 was revised to conform to ORC changes effective August 3, 2006 (S.B. 265 changes), such that BAT is no longer required by State regulation for NAAQS pollutant less than ten tons per year.  However, that rule revision has not yet been approved by U.S. EPA as a revision to Ohio’s State Implementation Plan (SIP).  Therefore, until the SIP revision occurs and the U.S. EPA approves the revision to OAC rule 3745-31-05, the requirement to satisfy BAT still exists as part of the federally–approved SIP for Ohio.  Once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of 3745-31-05, then BAT no longer applies.
b. These rules apply once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of OAC rule 3745-31-05 as part of the State Implementation Plan:
i. This permit takes into account the following voluntary restrictions (including the use of any applicable air pollution control equipment) for the purpose of avoiding Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements under OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3):
use of a dehydration system flash separator that captures flash vapors; and
use of a flare and/or a BTEX Elimination System with condenser on the dehydration still vent(s), 
as needed to comply with Part 63 Subpart HH or reduce VOC to 0.42 ton per month, or less, averaged over a 12-month rolling period, where exempt.
ii. The Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements under OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3) do not apply to the NOx and SO2 emissions from this air contaminant source since the potential to emit for NOx and SO2 are less than ten tons per year.
0. Compliance with the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants from Oil and Natural Gas Production Facilities, Part 63, Subpart HH shall be demonstrated through one of the following methods:
the glycol dehydration unit shall not use TEG; or
the actual annual average flowrate of natural gas to the TEG dehydration unit shall not exceed 85,000 standard cubic meters per day; or
the actual average emissions of benzene from the TEG dehydration unit shall not exceed a level less than 0.90 MG per year; or
where not located in a UA plus offset and UC boundary, the optimum glycol circulation rate for the TEG dehydration unit shall be determined and maintained in accordance with 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2); or
where located in a UA plus offset and UC boundary, benzene emissions from the TEG dehydration unit(s) process vents shall be reduced or limited to a level less than 0.90 megagrams per year using a closed vent system and a control device meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(c) and (d)(1), except the performance levels (95% control or 20 ppmv) shall not apply; or
where located in a UA plus offset and UC boundary, the emissions of TOC (minus methane and ethane) or the emissions of total HAP from the TEG dehydration unit shall be reduced by 95% or to less than 20 ppmv (on a dry basis corrected to 3% oxygen), using a closed vent system and a control device meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(c) and (d)(1); or 
where located in a UA plus offset and UC boundary, emissions from the TEG glycol dehydrator shall be vented through a closed vent system meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(c) to an open flare designed and operated in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11; or
as an alternative, the process vent from the dehydrator may be connected to a process natural gas line through a closed vent system meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(c).
[40 CFR 63.765], [40 CFR 63.771(c) and (d)], and [40 CFR 63.11(b)]
The following requirements (d. through g.)are only required if not meeting one of the exemption in Subpart HH
Where using a flare for compliance, there shall be no visible emissions from the flare, except for periods not to exceed a total of 5 minutes during any 2 consecutive hours.
[40 CFR 63.772(e)(2)] and [40 CFR 63.11(b)(4)]
Each control device used to comply with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart HH shall be operated at all times when gases, vapors, and fumes are being vented from the glycol dehydration unit.
[40 CFR 63.771(d)(4)(i)]
If the determination that the facility is not a major source is based on actual emissions of 5 tons per year or more of any single HAP or 12.5 tons per year or more of a combination of HAP, the permittee shall update the facility’s major source determination within 1 year of the prior determination or by 10/15/12, whichever is later, and each year thereafter, using gas composition data measured during the preceding 12 months of operation.  Only HAP emissions from glycol dehydration units and storage vessels shall be aggregated for major source determination at the production field facility (facility located prior to the point of custody transfer).
[40 CFR 63.760(c)] and [40 CFR 63.761]
The permittee shall prepare a site-specific monitoring plan for each continuous parameter monitoring system (CPMS), required for compliance, that addresses the monitoring system design, data collection, quality assurance, and quality control elements outlined in 40 CFR 63.8(d) and 40 CFR 63.773(d).  Each CPMS shall be installed, calibrated, operated, and maintained in accordance with the procedures in the approved site-specific monitoring plan; and the permittee shall conduct a performance evaluation of each CPMS in accordance with the site-specific monitoring plan.  Performance checks, system accuracy audits, or other audits required by the plan shall be conducted at least once every 12 months.
[40 CFR 63.773(d)(1)(ii)]
Operational Restrictions
0. If this facility qualifies for the dehydrator exemption found in 40 CFR Part 63.764(e), then the following requirements must be met:
a. If this facility chooses to use a flare to control dehydrator emissions, then:
i. The flare shall be operated with a flame present at all times when gases are vented to it.
ii. An automatic flame ignition system shall be installed.
iii. If the permittee is using a pilot flame ignition system, the presence of a pilot flame shall be monitored using a thermocouple or other equivalent device to detect the presence of a flame.  A pilot flame shall be maintained at all times in the flare’s pilot light burner.  If the pilot flame goes out and does not relight, then an alarm shall sound.
iv. If the permittee is using an electric arc ignition system, the arcing of the electric arc ignition system shall pulse continually and a device shall be installed and used to continuously monitor the electric arc ignition system.
v. Any flare, auto ignition system, and recorder shall be installed, calibrated, operated, and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations, instructions, and operating manuals.
b. If the permittee chooses to use a condenser (BTEX elimination system) to control dehydrator emissions, then:
i. The condenser shall be operated at all times when gases are vented to it.
ii. The condenser must be equipped with a continuous temperature monitoring device that continuously monitors and records the dehydration still vent temperature.

The condenser, temperature monitoring device and recorder shall be installed, calibrated, operated, and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations, instructions, and operating manuals.
The following requirements (2) through (9) are only required if not meeting one of the exemption in Subpart HH
Where the demonstration of compliance for a combustion control device is tested by the manufacturer, under the provisions of 40 CFR 63.772(h), the permittee shall demonstrate that a control device achieves the performance requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(d)(1) or (e)(3)(ii), by installing a device tested and certified by the manufacturer and complying with the following criteria:
The inlet gas flowrate shall meet the range specified by the manufacturer. Flowrate shall be calculated as specified in 40 CFR 63.773(d)(3)(i)(H)(1).
A pilot flame shall be present at all times of operation. The pilot flame shall be monitored in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(d)(3)(i)(H)(2).
Devices shall be operated with no visible emissions, except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes during any hour. A visible emissions test using Method 22, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, shall be performed each calendar quarter. The observation period shall be 1 hour and shall be conducted according to EPA Method 22, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A.
Compliance with the operating parameter limit is achieved when the following criteria are met:
the inlet gas flowrate is equal to or below the maximum established by the manufacturer;
the pilot flame is present at all times;
during the visible emissions test performed under 40 CFR 63.772(i)(3), the duration of visible emissions does not exceed a total of 2 minutes during the observation period. 
Devices failing the visible emissions test shall follow manufacturers repair instructions, if available, or best combustion engineering practice as outlined in the unit inspection and maintenance plan, to return the unit to compliant operation. 
All repairs and maintenance activities for each unit shall be recorded in a maintenance and repair log and shall be available on site for inspection.
Following return to operation from maintenance or repair activity, each device must pass a Method 22 visual observation as described in 40 CFR 63.772(i)(3).
[40 CFR 63.772(i)], [40 CFR 63.772(e)], [40 CFR 63.773(d)(3)(i)(H)], and [40 CFR 63.773(d)(5)(i)(C)]
Where using a combustion control device that is demonstrated to have an uniform combustion zone temperature during the performance test and the temperature is used as an indicator of the destruction efficiency, the permittee shall continuously monitor the combustion temperature and the combustion control device shall be operated at or above the minimum combustion temperature established during the performance test and the temperature shall be maintained at no lower than 760°C.
[40 CFR 63.771(d)(1)(i)(C)]
The permittee may document the conditions for which glycol dehydration unit baseline operations shall be modified to achieve the 95.0% overall HAP emission reduction, either through process modifications or through a combination of process modifications and one or more control devices.  If a combination of process modifications and one or more control devices are used, the permittee shall also establish the emission reduction to be achieved by the control device to achieve an overall HAP emission reduction of 95.0% for the glycol dehydration unit process vent.  Only modifications in glycol dehydration unit operations directly related to process changes, including but not limited to changes in glycol circulation rate or glycol-HAP absorbency, shall be allowed.  Changes in the inlet gas characteristics or natural gas throughput rate shall not be considered in determining the overall emission reduction due to process modifications.
[40 CFR 63.771(e)(2)]
The permittee that achieves a 95.0% HAP emission reduction using process modifications alone shall maintain records to document that the facility continues to operate in accordance with the conditions under which the dehydrator was demonstrated to attain the emissions reduction.  If the permittee achieves the 95.0% HAP emission reduction using a combination of process modification(s) and one or more control devices, the control device requirements must also be met for the glycol dehydration units as identified in 40 CFR 63.771(d), except the emission reduction shall be that specified for the control device in 40 CFR 63.771(e)(2), based on the reduction attributed to the process modification.
[40 CFR 63.771(e)(3)] and [40 CFR 63.774(b)(11)]
Each control device used to comply with Pat 63 Subpart HH shall be operated at all times when gases, vapors, and fumes are vented from the dehydration unit, and through the closed-vent system to the control device as required under 40 CFR 63.765.  More than one unit may be vented to a control device.
[40 CFR 63.771(d)(4)(i)] and [40 CFR 63.765(b)(1)]
For each control device monitored to demonstrate continuous compliance in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 63.773(d), the permittee shall maintain the daily average of the parameter value at either equal to or greater than the minimum or equal to or less than the maximum monitoring value established during the performance test.
[40 CFR 63.772(f)(3)] and [40 CFR 63.773(d)(5)]
For each carbon adsorption system used to demonstrate compliance with the control standards or limits for TOC, total HAP, or benzene in 40 CFR 63.765, the carbon shall be monitored; and it shall be replaced or regenerated, reactivated, or burned in a thermal treatment unit, incinerator, boiler, or industrial furnace that meets the applicable requirements of the unit identified in 40 CFR 63.771(d)(5)(ii).  Carbon shall be replaced with fresh carbon on a regular predetermined time interval that is no longer than the service life of the carbon adsorption system.
[40 CFR 63.771(d)(5)]
The glycol dehydration unit and any required control and monitoring equipment shall be operated in a manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions.
[40 CFR 63.764(j)]

Monitoring and/or Recordkeeping Requirements
(1) The permittee shall maintain records of the annual facility natural gas or hydrocarbon liquid throughput or a record of the maximum potential annual throughput rate attainable, based on the physical and operational design of the unit, in accordance with 40 CFR 63.760(a).
(2) Where a flare is used to control the dehydration still vent, the permittee must:
a. continuously monitor the presence of the flame;
b. record all periods during which the automatic flare ignition system (pilot flame or electronic arc ignition system) or thermocouple was not working; and
c. record all periods during which there was gas being vented to the flare but the flare was not lit.
(3) Where a condenser (BTEX Eliminator) is used to control the dehydration still vent, the permittee must:
a. continuously monitor and record the vapor outlet temperature of the condenser; and
b. record all periods of time when the condenser is not operating correctly to control the emissions from the dehydration still vent.
0. For each triethylene glycol (TEG) dehydration unit, the permittee shall document the method of compliance as follows:
a. if the permittee is using the exemption for the annual average flow rate of natural gas to the TEG dehydration unit, the permittee shall either install and operate a monitoring instrument to directly measure and record the natural gas flow rate to the glycol dehydration unit or demonstrate to the Director’s satisfaction that the actual annual average natural gas flow rate to the dehydration unit is less than 85,000 scm/day, in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(b)(1); or
b. if the permittee is using the exemption for the actual average benzene emissions from the TEG dehydration unit, the permittee shall keep the record of the determination (including the test methods and data used to support it) using either the GRI-GLYCalcTM model or by directly measuring benzene using the appropriate methods identified in 40 CFR 63.772(a)(1), in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(b)(2); or
c. if the permittee does not meet one of the exemptions identified in 40 CFR 63.764(e) and is not located in a UA plus offset and UC boundary (as defined in 40 CFR 63.761), the permittee may (instead of meeting the control requirements) keep the record of the calculation for the optimal circulation rate (or alternate circulation rate as allowed using GRI-GLYCalcTM model) and records documenting this circulation rate is not exceeded in accordance with 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2); or
d. if the permittee does not meet one of the exemptions identified in 40 CFR 63.764(e) and is located in a Urban Area (UA) plus offset and Urban Cluster (UC) boundary (as defined in 40 CFR 63.761), the permittee shall comply with the control requirements specified in 40 CFR 63.765 and the monitoring and recordkeeping requirements identified in 40 CFR 63.764(d)(1) to demonstrate compliance.
0. If demonstrating compliance with the exemption criteria in 40 CFR 63.764(e) the permittee shall maintain the following records:
a. the actual annual average natural gas throughput of natural gas flowrate to the glycol dehydration unit per day as determined in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(b)(1) or
b. the actual average benzene emissions per year as determined in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(b)(2).
[40 CFR 63.774(d)(1)]
The following monitoring and/or recordkeeping requirements (6) through (13) are only required if not meeting one of the exemption in Subpart HH
(4) Except for any part of the closed-vent system that is/are designated as unsafe or difficult to inspect (as identified in 40 CFR 63.773(c)(5) or (6), the permittee shall conduct the following inspections for any closed vent system used to demonstrate compliance:
a. For joints, seams, or other connections that are not permanently or semi-permanently sealed, the permittee shall conduct an initial and annual inspections according to the test methods (Method 21) and procedures specified in 40 CFR 63.772(c), to demonstrate that the components and connections of the closed vent system operate with no detectable emissions.  The permittee shall also conduct annual visual inspections of the closed vent system, for defects that could result in air emissions.  Defects include, but are not limited to, visible cracks, holes, or gaps in ductwork; loose connections; or broken or missing caps or other closure devices.
b. For joints, seams, or other connections that are permanently or semi-permanently sealed, the permittee shall conduct an initial inspection according to the test methods (Method 21) and procedures specified in 40 CFR 63.772(c), to demonstrate that the components and connections of the closed vent system operate with no detectable emissions.  The permittee shall also conduct annual visual inspections of the closed vent system, for defects that could result in air emissions.  Defects include, but are not limited to, visible cracks, holes, or gaps in piping; loose connections; or broken or missing caps or other closure devices. 
c. Following any time a component that is permanently or semi-permanently sealed (e.g., a welded joint) is repaired or replaced or such a connection is unsealed, the permittee shall monitor each such joint, seam, or other component/connection according to the test methods and procedures specified in 40 CFR 63.772(c), to demonstrate that the sealed and/or welded joint(s) or component(s) was/were repaired to meet the requirement for no detectable emissions.
A record of each inspection shall be maintained as specified in 40 CFR 63.774(b)(7) and (8) for a period of five years.
[40 CFR 63.773(c)(2)(i) and (ii)], [40 CFR 63.772(c)], and [40 CFR 63.774(b)(1), (7), and (8)]
(5) Except where it can be demonstrated that the cover is unsafe or difficult to inspect, as identified in 40 CFR 63.773(c)(5) and (6), the permittee shall conduct visual inspections of each cover, subject to the requirements of Part 63 Subpart HH, for defects that could result in air emissions.  Inspections must be conducted initially following the installation of the cover, and thereafter, at least once every calendar year.  Defects include, but are not limited to, visible cracks, holes, or gaps in the cover, or between the cover and the separator wall; broken, cracked, or otherwise damaged seals or gaskets on closure devices; and broken or missing hatches, access covers, caps, or other closure devices.  In the case where the storage vessel is buried partially or entirely underground, only those portions of the cover that extend to or above the ground surface must be inspected, and those connections that are on such portions of the cover (e.g., fill ports, access hatches, gauge wells, etc.) and can be opened to the atmosphere.  A record of each inspection shall be maintained as specified in 40 CFR 63.774(b)(7) and (8) for a period of five years.
[40 CFR 63.773(c)(2)(iii)], [40 CFR 63.772(c)], and [40 CFR 63.774(b)(1), (7), and (8)]
(6) The flow indicator for each bypass device shall be set to take a reading at least once every 15 minutes at the inlet to the bypass device.  If the bypass device valve is secured in the non-diverting position using a car-seal or a lock-and-key type configuration, the seal or closure mechanism shall be visually inspected at least once every month to verify that the valve is maintained in the non-diverting position and the vent stream is not diverted through the bypass device.  A record of each inspection shall be maintained as specified in 40 CFR 63.774(b)(7) and (8) for a period of five years.
[40 CFR 63.773(c)(2)(iv)], [40 CFR 63.772(c)], and [40 CFR 63.774(b)(1), (7), and (8)]
(7) In the event that a leak or defect is detected, the permittee shall make a first attempt at repair no later than 5 calendar days after the leak is detected.  Repair shall be completed no later than 15 calendar days after the leak is detected.  Delay of repair of a closed-vent system for which leaks or defects have been detected is allowed if the repair is technically infeasible without a shutdown, as defined in 40 CFR 63.761, or if the permittee determines that emissions resulting from immediate repair would be greater than the fugitive emissions likely to result from delay of repair.  Repair of such equipment shall be complete by the end of the next shutdown.  A record of the date each leak is detected, the maximum instrument reading measured by Method 21, and the date each leak is successfully repaired shall be maintained as specified in 40 CFR 63.774(b)(7) for a period of five years.
[40 CFR 63.773(c)(3) and (4)]
(8) The site-specific monitoring plan for the CPMS shall contain the following elements, unless alternative quality assurance and quality control procedures have been approved in accordance with 40 CFR63.8(f)(4):
a. the performance criteria and design specifications for the monitoring system equipment, including the sample interface, detector signal analyzer, and data acquisition and calculations;
b. sampling interface (e.g., thermocouple) location such that the monitoring system will provide representative measurements;
c. equipment performance checks, system accuracy audits, or other audit procedures;
d. ongoing operation and maintenance procedures in accordance with provisions in 40 CFR 63.8(c)(1) and (c)(3); and
e. ongoing reporting and recordkeeping procedures in accordance with provisions in 40 CFR 63.10(c), (e)(1), and (e)(2)(i).
The permittee shall conduct the CPMS equipment performance checks, system accuracy audits, or other audit procedures specified in the site-specific monitoring plan at least once every 12 months.
[40 CFR 63.773(d)(1)(ii)]
(9) Except where the dehydrator vent stream is 1. introduced with or used as the primary fuel, or 2. controlled by a boiler or process heater with a design heat input capacity equal to or greater than 44 megawatts (exempt), the permittee shall install and operate a continuous parameter monitoring system designed and operated so that a determination can be made on whether the control device is achieving the applicable performance requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(d) or (e)(3).  The continuous parameter monitoring system shall meet the following specifications and requirements: 
a. Each continuous parameter monitoring system shall measure data values at least once every hour and record either each measured data value or each block average value for each 1-hour period or shorter periods, calculated from all measured data values during the period.  If values are measured more frequently than once per minute, a single value for each minute may be used to calculate the hourly (or shorter period) block average instead of all measured values.
b. The parameter monitoring system shall be installed, calibrated, operated, and maintained in accordance with the site-specific monitoring plan that addresses the monitoring system design, data collection, and quality assurance and quality control elements in accordance with 40 CFR 63.8(d).
c. The continuous monitoring device shall be equipped with a continuous recorder to measure the values of operating parameters appropriate for the control device and specified as follows:
i. A thermal vapor incinerator, demonstrating that the combustion zone temperature is an accurate indicator of performance, shall be equipped with a temperature monitoring device with a minimum accuracy of ±2% of the temperature being monitored in °C or ±2.5 °C, whichever value is greater.  The temperature sensor shall be installed at a location representative of the combustion zone temperature.
ii. A catalytic vapor incinerator shall be equipped with a temperature monitoring device capable of monitoring temperature at two locations and have a minimum accuracy of ±2% of the temperature being monitored in °C, or ±2.5 °C, whichever value is greater.  One temperature sensor shall be installed in the vent stream at the nearest feasible point to the catalyst bed inlet and a second temperature sensor shall be installed in the vent stream at the nearest feasible point to the catalyst bed outlet.
iii. A flare shall be equipped with a heat sensing monitoring device that indicates the continuous ignition of the pilot flame.
iv. A boiler or process heater with a design heat input capacity of less than 44 megawatts shall be equipped with a temperature monitoring device with a continuous recorded and with a minimum accuracy of ±2% of the temperature being monitored in °C, or ±2.5 °C, whichever value is greater.  The temperature sensor shall be installed at a location representative of the combustion zone temperature.
v. A condenser shall be equipped with a temperature monitoring device with a minimum accuracy of ±2% of the temperature being monitored in °C, or ±2.5 °C, whichever value is greater.  The temperature sensor shall be installed at a location in the exhaust vent stream from the condenser.  A condenser performance curve shall be used to establish the relationship between the condenser outlet temperature and condenser control efficiency.
vi. A regenerative-type carbon adsorption system shall be equipped with:
(a) A continuous parameter monitoring system to measure and record the average total regeneration stream mass flow or volumetric flow during each carbon bed regeneration cycle. The integrating regenerating stream flow monitoring device must have an accuracy of ±10%; and
(b) A continuous parameter monitoring system to measure and record the average carbon bed temperature for the duration of the carbon bed steaming cycle and to measure the actual carbon bed temperature after regeneration within 15 minutes of completing the cooling cycle. The temperature monitoring device shall have a minimum accuracy of ±2% of the temperature being monitored in °C, or ±2.5 °C, whichever value is greater.
vii. For a nonregenerative-type carbon adsorption system, the design carbon replacement interval shall be established and monitored using a performance test conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(3); and the carbon replacement schedule shall be based on the total carbon working capacity of the control device and source operating schedule.
viii. Where using a continuous organic compound monitoring system to measure the concentration level of organic compounds in the exhaust vent stream from the control device, it must be installed, certified, operated, and maintained in accordance with the requirements of Performance Specification 8 or 9 of Appendix B of 40 CFR Part 60 and the manufacturer's specifications.
ix. Where demonstrating compliance using a combustion control device tested by the manufacturer under 40 CFR 63.772(h), the permittee shall:
(a) determine the actual average inlet waste gas flowrate using the model GRI-GLTCalcTM, Version 3.0 or higher, ProMax, or AspenTech HYSYS.  Inputs to the models shall be representative of actual operating conditions; and
(b) install a heat sensing monitoring device equipped with a continuous recorder that indicates the continuous ignition of the pilot flame.
d. Except for the inlet gas flowrate, the permittee shall calculate the daily average value recorded for each monitored operating parameter for each operating day.  If the dehydration unit operations are continuous, the operating day is a 24-hour period.  If the dehydration unit operations are not continuous, the operating day is the total number of hours of operation per 24-hour period.  Valid data points must be available for 75% of the operating hours in an operating day to compute the daily average.
e. The minimum operating parameter value or a maximum operating parameter value shall be established based on values measured during the performance test and supplemented, as necessary, or the manufacturer’s recommendations, to define the conditions at which the control device must be operated to continuously achieve the applicable performance requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(d)(1) or 63.771(e)(3)(ii).
f. Parameters other than the glycol circulation rate shall be based on either the highest measured values or the annual average.  For the estimated maximum potential emissions from the glycol dehydration unit(s), the glycol circulation rate used in the calculation(s) shall be the/each unit’s maximum rate under its physical and operational design, consistent with the definition of potential to emit in 40 CFR 63.2.
Compliance with the operating parameter limit is achieved when the daily average of the monitoring parameter value is either equal to or greater than the minimum or equal to or less than the maximum monitoring value established under during the performance test. For inlet gas flowrate, compliance with the operating parameter limit is achieved when the value is equal to or less than the value established under 40 CFR 63.772(h) by the manufacturer or under the performance test conducted under 40 CFR 63.772(e)(3).
[40 CFR 63.773(d)(1) through (5)], [40 CFR 63.760(a)(1)(iii)], and [40 CFR 63.772(f)(3)]
(10) The following records shall be maintained for the glycol dehydration unit(s), the control device(s), and closed-vent system(s):
a. the general recordkeeping requirements specified in 40 CFR 63.10(b)(2);
b. the records specified in 40 CFR 63.10(c) for each monitoring system operated in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 63.773(d);
c. continuous records of the control device operating parameters monitored to demonstrate compliance;
d. records of the daily average value of each continuously monitored parameter for each operating day determined according to the procedures specified in 40 CFR 63.773(d);
e. for condensers installed to comply with 40 CFR 63.765, records of the annual 365-day rolling average condenser efficiency determined under 40 CFR 63.772(g);
f. for a carbon adsorption system, records identifying the schedule for carbon replacement and records of the actual carbon replacement;
g. hourly records of the flow indicator, as well as records of the times and durations of all periods when the vent stream is diverted from the control device or the flow monitor is not operating;
h. where a car-seal or lock-and-key type bypass closure mechanism is used to comply with the requirements of a closed-vent system, records from the monthly visual inspection of the seals or closure mechanism, and the duration of all periods when the car-seal or lock mechanism has been broken, the bypass line valve position has changed, or the key has been checked out for the lock;
i. records identifying all parts of the closed-vent system that are designated as unsafe or difficult to inspect in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(c)(5) or (6), with an explanation of why the equipment is unsafe or difficult to inspect, and the plan for inspecting the equipment;
j. records of the initial and annual leak detection inspection of the closed vent system, from the glycol dehydration unit’s process and reboiler vents to the control device; and for each inspection conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(c) during which a leak or defect is detected, a record of the following information:
i. the instrument identification numbers, operator name or initials, and identification of the equipment;
ii. the date the leak or defect was detected and the date of the first attempt to repair the leak or defect;
iii. the maximum instrument reading measured by the method specified in 40 CFR 63.772(c) after the leak or defect is successfully repaired or determined to be non-repairable;
iv. identification of any “repair delayed” and the reason for the delay, if a leak or defect is not repaired within 15 calendar days after its discovery;
v. the name, initials, or other form of identification of the operator (or designee) whose decision it was that repair could not be completed without a shutdown;
vi. the expected date of successful repair of the leak or defect if a leak or defect is not repaired within 15 calendar days;
vii. the dates of shutdowns that occur while the equipment is unrepaired; and
viii. the date of successful repair of each leak or defect;
k. for each inspection conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(c) during which no leaks or defects are detected, a record that the inspection was performed, the date of the inspection, and a statement that no leaks or defects were detected;
l. records of glycol dehydration unit baseline operations calculated as required under 40 CFR 63.771(e)(1);
m. where approved and demonstrating compliance with the 95% control requirement through process modifications, the records documenting that the facility continues to operate under the conditions specified in 40 CFR 63.771(e)(2);
n. where electing to comply with the benzene emission limit specified in 40 CFR 63.765(b)(1)(ii), the method used for demonstrating compliance with 0.90 megagrams per year of benzene and the basis for using the compliance method;
o. where meeting the exemption criteria in 40 CFR 63.764(e)(1)(i) or (ii) the records of the actual annual average natural gas throughput to the glycol dehydration unit per day, as determined in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(b)(1), or the actual average benzene emissions per year, as determined in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(b)(2);
p. the following records when using a flare to comply with 40 CFR 63.771(d):
i. the flare design (i.e., steam-assisted, air-assisted, or non-assisted);
ii. all visible emission readings, heat content determinations, flowrate measurements, and exit velocity determinations made during the compliance determination required by 40 CFR 63.772(e)(2); and
iii. all hourly records and other recorded periods when the pilot flame is absent; and
q. the permittee of an area source not located within a UA plus offset and UC boundary must keep a record of the calculation used to determine the optimum glycol circulation rate in accordance with 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2)(i) or 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2)(ii), as applicable.
The permittee shall maintain files of all the required information identified in 40 CFR 63.774 (including all reports and notifications) for at least 5 years following the date of each occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, and report.  The most recent 12 months of all applicable records shall be accessible from a central location by computer or other means that provides access within 2 hours following any request for them.
[40 CFR 63.774]
(11) Except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions, repairs associated with monitoring system malfunctions, and required monitoring system quality assurance or quality control activities (including, as applicable, system accuracy audits and required zero and span adjustments), the continuous monitoring system(s) required in 40 CFR 63.773(d) must be operated at all times the glycol dehydration unit is in operation.  Monitoring data recorded during periods identified below shall not be included in any average or percent leak rate computed under Part 63 Subpart HH; however, records shall be kept of the times and durations of all such periods and any periods during process or control device operations when any required monitors were not operating or data was not collected.  
a. monitoring system breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero (low-level) and high-level adjustments;
b. periods of non-operation resulting in cessation of the emissions; and
c. excursions due to invalid data as defined in 40 CFR 63.773(d)(6)(iv).
[40 CFR 63.772(f)(4)] and [40 CFR 63.774(b)(3)]
Reporting Requirements.
0. The permittee shall submit an annual Permit Evaluation Report (PER) to the Ohio EPA District Office or Local Air Agency by the due date identified in the Authorization section of this permit.  The permit evaluation report shall cover a reporting period of no more than twelve months for each air contaminant source identified in this permit.  It is recommended that the PER is submitted electronically through the Ohio EPA’s “e-Business Center: Air Services” although PERs can be submitted via U.S. postal service or can be hand delivered.
[OAC 3745-15-03(B)(2) and (D)]
The permittee shall identify in the PER:
the annual facility natural gas or hydrocarbon liquid throughput for the year of the report, in accordance with 40 CFR 63.760(a);
identification of the kind of liquid glycol used in the dehydrator during the year of the report, e.g., ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, or triethylene glycol*;
if the permittee is using triethylene glycol and meeting the exemption for the flow rate of natural gas to the TEG dehydration unit, the actual annual average natural gas flow rate to the TEG dehydration unit; and either the calculations and/or method of measurement of this flow rate or a statement that this flowrate was based on the maximum design capacity of the unit;
if the permittee is using triethylene glycol and meeting the exemption for benzene emissions, the actual annual average emissions of benzene from the TEG dehydration unit; and if these emissions were determined using the GRI-GLYCalcTM model, the method used to determine the benzene concentration entered into the model, and/or identification of the Method used for direct measurement;
if the permittee is using triethylene glycol and the area source is not located in an UA plus offset and UC boundary and does not meet one of the exemptions identified in 40 CFR 63.764(e), the calculation for the optimal circulation rate and the method of measurement for the gas flowrate (MMscf/day) and inlet/outlet water content (lbs/MMscf), and a statement as to whether or not the optimal circulation rate was exceeded, to include the date, duration, and the non-compliant circulation rate measured;
if the permittee is using triethylene glycol and the area source is located in an UA plus offset and UC boundary and does not meet one of the exemptions identified in 40 CFR 63.764(e), the method of control that was used to demonstrate compliance, the results of the compliance demonstration, and a statement as to whether or not the selected compliance option was met;
where a flare is used to control the dehydration still vent, all periods of time during which the automatic flare ignition system was not functioning properly or the flare was not maintained as required in this permit, to include the date, time, and duration of each such period of time;
where a condenser (or BTEX elimination system) is used to control the dehydration still vent, all periods of time when the continuous temperature monitoring device for the condenser vapor outlet temperature is not working or is not continuously recording the vapor outlet temperature when process gas is being vented to the condenser; and
where the triethylene glycol dehydrator does not meet one of the exemptions in 40 CFR 63.764(e) or is not demonstrating compliance by documenting and maintaining the optimum glycol circulation rate as required in 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2), the flare or condenser used to demonstrate compliance shall meet all of the requirements of Part 63 Subpart HH.
* if not using triethylene glycol, the information in “c” through “i” is not required
[40 CFR 63.764(d) and (e)], [40 CFR 63.765], and [40 CFR 63.772(a) and(b)]
The following reporting requirements (3) through (11) are only required if not meeting one of the exemption in Subpart HH
The permittee of the area source triethylene glycol dehydration unit, located at the oil and natural gas production facility, shall submit an initial notification that the facility is subject to the provisions of the NESHAP, Part 63 Subpart HH.  The initial notification, which was required to be submitted in the permit application, must contain (documented in the permit application) the following information:
the name and address of the affected source;
a statement that the facility is subject to the requirements of Part 63, Subpart HH as an area source;
identification of the subject source as each triethylene glycol dehydration unit;
the maximum design triethylene glycol circulation rate;
identification of the emission points from the dehydration unit and the subject hazardous air pollutants, i.e., benzene; and
a statement that the unit is either located or not located within an UA plus offset and UC boundary.
In addition to submitting an initial notification to the appropriate district or local office of the Ohio EPA Division of Air Pollution Control, an initial notification must be submitted to EPA's Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards.  Notification can be sent via e-mail to Oil and Gas Sector @epa.gov or via mail delivery service to U.S. EPA, Sector Policies and Programs Division/Fuels and Incineration Group (E143–01), Attn: Oil and Gas Project Leader, Research Triangle Park, NC 27711.
[40 CFR 63.775(c)]
If the facility is located within a UA plus offset and UC boundary, the permittee shall submit:
an initial notification that the facility is subject to the requirements of Part 63, Subpart HH, or any other applicable NESHAP, as required under 40 CFR 63.9(b)(2);
the planned date of any performance evaluation conducted for a continuous emissions monitoring system used to demonstrate compliance at least 60 days before the date the performance evaluation is schedule to be conducted;
the planned date of a performance test at least 60 days before the test date; and, if requested, a site-specific test plan;
the Notification of Compliance Status report as described in 40 CFR 63.775(d) and 40 CFR 63.9(h); and
the Periodic Reports as described in 40 CFR 63.775(e).
In addition to submitting an initial notification to the appropriate district or local office of the Ohio EPA Division of Air Pollution Control, a copy of the initial notification must be submitted to EPA's Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards.  Notification can be sent via e-mail to Oil and Gas Sector @epa.gov or via mail delivery service to U.S. EPA, Sector Policies and Programs Division/Fuels and Incineration Group (E143–01), Attn: Oil and Gas Project Leader, Research Triangle Park, NC 27711.
Each glycol dehydration unit that is exempt from the control requirements in 40 CFR 63.765, is also exempt from all reporting requirements (for Subpart HH).
[40 CFR 63.775(c)]; [40 CFR 63.9(b)(2) and (h)]; [40 CFR 63.8(e)(2)]; [40 CFR 63.7(b)]; and [40 CFR 63.10(d)(5)]
If the facility is not located within any UA plus offset and UC boundaries, the permittee shall submit an initial notification that the facility is subject to the requirements of Part 63, Subpart HH, as required under 40 CFR 63.9(b)(2), and it shall include the following information:
documentation of the facility's location relative to the nearest UA plus offset and UC boundaries;
the latitude and longitude of the affected source;
whether the source is located in an urban cluster with 10,000 people or more; 
the distance in miles to the nearest urbanized area boundary if the source is not located in an urban cluster with 10,000 people or more;
the names of the nearest urban cluster with 10,000 people or more and nearest urbanized area;
the calculation of the optimum glycol circulation rate determined in accordance with 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2)(i);
if applicable, documentation of the alternate glycol circulation rate calculated using GRI-GLYCalcTM, Version 3.0 or higher and documentation stating why the TEG dehydration unit must operate using the alternate glycol circulation rate;
the name of the manufacturer and the model number of the glycol circulation pump(s) in operation; and
a statement by a responsible official (official's name, title, and signature) certifying that the facility will always operate the glycol dehydration unit using the optimum circulation rate determined in accordance with 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2)(i) or 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2)(ii), as applicable.
In addition to submitting an initial notification to the appropriate district or local office of the Ohio EPA Division of Air Pollution Control, a copy of the initial notification must be submitted to EPA's Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards.  Notification can be sent via e-mail to CCG-ONG@EPA.GOV or via mail delivery service to U.S. EPA, Sector Policies and Programs Division/Coatings and Chemicals Group (E143–01), Attn: Oil and Gas Project Leader, Research Triangle Park, NC 27711.
[40 CFR 63.775(c)] and [40 CFR 63.9(b)(2)]
Personnel from the appropriate Ohio EPA District Office or local air agency shall be notified 60 days prior to initiation of the applicable performance tests or a performance evaluation of a CMS required to demonstrate compliance.  Ohio EPA staff shall be permitted to examine equipment and witness the certification tests.  The test results shall be submitted to the appropriate Ohio EPA District Office or local air agency within 30 days after the test is completed.  If conducting a performance evaluation of a continuous emissions monitoring system used to demonstrate compliance, two copies of the notification of the performance evaluation and the test results shall be submitted to Ohio EPA, one copy to the appropriate Ohio EPA District Office or local air agency and one copy to Ohio EPA Central Office.
[OAC rule 3745-15-04(A)]; [40 CFR 63.8(e)(2)]; and [40 CFR 63.7(b)]
The permittee shall submit to the Director (appropriate Ohio EPA Division of Air Pollution Control, District Office or local air agency) the Notification of Compliance Status Report within 180 days after the compliance date identified in 40 CFR 63.760(f), signed by the owner or operator or other responsible official who is certifying the accuracy and completeness of the report.  The Notification of Compliance Status Report shall include the following information:
the NESHAP (applicable subpart) and emissions and/or other limitation(s) applicable to the glycol dehydration unit(s);
the method that was used to determine compliance with the applicable limitation and/or requirement and the date each compliance demonstration was conducted;
the results of any required performance tests, opacity or visible emission observations, continuous monitoring system (CMS) performance evaluations, and/or other monitoring procedures or methods that were conducted to demonstrate compliance;
the methods that will be used for determining continuing compliance, including a description of the monitoring, the records maintained of the process and/or equipment parameters, and test methods;
the mass emission rate of TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP emitted by the dehydrator, as measured in accordance with the test methods specified in 40 CFR 63.772;
the analysis demonstrating whether the glycol dehydration unit(s) is/are an area source for HAP and the supporting potential and controlled emissions data to document the determination;
a description of the air pollution control equipment (or control method) for each emission point and the control efficiency (%) for each control device/method;
a statement, signed by a responsible official, as to whether the dehydrator has met the relevant standards, limitations, and/or other requirements of the NESHAP; and if not, the proposed method and time-line for achieving compliance;
if a closed-vent system and a control device other than a flare are used to demonstrate compliance, the permittee shall submit the following information:
the results of the closed-vent system initial inspections performed according to the requirements in 40 CFR 63.773(c)(2)(i) and (ii); and
if using a condenser to demonstrate compliance, documentation of the design analysis as specified in 40 CFR 63.772(e)(4), if electing to demonstrate compliance, as permitted, using the design analysis and gas analyses; or
the performance test results, including the percent reduction of total HAP or TOC (minus methane and ethane) or the outlet concentration of HAP or TOC; and the value of the monitored parameters, averaged over the full period of the performance test;
if a closed-vent system and a flare are used to demonstrate compliance, the permittee shall submit performance test results to include the following information:
all visible emission readings, heat content determinations, flowrate measurements, and exit velocity determinations;
a statement of whether a flame was present at the pilot light over the full period of the compliance determination; and
the results of the initial inspection of the closed-vent system, performed in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(c)(2)(i) and (ii);
one complete test report for each test method used to document compliance, to include:  a description of the sampling site, the sampling and analysis procedures, any modifications to standard procedures, the quality assurance procedures, the record of operating conditions during the test, any record of preparation of standards, record of calibrations, the raw data sheets for field sampling and laboratory analyses, documentation of calculations, and any other information required by the test method;
for each operating parameter required to be monitored in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 63.773(d):
the minimum or maximum operating parameter value for the control device, established to define the conditions at which the control device must be operated to continuously achieve the applicable performance requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(d) or process modification requirements in 40 CFR 63.771(e);
an explanation of the rationale for why the operating parameter value(s) was/were selected and how it/they indicate(s) the control device is operating in accordance with 40 CFR 63.771(d), to demonstrate compliance with the overall 95% emission reduction of HAP; and the data and calculations used to develop the minimum or maximum parameter value(s); and
a definition of the source's operating day for purposes of determining daily average values of monitored parameters (hours of operation per day);
the results of any continuous monitoring system performance evaluations;
the analysis performed to determine the maximum natural gas or hydrocarbon liquid throughput;
the predetermined carbon replacement schedule if demonstrating compliance using a carbon adsorption system;
the method(s) used to demonstrate compliance with the chosen compliance option, i.e., for 0.90 MG/year benzene, 95% control of TOC or total HAP, 20 ppmv TOC or total HAP, or meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 63.11(b) for a flare; and
a statement as to whether the source has complied with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HH.
[40 CFR 63.775(d)], [40 CFR 63.9(h)], and [OAC rule 3745-15-04, 30-day submission]
Annual Reports shall be submitted for an area source located inside a UA plus offset and UC boundary, beginning 30 calendar days after the end of the applicable reporting period.  The first report shall cover the period beginning on the date the Notification of Compliance Status Report is due and end on December 31.  Subsequent reporting periods shall begin every January 1 and end on December 31 and will be due 30 days following the end of the reporting period.  The following information shall be included in the annual reports:
the information required under 40 CFR 63.10(e)(3) for continuous monitoring systems;
a description of all excursions that occurred during the annual reporting period, as identified 40 CFR 63.773(d)(6);
for each excursion from the established daily average value of the operating parameter used to demonstrate continuous compliance, the report must include the daily average values of the monitored parameter, the applicable operating parameter limit, and the date and duration of the excursion;
for each excursion caused when the 365-day average condenser control efficiency is less than 95%, as specified in 40 CFR 63.773(d)(6)(ii) and as calculated in 40 CFR 63.772(g)(2)(iii), the report must include the 365-day average values of the condenser control efficiency and the date and duration of the excursion;
for each excursion caused when there is less than 365 days of data and the condenser control efficiency is less than 90%, as specified in 40 CFR 63.773(d)(6)(iii) and as calculated in 40 CFR 63.772(g)(2)(iii), the report must include the average values of the condenser control efficiency and the date and duration of the excursion;
for each excursion caused by the lack of monitoring data, i.e., less than 75% of the operating hours in any day (per 40 CFR 63.773(d)(6)(iv)), the report must include the date and duration of time when the monitoring data were not collected and the reason;
for each inspection conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(c) during which a leak or defect is detected, the records specified in 40 CFR 63.774(b)(7) identifying each leak and information related to the date of its detection and repair;
for each carbon adsorber used to demonstrate compliance, records of each carbon replacement that occurred during the reporting period;
for each closed-vent system with a bypass line, records of all periods when the vent stream is diverted from the control device through a bypass line and/or all periods in which the seal mechanism is broken, the bypass valve position has changed, or the key to unlock the bypass line valve was checked out;
the information necessary to document the glycol dehydration unit was in compliance with the appropriate standards during the reporting period;
identification of any changes made to the dehydration unit, the closed-vent system, the control device, or the parameters monitored that would alter the method of compliance;
if there were no excursions during the reporting period, a statement to that effect;
if applicable, a statement that there no continuous monitoring system, used to demonstrate compliance, was inoperative, out of control, repaired, or adjusted during the reporting period;
if the compliance demonstration includes a process modification to attain the 95% reduction of HAP emissions, the information supporting the contribution of the process change to the percent reduction that would be necessary to demonstrate compliance;
for flares, any periods of time when the pilot flame was absent and any record of visible emissions;
for a combustion control device performance tested in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(h) by the manufacturer:
each excursion from the maximum inlet gas flowrate, the flowrate measured, and the date and duration of the exceedance;
each excursion from the visible emissions standard identified in 40 CFR 63.772(i)(3), the total time visible emissions exceeded 2 minutes in any hour of observation, the date and duration of the period of the exceedance, the repairs made to the unit, and the date the unit was returned to service and visible emissions were eliminated; and 
any period of time when the pilot flame was absent; and
the date of the semi-annual maintenance inspection required to be conducted for the combustion control device under 40 CFR 63.773(b) and the modifications, maintenance (e.g. cleaning of the fuel nozzles), or repairs made; 
the results of any periodic test conducted during the reporting period; and 
certification by a responsible official of the truth, accuracy, and completeness of the report.
[40 CFR 63.775(e)]
Where a combustion control device model is tested by the manufacturer under 40 CFR 63.772(h), the permittee shall submit the following information in the Notification of Compliance Status Report for the test report required under 40 CFR 63.775(d)(1)(iii):
a full schematic of the control device and dimensions of the device components;
the design net heating value (minimum and maximum) of the device;
the test fuel gas flow range (in both mass and volume), including the minimum and maximum allowable inlet gas flowrate;
the air/stream injection/assist ranges, if used;
the test parameter ranges applicable for the tested model, i.e.:
the fuel gas delivery pressure and temperature;
the fuel gas moisture range;
the purge gas usage range;
the condensate (liquid fuel) separation range;
the combustion zone temperature range. This is required for all devices that measure this parameter;
the excess combustion air range;
the flame arrestor(s);
the burner manifold pressure;
the pilot flame sensor;
the pilot flame design fuel and fuel usage;
the tip velocity range;
the Momentum flux ratio;
the exit temperature range;
the exit flowrate; and
the wind velocity and direction.
The test report shall include all calibration quality assurance/quality control data, calibration gas values, gas cylinder certification, strip charts, the test times, and calibration values.
[40 CFR 63.772(h)(8)]
If the permittee is using a combustion control device model tested under 40 CFR 63.772(h) by the manufacturer, and the test results for that model have not been posted by the manufacturer at the website identified at:  epa.gov/airquality/oilandgas/, then an electronic copy of the performance test results shall be submitted by the permittee via e-mail to Oil_and_Gas_PT@EPA.GOV.
[40 CFR 63.775(d)(1)(ii)]
Within 60 days following the date of completing each performance test (required to demonstrate compliance with Part 63 Subpart HH), the permittee must submit the test results to U.S. EPA’s WebFIRE database using the Compliance and Emissions Data Reporting Interface (CEDRI) that is accessed through EPA’s Central Data Exchange (CDX), www.epa.gov/cdx .  Performance test data must be submitted in the file format generated through use of EPA’s Electronic Reporting Tool (ERT), found at http://www.epa.gov/ttn/chief/ert/index.html.  Only data collected using test methods identified on the ERT Website are subject to this requirement
[40 CFR 63.775(g)]
Testing Requirements 
Compliance with the Emission Limitations and/or Control Requirements specified in section b) of these terms and conditions shall be determined in accordance with the following methods:
0. Emissions Limitation:
For TOC or benzene, compliance with the applicable control requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HH; or
Emissions from the glycol dehydration unit shall not exceed 0.42 ton of VOC (excludes methane and ethane) per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.
Applicable Compliance Method:
The permittee may determine the annual TOC (excludes methane and ethane) or benzene emissions using the GRI-GLYCalcTM model, Version 3.0 or higher, and the procedures presented in the associated GRI-GLYCalcTM Technical Reference Manual.  Inputs to the model shall be representative of actual operating conditions of the glycol dehydration unit(s) and may be determined using the procedures documented in the Gas Research Institute (GRI) report entitled ‘‘Atmospheric Rich/Lean Method for Determining Glycol Dehydrator Emissions’’ (GRI–95/0368.1); 
Potential TOC and/or benzene emissions estimates shall be based on the maximum glycol circulation rate(s), in gallons per minute (gpm); the worst case pollutant concentrations from representative extended gas analyses of the inlet wet gas; and the maximum natural gas flow rate, as determined by 40 CFR 63.772(b)(1)(i); or for a new unit, potential emissions shall be estimated in accordance with 40 CFR 63.760(a) and increased by a factor of 1.2.  The permittee may also determine the estimated annual VOC emission through direct measurement using Method M25A or Method 18, both from Appendix A of Part 60.
[40 CFR 63.765(b)(1) and/or (c)(3)], [40 CFR 63.771(c) and (d)], [40 CFR 63.772], [40 CFR 63.773(d)], and [OAC rule 3745-31-05(E)]
Emission Limitation from a flare used to control the dehydrator:
1.35 tons of CO per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emissions limitation for CO is based on using the AP-42 emission factor of 0.37 lb CO/MMBtu from Chapter 13.5 for Industrial Flares, Table 13.5-1, “Emission Factors for Flare Operations” and using the estimated burner rating of 10.0 MMBtu/hr.  Estimated CO emissions shall be determined by the following calculations:
0.37 lb CO/MMBtu x 10.0 MMBtu/hr = 3.7 lbs CO/hr
3.7 lbs CO/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 16.2 tons CO/year
16.2 tons CO ÷ 12 months = 1.35 tons CO/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
Emission Limitation from a flare used to control the dehydrator:
0.51 ton of VOC per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emissions limitation for VOC is based on using the AP-42 emissions factor of 0.14 lb of hydrocarbon/MMBtu from Chapter 13.5 for Industrial Flares, Table 13.5-1 “Emission Factors for Flare Operations” and using the estimated burner rating of 10 MMBtu/hr.  Estimated VOC emissions shall be determined by the following calculation:
0.14 lb VOC/MMBtu x 10.0 MMBtu/hr = 1.4 lb VOC/hr
1.4 lb VOC/hr x 8760 hr/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 6.1 tons VOC/year
6.1 tons VOC ÷ 12 months = 0.51 ton VOC/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
Emission Limitation from a flare used to control the dehydrator:
0.25 ton of NOx per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emissions limitation for NOx is based on using the AP-42 emission factor of 0.068 lb NOx/MMBtu from Chapter 13.5 for Industrial Flares, Table 13.5-1, “Emission Factors for Flare Operations” and using the estimated burner rating of 10 MMBtu/hr.  Estimated NOx emissions shall be determined by the following calculation:
0.068 lb NOx/MMBtu x 10.0 MMBtu/hr = 0.68 lb NOx /hr
0.68 lb NOx/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 3.0 tons NOx/year
3.0 tons NOx ÷ 12 months = 0.25 ton NOx/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
Emission Limitation from a flare used to control the dehydrator:
0.15 ton of SO2 per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Applicable Compliance Method:
The SO2 emissions limitation is based on a fuel gas with a maximum H2S content of 250 ppmv for sour gas.
Compliance with the ton per year SO2 emissions limitation shall be determined by the following calculations:
10 MMBtu/hr x 1 scf/1020 Btu x 1 lb-mole/379.5 scf x 250 ppm H2S x 64 lb SO2/lb-mole = 0.41 lb SO2/hr
0.41 lb SO2/hr x 8760 hrs/year x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 1.8 tons SO2/year
1.8 tons SO2 ÷ 12 months = 0.15 ton SO2/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
The following testing requirements (6) through (10) are only required if not meeting one of the exemption in Subpart HH
Emissions Limitations:
Unless the process vent from the dehydrator is connected through a closed vent system to a process natural gas line or open flare, the actual average benzene emissions shall be reduced or demonstrated to be less than 0.90 megagrams per year; or TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP shall be reduced by 95% or to less than 20 ppmv on a dry basis corrected to 3% oxygen in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e).
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the NESHAP for Natural Gas Production Facilities can be demonstrated by documenting that the TEG dehydration unit meets one of the exemptions identified in 40 CFR 63.764(e), by demonstrating in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(b) that either the actual annual average flowrate of natural gas to the TEG dehydration unit is less than 85,000 scm/day or that the actual average benzene emissions are less than 0.90 MG/yr.
If not meeting one of the exemptions and if not located in a UA plus offset and UC boundary, as defined in 40 CFR 63.761, compliance with the TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP may be demonstrated by determining and maintaining the optimum glycol circulation rate in accordance with 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2).  A glycol dehydration unit located at an area source for HAP and not operated using triethylene glycol is not an affected source under this subpart.
If the facility is located in a UA plus offset and UC boundary and does not meet one of the exemptions from the control requirements of Part 63 Subpart HH, as identified in 40 CFR 63.764(e), emissions from the TEG dehydration unit shall be vented through a closed vent system meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(c) and to a control device meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 63.765 and 40 CFR 63.771(d); and the control device shall meet the following requirements:
An open flare used to demonstrate compliance with 40 CFR 63.764(d)(1) shall be designed and operated in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(2) and 40 CFR 63.11(b); and it must be equipped with a heat sensing monitoring device and recorder that indicates the continuous ignition of the pilot flame (40 CFR 63.773(d));
A demonstration of compliance using a combustion device or enclosed flare shall be conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(3) and it must be equipped with a continuous temperature monitoring device which shall be used to establish a minimum operating temperature in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(f) and 40 CFR 63.773(d);
A demonstration of compliance using a condenser may be conducted through a performance test in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(3); or a design analysis may be used in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(4); or a condenser performance curve may be generated using the GRI-GLYCalcTM model in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(5) and (g).  The condenser must be equipped with a continuous parameter monitoring device and must establish a minimum or maximum operating parameter in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(d); and
A demonstration of compliance using a carbon adsorption system shall be conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(3) and it must be equipped with a continuous parameter monitoring device which shall be used to establish a minimum or maximum operating parameter in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(d); or alternatively the carbon replacement for non-regenerative carbon may be monitored in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(d).
The permittee may determine the mass rate of TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP at the inlet of the control device and actual average benzene emissions using the GRI-GLYCalcTM model, Version 3.0 or higher, and the procedures presented in the associated GRI-GLYCalcTM Technical Reference Manual.  Inputs to the model shall be representative of actual operating conditions of the glycol dehydration unit(s) and shall be determined using the procedures documented in the Gas Research Institute (GRI) report entitled ‘‘Atmospheric Rich/Lean Method for Determining Glycol Dehydrator Emissions’’ (GRI–95/0368.1); or alternatively the permitee may demonstrate compliance with the emissions standards through direct measurement using, as applicable, Methods 18 or 25A of 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A or ASTM D6420-99 (Standard Test Method for Determination of Gaseous Organic Compounds by Direct Interface Gas Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry).
Potential VOC, TOC, HAP, and/or benzene emissions estimates shall be based on the maximum glycol circulation rate(s), in gallons per minute (gpm); the worst case pollutant concentrations from representative extended gas analyses of the inlet wet gas; and the maximum natural gas flow rate, as determined by 40 CFR 63.772(b)(1)(i); or for a new unit, potential emissions shall be estimated in accordance with 40 CFR 63.760(a) and increased by a factor of 1.2.
Where a control device is required to meet the total HAP, TOC, or benzene standard or control requirement, the gas stream from the glycol dehydration unit process vent shall be routed through a closed-vent system to control device that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(d), except that the performance levels specified in 40 CFR 63.771(d)(1)(i) and (ii) do not apply if the actual average benzene emissions can be demonstrated to be less than 0.90 megagrams per year.
The actual flowrate of natural gas to the glycol dehydration unit shall be determined by installing a monitoring instrument that directly measures natural gas flowrate to the glycol dehydration unit with an accuracy of plus or minus 2% or better.  The annual natural gas flowrate shall be converted to a daily average by dividing the annual flowrate by the number of days per year the glycol dehydration unit processes natural gas.
A performance test conducted by the manufacturer of a combustion control device may be used to demonstrate compliance if:
the manufacturer has demonstrated compliance for the specific model in accordance with all of the requirements contained in 40 CFR 63.722(h);
the actual average inlet waste gas flowrate does not exceed the maximum established by the manufacturer and is determined using the model GRI-GLYCalc version 3.0 or higher, ProMax, or AspenTech HYSYS, where inputs to the models are representative of actual operating conditions of the controlled unit(s);
a heat sensing device, equipped with a continuous recorder, is installed that indicates continuous ignition of the pilot flame;
the combustion control device is operated with no visible emissions, except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes during any hour of operation; and 1-hour visible emissions readings, using Method 22 at 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7, are conducted quarterly; and
the permittee develops an inspection and maintenance plan for the combustor which shall include the manufacturer’s recommendations for ensuring proper operations; and semiannual inspections are conducted with maintenance and replacement of components in accordance with the plan.
In accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(3)(iii)(B)(4), the GRI-GLYCalcTM model, Version 3.0 or higher, can be used as an alternative to calculating the mass rate of TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP at the inlet of the control device.
[40 CFR 63.765(b)(1) or (c)(1)], [40 CFR 63.771(c) and (d)], [40 CFR 63.772], [40 CFR 63.773(b) and (d)], and [OAC rule 3745-31-05(E)]
Closed-Vent Systems
Emissions Limitation:
Where meeting the emissions standard using a control device, the gas stream from the TEG dehydration unit process vents, shall be routed through a closed-vent system to a control device meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(c) and (d).  The closed-vent system shall be designed and operated with no detectable emissions.  The closed-vent system shall be considered to have no detectable emissions if the instrument reading is less than 500 parts per million by volume (ppmv) above background (per 40 CFR 63.772(c)(8)).
When meeting one of the exemptions found in 40 CFR 63.764(e) or demonstrating compliance by determining and maintaining the optimum TEG circulation rate in accordance with 40 CFR 63.764(d)(2), the closed-vent system shall be considered to have no detectable emissions if the instrument reading is less than 10,000 ppmv above background, unless a lower detection limit is established by rule.
Applicable Compliance Method:
Initial and annual visual inspections of the closed vent system shall meet the requirements of 40 CFR 63.773(c) and shall be conducted in accordance with the test procedure set forth in Method 21 of 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A and as identified in 40 CFR 63.772(c).  The detection of leaks of VOC into the ambient air from equipment and background level shall be determined as follows:
The detection of leaks shall be determined in accordance with the test procedure set forth in U.S. EPA Method 21 and the instrument shall be calibrated each day before use.
The following calibration gases shall be used:
zero air, which consists of less than 10 ppm of hydrocarbon in air; and
a mixture of air and methane or n-hexane at a concentration of approximately, but less than, 10,000 ppm of methane or n-hexane.
All potential leak interfaces shall be traversed as close to the interface as possible.  The arithmetic difference between the maximum concentration indicated by the instrument and the background level is compared with 500 ppm for determining compliance.  The leak detection instrument shall be calibrated before each use and shall meet the performance criteria of Method 21, from 40 CFR 60 Appendix A.  The closed-vent system shall be considered to have no detectable emissions if the instrument reading is less than 500 parts per million by volume (ppmv) above background (per 40 CFR 63.772(c)(8)).
[40 CFR 63.771(c)], [40 CFR 63.772(c)], [40 CFR 63.773(c)], and [OAC rule 3745-31-05(E)]
Control Device other than a Flare
Emissions Limitation:
Where not demonstrating compliance using the model GRI-GLYCalcTM model, as allowed per 40 CFR 63.772(b)(2) for benzene, any control device used to demonstrate compliance with 40 CFR 63.771(d), other than an open flare (and the control devices/scenarios identified as exempt from the performance test requirements in 40 CFR 63.772(e)(1)), the permittee shall demonstrate that the control device either reduces the mass content of TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP by 95% or reduces benzene to less than 0.90 MG per year.
Applicable Compliance Method:
The permittee demonstrating compliance through performance testing to meet the control requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(d) or (e) shall do so using the following methods and procedures:
Method 1 or 1A, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, as appropriate, shall be used for selection of the sampling sites.  Any references to particulate mentioned in Methods 1 and 1A do not apply.
To determine compliance with the control device percent reduction requirement, sampling sites shall be located at the inlet of the first control device, and at the outlet of the final control device.
To determine compliance with the enclosed combustion device total HAP concentration limit, the sampling site shall be located at the outlet of the combustion device.
Method 2, 2A, 2C, or 2D, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A shall be used to determine the gas volumetric flowrate.
For benzene, the GRI-GLYCalcTM model may be used in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(b)(2)(i) or may be determined, in kilograms/hour, through direct measurement using Method 18, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A or ASTM D6420–99 (2004).
Method 18, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A or ASTM D6420–99 (2004) shall be used to determine compliance with the control device percent reduction performance requirement.  As an alternative, the mass rate of either TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP at the inlet of the control device (Ei) may be calculated using the model GRI-GLYCalc.  The following procedures shall be used to calculate percent reduction efficiency:
The minimum sampling time for each run shall be 1 hour in which either an integrated sample or a minimum of four grab samples shall be taken.  If grab sampling is used, the samples shall be taken at approximately equal intervals in time, i.e., every 15-minute intervals during the run.
The mass rate of either TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP (Ei, Eo) shall be computed using the following equations:
n
Ei = K2 ( Cij Mij) Qi
	j=1

n
Eo= K2 ( Coj Moj) Qo
	j=1
Where:
Cij, Coj= Concentration of sample component j of the gas stream at the inlet and outlet of the control device, respectively, dry basis, parts per million by volume.
Ei, Eo= Mass rate of TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP at the inlet and outlet of the control device, respectively, dry basis, kilogram per hour.
Mij, Moj= Molecular weight of sample component j of the gas stream at the inlet and outlet of the control device, respectively, gram/gram-mole.
Qi, Qo= Flowrate of gas stream at the inlet and outlet of the control device, respectively, dry standard cubic meter per minute.
K2= Constant, 2.494×10−6 (parts per million) (gram-mole per standard cubic meter) (kilogram/gram) (minute/hour), where standard temperature (gram-mole per standard cubic meter) is 20 °C.
n = Number of components in sample.
When the TOC mass rate is calculated, all organic compounds (minus methane and ethane) measured by Method 18, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, or Method 25A, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, or ASTM D6420–99 (2004) as specified in 40 CFR 63.772(a)(1)(ii), shall be summed.
When the total HAP mass rate is calculated, only HAP chemicals listed in Table 1 of this subpart shall be summed.
The percent reduction in TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP shall be calculated as follows:
Rcd = (Ei – Eo)/Ei x 100%
Where:
Rcd= Control efficiency of control device, %.
Ei= Mass rate of TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP at the inlet to the control device, kilograms TOC per hour or kilograms HAP per hour.
Eo= Mass rate of TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP at the outlet of the control device, kilograms TOC per hour or kilograms HAP per hour.
If the vent stream entering a boiler or process heater with a design capacity less than 44 megawatts is introduced with the combustion air or as a secondary fuel, the weight-percent reduction of total HAP or TOC (minus methane and ethane) across the device shall be determined by comparing the TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP in all combusted vent streams and primary and secondary fuels with the TOC (minus methane and ethane) or total HAP exiting the device, respectively.
To determine compliance with the total HAP or TOC concentration limit, the permittee shall use the following procedures to calculate parts per million by volume concentration, corrected to 3% oxygen.  The TOC concentration is the sum of the concentrations of the individual components and shall be computed for each run using the following equation:
x 	n
CTOC =   ( Cji) / x
i=1	j=1
Where:
CTOC=entration of total organic compounds minus methane and ethane, dry basis, parts per million by volume.
Cji= Concentration of sample component j of sample i, dry basis, parts per million by volume.
n = Number of components in the sample.
x = Number of samples in the sample run.
The TOC concentration or total HAP concentration shall be corrected to 3% oxygen as follows:
The emission rate correction factor for excess air, integrated sampling and analysis procedures of Method 3A or 3B, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, shall be used to determine the oxygen concentration. The samples shall be taken during the same time that the samples are taken for determining TOC concentration or total HAP concentration.
The TOC or HAP concentration shall be corrected for percent oxygen by using the following equation:
Cc = Cm (17.9 / 20.9 - %O2d)
Where:
Cc= TOC concentration or total HAP concentration corrected to 3% oxygen, dry basis, parts per million by volume.
Cm= TOC concentration or total HAP concentration, dry basis, parts per million by volume.
%O2d= Concentration of oxygen, dry basis, % by volume.
Operating parameters shall be established in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(d), as applicable to the chosen control device, during the performance test to demonstrate continuous compliance.
[40 CFR 63.765], [40 CFR 63.771(d)], and [40 CFR 63.772(a)(1) and (e)(3)]
Where demonstrating compliance using a condenser’s design analysis, the permittee shall establish a condenser performance curve showing the relationship between the condenser outlet temperature and the control efficiency; and the performance curve shall be established as required in 40 CFR 63.773(d)(5)(ii).  The design analysis shall include an analysis of the vent stream characteristics and control device operating parameters as follows:
The design analysis shall include the vent stream composition, constituent concentrations, flowrate, relative humidity, and temperature, and shall establish the design outlet organic compound concentration level, design average temperature of the condenser exhaust vent stream, and the design average temperatures of the coolant fluid at the condenser inlet and outlet.  The permittee shall establish a site-specific condenser performance curve according to 40 CFR 63.773(d)(5)(ii).
Following 365 days of operations, the permittee shall calculate the 365-day average HAP using the following procedures:
monitor and calculate the daily average condenser outlet temperature in accordance with 40 CFR 63.773(d)(4);
determine the condenser efficiency for each operating day using the daily average condenser outlet temperature and the condenser performance curve; and
at the end of each operating day, calculate the 365-day average HAP from the condenser efficiencies for the preceding 365 operating days.
Prior to 365 days and following 120 days of operation, the average HAP shall be calculated each day for the number of days of operation following the compliance dates.  Compliance is achieved if the 120-day to 364-day average HAP emission reduction is equal to or greater than 90.0 percent.
Following 365 days of operation compliance is achieved if the average HAP emission reduction is calculated to be equal to or greater than 95.0 percent.
If the permittee uses a combination of process modification(s) and a condenser in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(e), the 365-day average HAP shall be calculated using the emission reduction achieved through process modifications and the condenser efficiency, both for the previous 365 operating days.
If compliance is demonstrated using a condenser design analysis, in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e)(4), the minimum or maximum operating parameter value and/or condenser performance curve shall be established based on the condenser design analysis and may be supplemented by the condenser manufacturer’s recommendations.  If it is determined that the design analysis is not sufficient to demonstrate compliance, the permittee shall be required to conduce a performance test to demonstrate compliance with the HAP emission reduction standard.
If compliance is demonstrated through a performance test in accordance with 40 CFR 63.722(e)(3), the condenser performance curve shall be based on values measured during the performance test and supplemented as necessary by the condenser’s design analysis or the manufacturer’s recommendations or a combination of both.
The permittee may elect to use the procedures specified in the GRI report entitled, “Atmospheric Rich/Lean Method for Determining Glycol Dehydrator Emissions” (GRI-95/0368.1) as inputs for the model Gri-GLYCalcTM, Version 3.0 or higher to generate a condenser performance curve.
[40 CFR 63.771(d)(1)(ii)], [40 CFR 63.772(e)(4) and (5)], [40 CFR 63.772(g)], and [40 CFR 63.773(d)(5)(i)(B) and (ii))]
Compliance using an open flare
Emissions Limitation:
There shall be no visible emissions from a flare used to demonstrate compliance with Part 63, Subpart HH, except for periods not to exceed a total of 5 minutes during any 2 consecutive hours of operation and the flare shall be designed and operated in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11(b).
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the visible emissions limitation shall be determined in accordance with U.S. EPA Method 22 in Appendix A of 40 CFR Part 60.  The heat content, flowrate, and exit velocity shall be determined in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11(b).
[40 CFR 63.771(d)(1)(iii)] and [40 CFR 63.772(e)(2)]

Miscellaneous Requirements 
0. The permittee shall meet the applicable requirements of the most current version of 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart HH following any amendments to these rules, which may supersede any requirements identified in this permit.


Emissions Units:  Spark Ignition Internal Combustion Engines, P002
	Operations, Property and/or Equipment Description:
	P002
	One or multiple stationary natural gas-fired spark ignition (SI) internal combustion engines (ICE) with a combined total horsepower (HP) of no more than 5,000 HP for the compressor station.*

Includes 2007 and later model year engines manufactured after the applicable effective date identified in 40 CFR 60.4230(a)(3); and engines manufactured before the effective date of the NSPS, where compliance with the Part 60 Subpart JJJJ emissions standards for the same size engine can be met by retrofitting the engine with a control device and demonstrated through stack testing.



* In order to maintain the carbon monoxide (CO) emissions below major source thresholds and nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions below state significant impact levels, where the sum of the total horsepower (HP) of the spark ignition (SI) engines exceeds 2,500 HP, the SI engines rated at or over 100 HP may be required to meet more stringent standards for CO and NOx than is applicable to the engine.

a) This permit document constitutes a permit-to-install issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(F) and a permit-to-operate issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(G).
(1) For the purpose of a permit-to-install document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are federally enforceable with the exception of those listed below which are enforceable under state law only.
(a) None.
(2) For the purpose of a permit-to-operate document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are enforceable under state law only with the exception of those listed below which are federally enforceable.
(a) 2.b)(1)a.
b) Applicable Emissions Limitations and/or Control Requirements
0. The specific operation(s), property, and/or equipment that constitute each emissions unit along with the applicable rules and/or requirements and with the applicable emissions limitations and/or control measures are identified below.  Emissions from each unit shall not exceed the listed limitations, and the listed control measures shall be specified in narrative form following the table.

	
	Applicable Rules/Requirements
	Applicable Emissions Limitations/Control Measures

	a.
	40 CFR Part 60, Subpart JJJJ
In accordance with 40 CFR 60.4230, the engines in this emissions group are subject to the New Source Performance Standards (NSPS) for Stationary Spark Ignition (SI) Internal Combustion Engines (ICE).
40 CFR 60.4233(e)
40 CFR 60.4231(a), (d), and (e)-mfg.
Table 1 to Part 60, Subpart JJJJ
Best Available Technology
OAC 3745-31-05(F)
	Engines shall either be certified to the applicable Part 60 Subpart JJJJ emission standards and/or the exhaust emissions shall not exceed the following emission limitations:
the applicable emission standards for nitrogen oxides (NOx), carbon monoxide (CO), and volatile organic compounds (VOC) as identified in Table 1 to Part 60, Subpart JJJJ; or 
for engines less than or equal to 25 HP, the applicable standards from 40 CFR Part 90 or Part 1054; or 
for engines greater than 25 HP and less than 100 HP, the applicable standards from Part 1048.
Where the total summation of the SI ICE HP is equal to or less than 2,500 HP, the natural gas engine emissions together shall not exceed the following emission standards[footnoteRef:1]: [1:  Note:  Each engine shall be required to meet the applicable emission standards under 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart JJJJ, based on the manufacture date and size engine, or the limits identified in this permit by retrofitting pre-NSPS engines with a control device where the total HP exceeds 2,500 HP.] 

1.0 gram of NOx per horsepower hour (1.0 g NOx/HP-hr);
2.0 grams of CO per horsepower hour (2.0 g CO/HP-hr); and
0.7 gram of VOC per horsepower hour (0.7 g VOC/HP-hr);
In order to maintain CO emissions below major source thresholds and NOx emissions below state significant impact levels, where the total summation of the SI ICE HP is greater than 2,500 HP, the natural gas engine emissions together shall not exceed the following:
0.5 gram of NOx per horsepower hour (0.5 g NOx/HP-hr);
1.0 gram of CO per horsepower hour (1.0 g CO/HP-hr); and
0.35 gram of VOC per horsepower hour (0.35 g VOC/HP-hr).
See b)(2)c., d. and e.

	b.
	OAC rule 3745-17-11(B)(5)
OAC 3745-31-05(F)
	Particulate Emissions (PE) shall not exceed 0.062 lb/MMBtu for all stationary internal combustion engines..

	c.
	OAC rule 3745-17-07(A)(1)
	Visible particulate emissions from the exhaust stack serving this emissions unit shall not exceed 20 percent opacity, as a six-minute average, except as specified by rule.

	d.
	OAC rule 3745-18-04
	The SO2 emission rate from field natural gas exceeds the limit for sweetened pipe-line quality fuel gas; therefore the SO2 emissions limit shall be based on sour gas with a maximum H2S content of 250 ppmv.

	e.
	ORC 3704.03(T)
	Compliance with the applicable g/HP-hr limits from 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart JJJJ for NOx, CO and VOC.

	f.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective 11/30/01
	See b)(2)a.

	g.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3)(a)(ii), as effective 12/01/06
	See b)(2)b.

	h.
	40 CFR Part 60 Subpart JJJJ
40 CFR 60.4233 and
OAC 3745-31-05(F)
	All SI ICE shall meet all applicable NSPS requirements where the model year is subject to these emission standards and all older model year engines shall be fitted with a control device (where required) and shall be demonstrated to meet the NSPS emission standards as applicable to 2007 and later model year engines of the same size/power.

	i.
	OAC 3745-31-05(F)
	5.51 lbs NOx/hr from all SI engines combined.



0. Additional Terms and Conditions
The permittee has satisfied the Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements pursuant to OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective November 30, 2001, in this permit.  On December 1, 2006, paragraph (A)(3) of OAC rule 3745-31-05 was revised to conform to the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) changes effective August 3, 2006 (Senate Bill 265 changes), such that BAT is no longer required by State regulations for National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) pollutant(s) less than ten tons per year.  However, that rule revision has not yet been approved by U.S. EPA as a revision to Ohio’s State Implementation Plan (SIP).  Therefore, until the SIP revision occurs and the U.S. EPA approves the revisions to OAC rule 3745-31-05, the requirement to satisfy BAT still exists as part of the federally-approved SIP for Ohio.  Once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of OAC rule 3745-31-05 these emission limitations/control measures no longer apply.
This rule applies once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of OAC rule 3745-31-05 as part of the State Implementation Plan.
The Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements under OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3) do not apply to the SO2 emissions from this air contaminant source since the potentials to emit for SO2 are less than ten tons per year.
The stationary spark ignition (SI) internal combustion engine(s) (ICE) are subject to and shall be operated in compliance with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart JJJJ, standards of performance for stationary SI ICE.
[40 CFR 60.4230(a)]
The owner/operator of all SI ICE shall demonstrate compliance with the emissions standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4233 of Part 60, Subpart JJJJ in accordance with 40 CFR 60.4243(b).
[40 CFR 60.4233] and [40 CFR 60.4243(b)]
The gram per horsepower-hour emissions limitations are based on the emission standards from Table 1 of NSPS JJJJ for natural gas-fired engines and/or Best Available Technology.  In order to maintain the carbon monoxide (CO) emissions below major source thresholds and nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions below state significant impact levels, where the sum of the total horsepower (HP) of the spark ignition (SI) engines exceeds 2,500 HP, the SI engines rated at or over 100 HP shall meet the CO and NOx limits identified in the Testing Section of this permit.  However, each engine installed at the compressor station and subject to a more stringent standard, based on the model year and engine’s size, must be demonstrated to comply with the applicable emissions standard established in 40 CFR 60.4233.
c) Operational Restrictions
0. The stationary SI ICE shall be installed, operated, and maintained according to the manufacturer’s recommendations or in accordance with the operator’s Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Plan and in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for minimizing emissions.  The permittee shall operate and maintain the stationary SI ICE to achieve the emission standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4233 over the entire life of the engine(s).  The air-to-fuel ratio controllers shall be set by the operator according to the manufacturer’s operations manual, to ensure proper operation of the engines and their control device (catalytic converter) and to minimize emissions.
[40 CFR 60.4234], [40 CFR 60.4243(b)], and [40 CFR 60.4243(g)]
d) Monitoring and/or Recordkeeping Requirements
0. The following records shall be maintained for each spark ignition engine operating at the compressor station:
all notifications submitted to comply with and all documentation supporting compliance with Part 60 Subpart JJJJ;
all notifications submitted to comply with and all documentation supporting compliance with Part 63 Subpart ZZZZ;
records of all maintenance conducted on the engines;
for certified engines less than or equal to 100 HP, the certification from the manufacturer, documenting that the engine(s) meet(s) the emission standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4231 or for uncertified engines, the testing results from the initial and subsequent performance tests, as applicable, conducted to meet the requirements of 40 CFR 60.4243(b)(2)(i) or (ii) or the voluntary limit established through the use of the Best Available Technology; and
the information identified in 40 CFR Parts 90, 1048, 1054, and/or 1060 that is required to be provided by the manufacturer to the operator/owner, as applicable to the model year and horsepower of the engines.
The permittee or owner/operator (if leased) of the engines shall keep the above records and a maintenance plan for the engines, and shall maintain documentation that the engine is maintained and operated according the manufacturer’s emission-related instructions.
[40 CFR 60.4245(a)] and [40 CFR 60.4243(a) and (b)]
e) Reporting Requirements
(1) The permittee shall submit an annual Permit Evaluation Report (PER) to the Ohio EPA District Office or Local Air Agency by the due date identified in the Authorization section of this permit.  The permit evaluation report shall cover a reporting period of no more than twelve months for each air contaminant source identified in this permit.  It is recommended that the PER is submitted electronically through the Ohio EPA’s “e-Business Center: Air Services” although PERs can be submitted via U.S. postal service or can be hand delivered.
[OAC 3745-15-03(B)(2) and (D)]
The permittee shall identify in the PER:
each SI engine located (and operated) at the compressor station during the year, identified by the model year, horse power, and the date of manufacturer of each engine;
a statement as to whether each engine was purchased certified by the manufacturer, in accordance with the Subpart JJJJ, i.e., the manufacturer has provided a warranty for the emissions when the engine was first sold;
identification of each engine that has been retrofitted with a control device and has been demonstrated to meet the applicable limits identified in this permit;
a statement as to whether each engine was operated and maintained in accordance with the manufacturers emission-related instructions;
the date each uncertified SI engine was tested for compliance with the applicable emission standards identified in Part 60 Subpart JJJJ; and
identification of each engine that did not meet the applicable emission standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4233 and/or this permit, the number of hours each such engine was in operation while not in compliance, the pollutant limitation(s) that were exceeded, and information on the date and resolution of compliance.
For each natural gas SI ICE not certified to the applicable emission standards identified in 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart JJJJ, and subject to the performance testing requirements of 40 CFR 60.4243(b)(2), the permittee shall submit a copy of the results of each performance test conducted to demonstrate compliance within 60 days after the test has been completed.
[40 CFR 60.4245(d)]
f) Testing Requirements
Compliance with the Emission Limitations and/or Control Requirements specified in section b) of these terms and conditions shall be determined in accordance with the following methods.
The SI engines shall meet the applicable emissions standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4233 and/or the applicable emission limits established through Best Available Technology as identified in this permit.  Engines greater than 100 HP shall not exceed the emission standards identified in Table 1 to Subpart JJJJ and engines less than 100 HP shall not exceed the applicable standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4231, as required per 40 CFR 60.4233, all as applicable to each engine’s horsepower and model year.  In order to maintain the facility below major source thresholds and significant impact levels, engines shall be retrofitted with controls that can demonstrate the emission limits established in this permit are met.
For each natural gas engine purchased without an EPA certificate of conformity (most engines >25 HP), the permittee shall conduct or have conducted an initial performance test to demonstrate compliance with the NSPS standards for NOx, CO, and VOC; and for each engine greater than 500 HP, subsequent performance tests shall be conducted every 8,760 hours or 3 years, whichever comes first.
[40 CFR 60.4243(b)(2)]
Emission Limitation:
Visible particulate emissions from the exhaust stack serving this emissions unit shall not exceed 20% opacity, as a six-minute average, except as specified by rule.
Applicable Compliance Method:
If required, compliance shall be determined through visible emission observations performed in accordance with U.S. EPA Reference Method 9 in 40 CFR, Part 60, Appendix A.
Emissions Limitations:
Particulate Emissions (PE) shall not exceed 0.062 lb/MMBtu
Applicable Compliance Method:
The following calculations could be used in order to estimate annual emissions for reporting purposes and they would be adjusted based on the hours of operation:
0.062 lb PE/MMBtu x 8,000 Btu/HP-hr x 5,000 HP = 2.48 lbs PE/hr
2.48 lbs PE/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 10.86 tons PE/year
If required, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance with the emission limitations through exhaust emission tests performed in accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, Methods 1 through 5.
[OAC 3745-17-11(B)(5)] and [OAC 3745-31-05(F) for engines ≤ 600 HP]
Emissions Limitations:
1.0 gram NOx /HP-hr for all engines where the total engine power is ≤ 2,500 HP; or
0.5 gram NOx /HP-hr for all engines where the total engine power is > 2,500 HP; and/or
the combination of SI engines shall be calculated to not exceed 5.51 lbs NOx/hour, based on the summation of the emission stack test results and/or the pound per hour emissions calculated from the emission rate certified by the manufacturer.
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emission limitations are based on the exhaust emission standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4231(e) and/or the applicable emission limits established through Best Available Technology as identified in this permit, and in order to maintain NOx emissions below significant levels.  If not certified by the manufacturer, compliance with the applicable g/HP-hr NOx limit, for each non-emergency spark ignition engine located at the compressor station, shall be demonstrated through performance/stack testing, using the applicable compliance methods identified in Part 60 Subpart JJJJ.  The combination of SI engines together shall be calculated to not exceed 5.51 lbs NOx/hour, based on the summation of the emission stack test results and/or the pound per hour NOx emissions calculated from the emission rate certified by the manufacturer.
Where the sum of the total HP of the facility SI ICE is no greater than 2,500 HP, the following calculation establishes the pound per hour emissions of NOx from the spark ignition engines covered in this permit:
1.0 g NOx/HP-hr x 2,500 HP x 1lb/454 g = 5.51 lbs NOx/hr
Where the sum of the total HP of the SI ICE exceeds 2,500 HP, an average NOx limit between 1.0 gram/HP-hr and 0.5 gram/HP-hr shall be required in order to meet the 5.51 lbs/hour NOx limitation established in this permit.  The average emissions of NOx (in gram/HP-hr) shall be calculated as follows:
n
Average g NOx/HP-hr = ∑ [g/HP-hr x HP] / total HP
n=1
Where:
g/HP-hr = the standard to which each natural gas engine is certified
HP = the horsepower of each individual natural gas engine
total HP = the total horsepower or summation of the horsepower of each natural gas engine
n = number of natural gas engines at the compressor station
The following calculation establishes the maximum pound per hour emissions of NOx from the spark ignition engines covered in this permit where the summation of the horsepower exceeds 2,500 HP, and where the average emissions of NOx is maintained at or below 0.5 gram/HP-hr:
0.5 g NOx/HP-hr x 5,000 HP x 1 lb/454 g = 5.51 lbs NOx/hr
In any case, the summation of the emissions of NOx from all of the spark ignition engines in operation shall not exceed 2501.5 grams in any hour.
The following calculation could be used in order to estimate annual emissions for reporting purposes and it would be adjusted based on the hours of operation:
5.51 lbs NOx/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 24.1 tons NOx/year
When required, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance with the NOx limitation according to the requirements of 40 CFR 60.4244, using the applicable test methods in Table 2 to Part 60 Subpart JJJJ.
[40 CFR 60.4233(e)], [40 CFR 60.4243(b)(2)]. [40 CFR 60.4244], and [Table 1 to Part 60 Subpart JJJJ]
Emissions Limitations:
2.0 grams CO/HP-hr for all engines where the total engine power is ≤ 2,500 HP; or
1.0 gram CO/HP-hr for all engines where the total engine power is > 2,500 HP; and/or
the combination of SI engines shall be calculated to not exceed 11.0 lbs CO/hour, based on the summation of the emission stack test results and/or the pound per hour CO emissions calculated from the emission rate certified by the manufacturer.
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emission limitations are based on the exhaust emission standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4231(e) and/or the applicable emission limits established through Best Available Technology as identified in this permit, and in order to maintain the facility under major source thresholds.  If not certified by the manufacturer, compliance with the applicable g/HP-hr CO limit, for each non-emergency spark ignition engine located at the compressor station, shall be demonstrated through performance/stack testing, using the applicable compliance methods identified in Part 60 Subpart JJJJ.  The combination of SI engines together shall be calculated to not exceed 11.0 lbs CO/hour, based on the summation of the emission stack test results and/or the pound per hour CO emissions calculated from the emission rate certified by the manufacturer.
Where the sum of the total HP of the facility SI ICE is no greater than 2,500 HP, the following calculation establishes the pound per hour emissions of CO from the spark ignition engines covered in this permit:
2.0 g CO/HP-hr x 2,500 HP x 1lb/454 g = 11.0 lbs CO/hr
Where the sum of the total HP of the SI ICE exceeds 2,500 HP, an average CO limit between 2.0 grams/HP-hr and 1.0 gram/HP-hr shall be required in order to meet the 11.0 lbs/hour CO limitation established in this permit.  The average emissions of CO (in grams/HP-hr) shall be calculated as follows:
n
Average g CO/HP-hr = ∑ [g/HP-hr x HP] / total HP
n=1
Where:
g/HP-hr = the standard to which each natural gas engine is certified
HP = the horsepower of each individual natural gas engine
total HP = the total horsepower or summation of the horsepower of each natural gas engine
n = number of natural gas engines at the compressor station
The following calculation establishes the maximum pound per hour emissions of CO from the spark ignition engines covered in this permit where the summation of the horsepower exceeds 2,500 HP, and where the average emissions of CO is maintained at or below 1.0 gram/HP-hr:
1.0 g CO/HP-hr x 5,000 HP x 1lb/454 g = 11.0 lbs CO/hr.
In any case, the summation of the emissions of CO from all of the spark ignition engines in operation shall not exceed 4994.0 grams in any hour.
The following calculation could be used in order to estimate annual emissions for reporting purposes and it would be adjusted based on the hours of operation:
11.0 lbs CO/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 48.2 tons CO/year
When required, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance with the CO limitation according to the requirements of 40 CFR 60.4244, using the applicable test methods in Table 2 to Part 60 Subpart JJJJ.
[40 CFR 60.4233(e)], [40 CFR 60.4243(b)(2)]. [40 CFR 60.4244], and [Table 1 to Part 60 Subpart JJJJ]
Emissions Limitations:
0.7 gram VOC/HP-hr for all engines where the total engine power is ≤ 2,500 HP; or
0.35 gram VOC/HP-hr for all engines where the total engine power is > 2,500 HP; and/or
the combination of SI engines shall be calculated to not exceed 3.86 lbs VOC/hour, based on the summation of the emission stack test results and/or the pound per hour CO emissions calculated from the emission rate certified by the manufacturer
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emission limitations are based on the exhaust emission standards identified in 40 CFR 60.4231(e) and/or the applicable emission limits established through Best Available Technology as identified in this permit.  If not certified by the manufacturer, compliance with the applicable g/HP-hr VOC limit, for each non-emergency spark ignition engine located at the compressor station, shall be demonstrated through performance/stack testing, using the applicable compliance methods identified in Part 60 Subpart JJJJ.  The combination of SI engines together shall be calculated to not exceed 3.86 lbs VOC/hour, based on the summation of the emission stack test results and/or the pound per hour VOC emissions calculated from the emission rate certified by the manufacturer.
Where the sum of the total HP of the facility SI ICE is no greater than 2,500 HP, the following calculation establishes the pound per hour emissions of VOC from the spark ignition engines covered in this permit:
0.7 g NOx/HP-hr x 2,500 HP x 1lb/454 g = 3.86 lbs VOC/hr
Where the sum of the total HP of the SI ICE exceeds 2,500 HP, an average VOC limit between 0.7 gram/HP-hr and 0.35 gram/HP-hr shall be required in order to meet the 3.86 lbs/hour VOC limitation established in this permit.  The average emissions of VOC (in gram/HP-hr) shall be calculated as follows:
n
Average g VOC/HP-hr = ∑ [g/HP-hr x HP] / total HP
n=1
Where:
g/HP-hr = the standard to which each natural gas engine is certified
HP = the horsepower of each individual natural gas engine
total HP = the total horsepower or summation of the horsepower of each natural gas engine
n = number of natural gas engines at the compressor station
The following calculation establishes the maximum pound per hour emissions of VOC from the spark ignition engines covered in this permit where the summation of the horsepower exceeds 2,500 HP, and where the average emissions of VOC is maintained at or below 0.35 gram/HP-hr:
0.35 g VOC/HP-hr x 5,000 HP x 1 lb/454 g = 3.86 lbs VOC/hr
In any case, the summation of the emissions of VOC from all of the spark ignition engines in operation shall not exceed 1752.4 grams in any hour.
The following calculation could be used in order to estimate annual emissions for reporting purposes and it would be adjusted based on the hours of operation:
3.86 lbs VOC/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 16.9 tons VOC/year
When required, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance with the VOC limitation according to the requirements of 40 CFR 60.4244, using the applicable test methods in Table 2 to Part 60 Subpart JJJJ.
[40 CFR 60.4233(e)], [40 CFR 60.4243(b)(2)]. [40 CFR 60.4244], and [Table 1 to Part 60 Subpart JJJJ]
Emission Limitation:
7.2 tons of SO2/year
Applicable Compliance Method:
The SO2 emissions limitation is based on a fuel gas with a maximum H2S content of 250 ppmv for sour gas.
Compliance with the ton per year SO2 emissions limitation shall be determined by the following calculations:
5,000 HP x 8000 Btu/HP-hr x 1 scf/1020 Btu x 1 lb-mole/379.5 scf x 250 ppm H2S x 64 lb SO2/lb-mole = 1.65 lb SO2/hr
1.65 lb SO2/hr x 8760 hrs/year x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 7.2 tons SO2/year.
g) Miscellaneous Requirements
0. Replacement of or Installation of Additional Engines
The permittee may install additional stationary engines or replace existing engines at any time during the life of this permit as long as the following are met:
at any given time, the total horsepower of all natural gas engines in service at the compressor station is no more than 5,000 HP;
all natural gas engines in service at the compressor station meet the applicable NSPS emission standards as identified in the NSPS and this permit, and all applicable State or Federal rules; 
the permittee maintains a list of all stationary natural gas engines used at the compressor station; and
the permittee continues to meet the qualifying criteria associated with the natural gas engines for this general permit.
Stack Height of Stationary Natural Gas Engines
Any engine with greater or equal to 250 HP shall be equipped with an exhaust stack that is at least 20’ above ground level.
Any engine with less than 250 HP shall be equipped with an exhaust stack that is at least 12’ above ground level.


Emissions Unit:  Compression Ignition Engines, P003
	Operations, Property and/or Equipment Description:
	[bookmark: ptiostart]P003
	One or multiple stationary diesel-fired compression ignition (CI) (diesel) internal combustion engines (ICE) with a combined total horsepower (HP) of no more than 250 HP for the compressor station [footnoteRef:2], and that are either certified to meet the Tier 3 emission standards (from 40 CFR 60.89.112 Table 1) for diesel engines or retrofitted with a control device that demonstrates each engine meets the Tier 3 standards. [2:  This emissions unit does not include various portable engines that are temporarily used on the site nor does it include engines that are exempt from permitting.  For instance, any engines qualifying for the non-road exemption found in Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) paragraph 3745-31-03(A)(1)(pp) would not be covered by this permit.
 Note:  The worst case emission standards for diesel-fired engines less than 300 HP were used to establish the emissions limitation.  However, each engine shall be required to meet the applicable Tier 3 emission standards (or Tier 2 standards for engines <50 HP) from Table 1 of 40 CFR 89.112.] 




2. This permit document constitutes a permit-to-install issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(F) and a permit-to-operate issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(G).
1. For the purpose of a permit-to-install document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are federally enforceable with the exception of those listed below which are enforceable under state law only.
(a) None.
For the purpose of a permit-to-operate document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are enforceable under state law only with the exception of those listed below which are federally enforceable.
1. 3.b)(1)a.
Applicable Emissions Limitations and/or Control Requirements
1. The specific operation(s), property, and/or equipment that constitute each emissions unit along with the applicable rules and/or requirements and with the applicable emissions limitations and/or control measures are identified below.  Emissions from each unit shall not exceed the listed limitations, and the listed control measures shall be specified in narrative form following the table
	
	Applicable Rules/Requirements
	Applicable Emissions Limitations/Control Measures

	a.
	40 CFR Part 60, Subpart IIII
40 CFR 60.4204(b)
40 CFR 60.4201(a)
Table 1 to 40 CFR 89.112, Tier 3
	The exhaust emissions from any compression ignition (CI) internal combustion engine (ICE) shall not exceed the appropriate Tier 3 emission standards identified in Table 1 to 40 CFR 89.112.  The emission limitations are based on the following worst-case Tier 3 emission standards for engines greater than or equal to 50 HP:
0.40 gram PM/kW-hr;
4.7 grams NOx + NMHC/kW-hr; and
5.0 grams CO/kW-hr.
See b)(2)c.

	b.
	40 CFR 60.4207(b)
40 CFR 80.510(b)
	The sulfur content of the diesel fuel burned in this engine shall not exceed 15 ppm or 0.0015% sulfur by weight.
See b)(2)c., c)(2), d)(1), and e)(2).

	c.
	40 CFR 89.113
	Engine(s) subject to Part 60, Subpart IIII shall be certified by the manufacturer to the following opacity standards:
20% opacity during the acceleration mode;
15% opacity during the lugging mode; and
50% opacity during the peaks in either the acceleration or lugging modes.

	d.
	OAC rule 3745-18-06
	The SO2 limitation established per this rule is less stringent than the limitation established in 40 CFR 80.510(b).

	e.
	OAC rule 3745-17-07(A)(1)
	Visible particulate emissions from the exhaust stack serving this engine shall not exceed 20% opacity, as a six-minute average, except as specified by rule.

	f.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective 11/30/01
	Compliance with the applicable gram/kW-hr limits found in 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart IIII for PM, NOx + NMHC, and CO.
See b)(2)a.

	g.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3)(a)(ii), as effective 12/01/06
	See b)(2)b.

	h.
	OAC rule 3745-17-11(B)(5)
	The emission limitation specified by this rule is less stringent than the emission limitation established for PM pursuant to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart IIII.

	i.
	40 CFR Part 60 Subpart IIII
40 CFR 60.4202
	All CI ICE shall meet all applicable NSPS requirements where the model year is subject to these standards and older engines shall be fitted with a control device that demonstrates the Tier 3 standards are met.



Additional Terms and Conditions
The permittee has satisfied the Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements pursuant to OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective November 30, 2001, in this permit.  On December 1, 2006, paragraph (A)(3) of OAC rule 3745-31-05 was revised to conform to the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) changes effective August 3, 2006 (Senate Bill 265 changes), such that BAT is no longer required by State regulations for National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) pollutant(s) less than ten tons per year.  However, that rule revision has not yet been approved by U.S. EPA as a revision to Ohio’s State Implementation Plan (SIP).  Therefore, until the SIP revision occurs and the U.S. EPA approves the revisions to OAC rule 3745-31-05, the requirement to satisfy BAT still exists as part of the federally-approved SIP for Ohio.  Once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of OAC rule 3745-31-05 these emission limitations/control measures no longer apply.
This rule applies once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of OAC rule 3745-31-05 as part of the State Implementation Plan.
The Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements under OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3) do not apply to the PM, NOx, CO, and VOC emissions from this air contaminant source since the uncontrolled potential to emit for PM, NOx, CO, and VOC are less than ten tons per year.
The stationary compression ignition (CI) internal combustion engine (ICE) is subject to and shall be operated in compliance with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart IIII, the standards of performance for stationary CI ICE.
[40 CFR 60.4200(a)]
The stationary CI ICE has been or shall be purchased certified by the manufacturer to emission standards as stringent as those identified in 40 CFR 60.4201(a) and found in Tier 3 of 40 CFR 89.112, Table 1, for engines greater than or equal to 50 horsepower (37 kilowatt) and less than or equal to 250 horsepower (186 kilowatt), and to the opacity standards found in 40 CFR 89.113.
[40 CFR 60.4204(b)], [40 CFR 60.4201(a)], [40 CFR 60.4203], and [40 CFR 60.4211(c)]
The quality of the diesel fuel burned in this engine shall meet the following specifications on an “as received” basis:
a sulfur content which is sufficient to comply with the allowable sulfur dioxide emission limitation of 0.0015 pound sulfur dioxide/MMBtu actual heat input; and 15 ppm sulfur or 0.0015% sulfur by weight;
a minimum cetane index of 40 or a maximum aromatic content of 35 volume percent; and
a heating value greater than 135,000 Btu/gallon.
Compliance with the above-mentioned specifications shall be determined by using the analytical results provided by the permittee or oil supplier for each shipment of oil.
[40 CFR 60.4207(b)] and [40 CFR 80.510(b)]
Operational Restrictions
1. The stationary CI ICE shall be installed, operated, and maintained according to the manufacturer’s emission-related written instructions over the entire life of the engine; and the permittee shall only change those emission–related settings that are allowed by the manufacturer.  The CI ICE must also be installed and operated to meet the applicable requirements from 40 CFR Part 89, Control of Emissions from New and In-use Non-road CI ICE and Part 1068, the General Compliance Provisions for Engine Programs.  The permittee shall operate and maintain the stationary CI ICE to achieve the Tier 3 emission standards in Table 1 to 40 CFR 89.112, as required per 40 CFR 60.4204.
[40 CFR 60.4206] and [40 CFR 60.4211(a)]
Diesel fuel burned in the CI, ICE shall not exceed the standards for sulfur as specified by 40 CFR 80.510(b), i.e., the maximum sulfur content of diesel fuel shall not exceed 15 ppm or 0.0015% sulfur by weight.
[40 CFR 60.4207(b)] and [40 CFR 80.510(b)]
If the stationary CI internal combustion engine is equipped with a diesel particulate filter to comply with the emission standards in 40 CFR 60.4204, the diesel particulate filter must be installed with a backpressure monitor that notifies the permittee when the high backpressure limit of the engine is approached.
[40 CFR 60.4209(b)]
The summation of engine power from all the diesel engines installed at the compressor station shall not exceed 250 HP.
Monitoring and/or Recordkeeping Requirements
1. For each shipment of oil received for burning in this engine, the permittee shall maintain records of the total quantity of the diesel oil received and the oil supplier's (or permittee’s) analyses for sulfur content, in parts per million (40 CFR 80.510) or percent by weight.  The permittee shall perform or require the supplier to perform the analyses for sulfur content and heat content in accordance with 40 CFR 80.580, using the appropriate ASTM methods.  These records shall be retained for a minimum of 5 years and shall be available for inspection by the Director or his/her representative.
[for 40 CFR 60.4207(b)]
The permittee shall maintain the manufacturer’s certification or compliant test data for non-certified engines, to the applicable Tier 3 emission standards in Table 1 of 40 CFR 89.112 at a central location for all facility ICE and it shall be made available for review upon request.  If the manufacturer’s certification is not kept on site, the permittee shall maintain a log for the location of each ICE and it shall identify the agency-assigned emissions unit number, the manufacturer’s identification number, and the identification number of the certificate.  The permittee or owner/operator (if leased) of the engines shall keep a maintenance plan and records of the maintenance conducted on each engine, to include documentation that the engine is maintained and operated according the manufacturer’s emission-related instructions.
[40 CFR 60.4211]
The permittee shall maintain a record of the diesel fuel burned in each ICE during each calendar year.  The diesel fuel usage shall be calculated using the best method available to estimate the annual fuel consumption of each engine, which might include, but are not be limited to:  a flow meter installed on the engine, records of the volume of diesel fuel oil received with each delivery, the fuel oil levels recorded from the diesel storage tank, and/or the recorded or estimated hours of operation along with the manufacture’s documentation of the estimated fuel flow rate.
If the stationary CI internal combustion engine is equipped with a diesel particulate filter to comply with the emission standards in 40 CFR 60.4204, the permittee shall keep records of the date, time, and any corrective action(s) taken in response to the notification from the backpressure monitor, that the high backpressure limit of the engine has been approached or exceeded.
[40 CFR 60.4214(c)]
The permittee shall maintain a record of visible emission checks for the stack of diesel engines.  The record shall be documented during maintenance operations.
Reporting Requirements
1. The permittee shall submit an annual Permit Evaluation Report (PER) to the Ohio EPA District Office or Local Air Agency by the due date identified in the Authorization section of this permit.  The permit evaluation report shall cover a reporting period of no more than twelve months for each air contaminant source identified in this permit.  It is recommended that the PER is submitted electronically through the Ohio EPA’s “e-Business Center: Air Services” although PERs can be submitted via U.S. postal service or can be hand delivered.
[OAC 3745-15-03(B)(2) and (D)]
The permittee shall identify in the PER:
each CI engine located (and operated) at the compressor station during the year, to include the year of manufacture and/or year rebuilt, the horse power;
a statement as to whether each engine was purchased certified by the manufacturer, in accordance with the Subpart IIII, i.e., the manufacturer has provided a warranty for the emissions when the engine was first sold;
a statement as to whether each engine was operated and maintained in accordance with the manufacturers emission-related instructions;
the date each uncertified SI engine was tested for compliance with the Tier 3 emission standards from 40 CFR 89.112;
identification of any uncertified engine that did not meet the applicable Tier 3 emission standards, to include the horse power and year of manufacture and/or year rebuilt; and
any period of time that the quality of oil burned in each engine did not meet the requirements established in 40 CFR 80.510(b), based upon the required fuel records, to include the amount burned, the engine combusting it, the date(s), and the date the non-compliant fuel was purchased*.
* if the fuel oil is purchased before 10/1/10, the amendments of 1/30/13 allow the fuel to be used until depleted
[40 CFR 60.4207(b)] and [40 CFR 80.510(b)]
If the stationary CI internal combustion engine is equipped with a diesel particulate filter to comply with the emission standards in 40 CFR 60.4204, the permittee shall include in the PER any records of the date, time, and any corrective action(s) taken in response to the notification from the monitor that the backpressure has been approached or exceeded.
[for 40 CFR 60.4214(c)]
Testing Requirements
Compliance with the Emission Limitations and/or Control Requirements specified in section b) of these terms and conditions shall be determined in accordance with the following methods:
1. Emission Limitation:
Manufacturer’s certification requirements related to opacity include:
20% opacity during the acceleration mode;
15% opacity during the lugging mode; and
50% opacity during the peaks in either the acceleration or lugging modes.
Applicable Compliance Method:
The CI ICE subject to the standards in 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart IIII shall be purchased certified by the manufacturer to the opacity standards of 40 CFR 89.113.
[40 CFR 60.4204(b)], [40 CFR 60.4201(a)], and [40 CFR 89.113]
Emission Limitation:
Visible particulate emissions from the exhaust stack serving this engine shall not exceed 20 %opacity, as a six-minute average, except as specified by rule.
Applicable Compliance Method:
Visible emission checks shall be conducted following the completion of maintenance operations.  Compliance shall be determined through visible emission observations performed in accordance with U.S. EPA Reference Method 9 in 40 CFR, Part 60, Appendix A.
[OAC rule 3745-17-07(A)(1)]
Emission Limitation:
0.40 gram PM/kW-hr
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the applicable g/kW-hr emissions standard shall be based on the manufacturer’s certification to the standards applicable to each engine and by maintaining the engine according to the manufacturer’s specifications.  The g/kW-hr standard above is the worst-case Tier 3 exhaust emission standards from Table 1 of 40 CFR 89.112 for diesel engines between 50 and 300 horsepower (37 and 225 kilowatts).  An uncertified engine shall either be stack tested following installation or test data shall be submitted to demonstrate compliance with the appropriate limit based on the horsepower.
The following calculation could be used in order to estimate annual emissions for reporting purposes and it would be adjusted based on the hours of operation:
0.40 g PM/kw-hr x kw/1.341 HP x 1 lb/454g x 250 HP = 0.164 lb PM/hr
0.164 lb PM/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 0.72 ton PM/year
If required, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance with the emission limitations through performance tests conducted in accordance with the provisions in f)(8)below.
[40 CFR 60.4204(b)], [40 CFR 60.4201(a)], [40 CFR 60.4211(c)], and [40 CFR 60.4212(a) and (c)]
Emissions Limitations:
4.7 grams NOx + NMHC/kW-hr
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the applicable g/kW-hr emissions standard shall be based on the manufacturer’s certification to the standards applicable to each engine and by maintaining the engine according to the manufacturer’s specifications.  The g/kW-hr standard above is the worst-case Tier 3 exhaust emission standards from Table 1 of 40 CFR 89.112 for diesel engines between 50 and 300 horsepower (37 and 225 kilowatts).  An uncertified engine shall either be stack tested following installation or test data shall be submitted to demonstrate compliance with the appropriate limit based on the horsepower.
For the purpose of reporting emissions, where the limitation is for NOx + NMHC, the NOx and VOC limitations shall be calculated using a ratio of 74.6% NOx to 25.4% VOC:*
4.7 g NOx+NMHC/kW-hr x 74.6% NOx* = 3.5 grams NOx/kW-hr.
The following calculation could be used in order to estimate annual emissions for reporting purposes and it would be adjusted based on the hours of operation:
3.5 g NOx/kw-hr x kw/1.341 HP x 1 lb/454g x 250 HP = 1.44 lbs NOx/hr
1.44 lbs NOx/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 6.3 tons NOx/year
If required, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance with the emission limitations through performance tests conducted in accordance with the provisions in f)(8)below.
[40 CFR 60.4204(b)], [40 CFR 60.4201(a)], [40 CFR 60.4211(c)], and [40 CFR 60.4212(a) and (c)]
Emissions Limitations:
5.0 grams CO/kW-hr
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the applicable g/kW-hr emissions standard shall be based on the manufacturer’s certification to the standards applicable to each engine and by maintaining the engine according to the manufacturer’s specifications.  The g/kW-hr standard above is the worst-case Tier 3 exhaust emission standards from Table 1 of 40 CFR 89.112 for diesel engines between 50 and 300 horsepower (37 and 225 kilowatts).  An uncertified engine shall either be stack tested following installation or test data shall be submitted to demonstrate compliance with the appropriate limit based on the horsepower.
The following calculation could be used in order to estimate annual emissions for reporting purposes and it would be adjusted based on the hours of operation:
5.0 g CO/kw-hr x kw/1.341 HP x 1 lb/454g x 250 HP = 2.05 lbs CO/hr
2.05 lbs CO/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 9.0 tons CO/year
If required, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance with the emission limitations through performance tests conducted in accordance with the provisions in f)(8)below.
[40 CFR 60.4204(b)], [40 CFR 60.4201(a)], [40 CFR 60.4211(c)] and [40 CFR 60.4212(a) and (c)]
Emissions Limitations:
4.7 grams NOx + NMHC/kW-hr
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the emission limitations shall be based on the manufacturer’s certification and by maintaining the engine according to the manufacturer’s specifications.  The g/kW-hr limitation is the worst-case Tier 3 exhaust emission standards from Table 1 of 40 CFR 89.112 for diesel engines between 50 and 300 horsepower (37 and 225 kilowatts).  An uncertified engine shall either be stack tested following installation or test data shall be submitted to demonstrate compliance with the appropriate limit based on the horsepower.
For the purpose of reporting emissions, where the limitation is for NOx + NMHC, the NOx and VOC limitations shall be calculated using a ratio of 74.6% NOx to 25.4% VOC*:
4.7 g NOx+NMHC/kW-hr x 25.4% NMHC* = 1.19 gram VOC/kW-hr.
The following calculation could be used in order to estimate annual emissions for reporting purposes and it would be adjusted based on the hours of operation:
1.19 g VOC/kw-hr x kw/1.341 HP x 1 lb/454g x 250 HP = 0.49 lb VOC/hr
0.49 lb VOC/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 2.15 tons VOC/year
If required, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance with the emission limitations through performance tests conducted in accordance with the provisions in f)(8)below.
[40 CFR 60.4204(b)], [40 CFR 60.4201(a)], [40 CFR 60.4211(c)], and [40 CFR 60.4212(a) and (c)]
*This ratio is based upon the linear relationship of NOx to NMHC from Table 1 of Subpart IIII, Table 1 from 40 CFR 89.112, to Tables 4, 5, and 6 from 40 CFR 1039.102.
Emissions Limitation:
Sulfur content 15 ppm or < 0.0015% by weight sulfur
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance shall be demonstrated through the record keeping requirements for the sulfur content of each shipment of diesel oil received.  If meeting the standards in 40 CFR 80.510(b), this calculates to approximately 0.0015 lb SO2/MMBtu.
[40 CFR 60.4207(b)] and [40 CFR 80.510(b)]
If it is determined by Ohio EPA that a compliance demonstration is required through performance testing, i.e., the engine is not certified or not operated in accordance with the manufacturer’s emission-related instructions, it shall be conducted using one of the following test methods or procedures:
in accordance with 40 CFR 60.4212, conduct the exhaust emissions testing using the in-use testing procedures found in 40 CFR Part 1039, Subpart F, measuring the emissions of the regulated pollutants as specified in 40 CFR Part 1065; or
in accordance with 40 CFR 60.4213, conduct exhaust emissions testing using the test methods identified in Table 7 to Subpart IIII of Part 60.
If demonstrating compliance through the in-use testing procedures in 40 CFR Part 1039, Subpart F, exhaust emissions from the stationary CI ICE shall not exceed the “not to exceed” (NTE) numerical requirements, rounded to the same number of decimal places as the applicable standard in 40 CFR 89.112, determined from the following equation:
NTE requirement for each pollutant = 1.25 x STD
Where:
STD = The standard specified for the pollutant in 40 CFR 89.112.
[40 CFR 60.4212(a) and (c)]
Miscellaneous Requirements
1. [bookmark: ptioend]Replacement of or Installation of Additional Engines
The permittee may install additional stationary compression ignition engines or replace existing stationary compression ignition engines at any time during the life of this permit as long as the following are met:
at any given time, the total horsepower of all stationary compression ignition engines in service at the compressor station is no more than 250 HP;
all stationary compression ignition engines in service at the compressor station meet all applicable NSPS emission standards identified in the NSPS and this permit, and all applicable State or Federal rules; 
the permittee maintains a list of all stationary compression ignition engines used at the compressor station; and
the permittee continues to meet the qualifying criteria associated with the stationary compression ignition engines for this general permit.
Stack Height of Stationary Compression Ignition Engines
Each stationary compression ignition engine shall be equipped with an exhaust stack that is at least 12’ above ground level.


1. [Emissions Unit ID], [Company Equipment ID]
	Operations, Property and/or Equipment Description:
Reciprocating Compressor(s) constructed, modified, or reconstructed after 8/23/11 and located between the wellhead and the point of custody transfer to the natural transmission and storage segment.
a) This permit document constitutes a permit-to-install issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(F) and a permit-to-operate issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(G).
(1) For the purpose of a permit-to-install document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are federally enforceable with the exception of those listed below which are enforceable under state law only.
(a) None.
(2) For the purpose of a permit-to-operate document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are enforceable under state law only with the exception of those listed below which are federally enforceable.
(a) None
b) Applicable Emissions Limitations and/or Control Requirements
The specific operations(s), property, and/or equipment that constitute each emissions unit along with the applicable rules and/or requirements and with the applicable emissions limitations and/or control measures.  Emissions from each unit shall not exceed the listed limitations, and the listed control measures shall be specified in narrative form following the table.
	
	Applicable Rules/Requirements
	Applicable Emissions Limitations/Control Measures

	a.
	40 CFR Part 60 Subpart OOOO
In accordance with 40 CFR 63.5365(c), this emissions unit is a reciprocating compressor subject to the Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, Transmission, and Distribution.
40 CFR 60.5385
	The reciprocating compressor, constructed, modified, or reconstructed after 8/23/11 and located between the wellhead and the point of custody transfer to the natural transmission and storage segment, shall meet the requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart OOOO no later than 10/15/12 or upon initial startup following that date; and by tracking either the hours of operation or number of months between compressor rod packing replacement.

	b.
	OAC rule 3745-18-04
	The SO2 emission rate from well site natural gas exceeds the limit for sweetened pipe-line quality fuel gas; therefore the SO2 emissions limit were based on sour gas with a maximum H2S content of 250 ppmv and emissions have been determined to be de minimis from compressor seal leaks.

	c.
	OAC rule 3745-17-07(A)(1)
	The visible particulate emissions limitation from this rule would not be appropriate for compressor.

	d.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3)
	Compliance with 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart OOOO.
No visible emissions from compressor seals.
See b)(2)a.
See emission unit F001.



1. Additional Terms and Conditions
The permittee has satisfied the Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements pursuant to OAC paragraph 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective November 30, 2001, in this permit.  On December 1, 2006, paragraph (A)(3) of OAC rule 3745-31-05 was revised to conform to ORC changes effective August 3, 2006 (S.B. 265 changes), such that BAT is no longer required by State regulation for NAAQS pollutant less than ten tons per year.  However, that rule revision has not yet been approved by U.S. EPA as a revision to Ohio’s State Implementation Plan (SIP).  Therefore, until the SIP revision occurs and the U.S. EPA approves the revision to OAC rule 3745-31-05, the requirement to satisfy BAT still exists as part of the federally–approved SIP for Ohio.  Once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of OAC rule 3745-31-05 as part of the State Implementation Plan, the Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements under OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3) will not apply to the VOC and SO2 emissions from this air contaminant source since the potential to emit for VOC and SO2 are less than ten tons per year.
[OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3)]

c) Operational Restrictions
1. Beginning on 10/15/12 or upon initial startup if the reciprocation compressor is installed after this date, the permittee shall replace the reciprocating compressor rod packing every 26,000 hours of operation; or if not tracking the hours of operation, within 36 months following 10/15/12 or the date of startup (whichever is later), and every 36 months from the date of the last rod packing replacement.
[40 CFR 60.5385(a)], [40 CFR 60.5410(c)], [40 CFR 60.5415(c)(3)], and [40 CFR 60.5370(a)]

d) Monitoring and/or Recordkeeping Requirements
1. Beginning on 10/15/12 or upon initial startup if the reciprocation compressor is installed after this date, the permittee shall either continuously monitor and record the number of hours of operation or track the number of months since the last rod packing replacement.  Records shall be maintained of the date of the replacement of the compressor rod packing for each reciprocation compressor in operation at the facility.  Records of deviations from the 26,000 hours or 36 months of operation between rod packing replacements shall also be maintained.  These records shall be retained for at least 5 years.  The permittee shall also check each compressor seal annually for leaks.
[40 CFR 60.5420(c)(3)], [40 CFR 60.5385(b) and (d)], [40 CFR 60.5410(c)(1) and (4)], [40 CFR 60.5415(c)(1)], and with [ORC 3704.03(T)]

e) Reporting Requirements
1. The permittee shall submit an annual Permit Evaluation Report (PER) to the Ohio EPA District Office or Local Air Agency by the due date identified in the Authorization section of this permit.  The permit evaluation report shall cover a reporting period of no more than twelve-months for each air contaminant source identified in this permit.  It is recommended that the PER is submitted electronically through the Ohio EPA’s “e-Business Center:  Air Services” although PERs can be submitted via U.S. postal service or can be hand delivered.
[OAC rule 3745-15-03(B)(2) and (D)]
The permittee shall submit an initial annual report within 90 days after the end of the initial compliance period as determined according to 40 CFR 60.5410.  Subsequent annual reports are due on the same date each year following the initial report.  The annual reports shall include the following information:
company name and address of the affected facility;
identification of each affected facility included in the annual report*;
beginning and ending dates of the reporting period;
the identification of each reciprocation compressor;
the cumulative number hours of operation or the number of months of operation since initial startup of the reciprocation compressor, since the effective date of the NSPS, or since the previous reciprocation compressor rod packing replacement, whichever is later;
records of any deviations from the 26,000 hours or 36 months of operation between rod packing replacements; and
certification of the responsible official of truth, accuracy, and completeness.
* One report for multiple affected facilities may be submitted provided the report contains all of the information required and clearly identified for each.
[40 CFR 60.5420(b)(1) and (4)], [40 CFR 60.5410(c)(2) and (3)], [40 CFR 60.5385(d)], and [40 CFR 60.5415(c)(2)]
The permittee shall submit to the appropriate district or local office of the EPA Division of Air Pollution Control notification of:
the date construction or reconstruction of the emissions unit is commenced, no later than 30 days after such date; and
notification of any physical or operational change to the existing facility which may increase the emission rate of any air pollutant to which the standard applies (unless that change is specifically exempted under the NSPS or in 40 CFR 60.14(e)) shall be postmarked 60 days before the change is commenced (or as soon as practicable) and shall include information describing the precise nature of the change, productive capacity of the facility before and after the change, and the expected completion date of the change.
The Director may request additional relevant information subsequent to this notice.
[40 CFR 60.5410(c)(2)] and [40 CFR 60.7(a)(1) and (4)]

f) Testing Requirements
1. Compliance with these terms and conditions shall be determined in accordance with the following methods:
Emissions Estimate and Subpart OOOO Standard:
Leak detection see emissions unit F001
NSPS Standards 
Applicable Compliance Method:
Leak detection may be conducted using a portable sampler in accordance with Method 21 or the permittee may use a FLIR camera to determine if there are emissions from compressor seals.  Following the repair of each leak, the location shall be reexamined or re-measured to document the repair was successful.  See term emission unit F001, term 6.f)(3).
Compliance with Part 60 Subpart OOOO is demonstrated by replacing the reciprocating compressor rod packing every 26,000 hours of operation or every 36 months and meeting the recordkeeping and reporting requirements of 40 CFR 60.5410(c) and 40 CFR 60.5415(c).
[40 CFR 60.5385(a)], [40 CFR 60.5410(c)(3)], and [40 CFR 60.5415(c)], with [ORC 3704.03(T)]
Emission Limitation:
There shall be no visible emissions from compressor seals
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the visible emissions limitation shall be determined in accordance with U.S. EPA Method 22 in Appendix A of 40 CFR Part 60.
[ORC 3704.03(T)]
g) Miscellaneous Requirements
1. Any amendment to Part 60, Subpart OOOO shall supersede the compliance limitations and/or options contained in this permit.




0. [bookmark: _Toc290973167]Emissions Unit:  Enclosed or Open Flare/Combustion Device, P004
Operations, Property and/or Equipment Description:
	P004
	Enclosed or Open Flare(s)/Combustion Device(s) with a maximum combined capacity heat input of no more than 250 MMBtu/hr and operated at no more than 10 MMBtu per hour combined heat input from all the sources vented to the combustion device(s), except during an emergency[footnoteRef:3] [3:  This emissions unit applies when a facility chooses to use an flare/combustion device to control VOCs emitted from the entire facility (including, but not limited to, flash vessel/storage tanks, truck loading for water and/or petroleum liquids, and the dehydrator).  If a separate flare is used to control dehydrator emissions, then the flare requirements found in the dehydrator emissions unit terms govern the dehydrator flare.] 




3. This permit document constitutes a permit-to-install issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(F) and a permit-to-operate issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(G).
For the purpose of a permit-to-install document, the emissions unit terms and conditions in this permit are federally enforceable, with the exception of those listed below, which are enforceable under state law only.
None.
For the purpose of a permit-to-operate document, the emissions unit terms and conditions in this permit are enforceable under state law only, with the exception of those listed below, which are federally enforceable.
4.b)(1)d. and 4.b)(1)e.
Applicable Emissions Limitations and/or Control Requirements
0. The specific operation(s), property, and/or equipment that constitute each emissions unit along with the applicable rules and/or requirements and with the applicable emissions limitations and/or control measures are identified below.  Emissions from each unit shall not exceed the listed limitations, and the listed control measures shall be specified in narrative form following the table.
	
	Applicable Rules/Requirements
	Applicable Emissions Limitations/Control Measures

	a.
	ORC 3704.03(T)
	For VOC and where applicable, compliance with the applicable control requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart OOOO, by having a designed minimum control efficiency of 95% for an enclosed flare/combustor.
Carbon monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 1.35 tons per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.

	b.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective 11/30/01
	Nitrogen Oxide (NOx) emissions shall not exceed 0.25 ton per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.
Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) emissions shall not exceed 0.51 ton month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.
Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) emissions shall not exceed 0.15 ton per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.
See b)(2)a.

	c.
	OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3)(a)(ii), as effective 12/01/06
	See b)(2)b.

	d.
	Part 63, Subpart HH, National Emission Standards for hazardous air pollutants (NESHAP) from Oil and Natural Gas Production Facilities

Control/operational requirements applicable to area source TEG dehydration units not meeting one of the exemptions found in 40 CFR 63.764(e).
	For a triethylene glycol dehydration unit subject to the standards, compliance with the applicable portions of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HH.  Design and operate the enclosed flare/combustion device in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 63.771(d)(1), i.e., reduce the mass content of either TOC or total HAP, in the gases vented to it (from the closed vent system), by 95% by weight or greater; or reduce the concentration of TOC or total HAP to less than or equal to 20 ppm by volume on a dry basis corrected to 3% oxygen, in accordance with 40 CFR 63.772(e); or design the open flare in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11(b).

	e.
	Part 60, Subpart OOOO, Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, Transmission, and Distribution

Control requirements applicable to each storage vessel constructed, modified, or reconstructed after 8/23/11 with potential VOC emissions equal to or greater than 6 tons/year.
	For a storage vessels subject to the standards, compliance with the applicable portions of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart OOOO. By the applicable compliance date, design and operate an enclosed combustion device in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1) to reduce the mass content of VOC by 95% by weight or greater; or install a combustion control device that’s model has been tested by the manufacturer in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d); or install an open flare designed in accordance with 40 CFR 60.18(b).

	f.
	OAC rule 3745-17-07(A)(1)(a)








40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1)(iii)








40 CFR 60.5413(e)(3)








	Where the potential VOC emissions from each storage vessel are determined to be less than 6 TPY or where using an open flare, visible particulate emissions from the exhaust stack of the combustion device serving the storage vessel(s) shall not exceed 20% opacity, as a six-minute average, except as specified by rule.

If required to install controls in accordance with 40 C FR 60.5393, an enclosed combustion device must be operated with no visible emissions except for periods not to exceed a total of 1 minute in any 15 minute period, conducting Method 22 once every calendar month.

If demonstrating compliance using a combustion control device that is performance tested by the manufacturer, in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), the combustion device must be operated with no visible emissions except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes in any 1 hour of operation, conducting Method 22 once per calendar quarter.



Additional Terms and Conditions
The permittee has satisfied the Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements pursuant to OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3), as effective November 30, 2001, in this permit.  On December 1, 2006, paragraph (A)(3) of OAC rule 3745-31-05 was revised to conform to the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) changes effective August 3, 2006 (Senate Bill 265 changes), such that BAT is no longer required by State regulations for National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) pollutant(s) less than ten tons per year.  However, that rule revision has not yet been approved by U.S. EPA as a revision to Ohio’s State Implementation Plan (SIP).  Therefore, until the SIP revision occurs and the U.S. EPA approves the revisions to OAC rule 3745-31-05, the requirement to satisfy BAT still exists as part of the federally-approved SIP for Ohio.  Once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of OAC rule 3745-31-05 these emissions limitations/control measures no longer apply.
This rule applies once U.S. EPA approves the December 1, 2006 version of OAC rule 3745-31-05 as part of the State Implementation Plan.
The Best Available Technology (BAT) requirements under OAC rule 3745-31-05(A)(3) do not apply to the PE, NOx, and SO2 emissions from this air contaminant source since the uncontrolled potential to emit for PE, NOx, and SO2 are less than ten tons per year.
Pit flaring is prohibited.
Operational Restrictions
0. The flare or combustion device shall be operated with a flame present at all times when gases are vented to it.
An automatic flame ignition system shall be installed to meet one of the following requirements:
If using a pilot flame ignition system, the presence of a pilot flame shall be monitored using a thermocouple or other equivalent device to detect the presence of a flame.  A pilot flame shall be maintained at all times in the flare’s pilot light burner.  If the pilot flame goes out and does not relight, then an alarm shall sound; or
If using an electric arc ignition system, the arcing of the electric arc ignition system shall pulse continually and a device shall be installed and used to continuously monitor the electric arc ignition system.
The flare, its auto ignition system, and its recorder shall be installed, calibrated, operated, and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations, instructions, and operating manuals.
If the dehydrator does not qualify for one of the exemptions found in 40 CFR Part 63.764(e) or if it has been determined that any storage vessel emits 6 tons or more of VOC per year, the enclosed flare/combustion device must be designed and operated to reduce VOC, TOC, or total HAP, as applicable, by 95% by weight; or the concentration of TOC or Total HAP, as applicable, to 20 ppm by volume on a dry basis and corrected to 3% oxygen, in accordance with the applicable rule; or the open flare shall be designed and operated in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11(b) or 40 CFR 60.18(b).
This flare/combustion device shall operate at no more than 10 MMBtu/hr heat input at all times except when a malfunction occurs, e.g., when excess gas must be safely disposed of by venting it to the flare/combustion device.
Monitoring and/or Recordkeeping Requirements
0. If the permittee is using the flare/combustion device to demonstrate compliance with 40 CFR 63.771(d) for the TEG dehydrator or to demonstrate compliance with 40 CFR 60.5412(d) for each storage vessel calculated to have VOC emission equal to or exceeding 6 tons per year, the permittee shall maintain the appropriate records to demonstrate that the enclosed flare/combustion device is designed and operated to reduce VOC, TOC, or total HAP by 95% by weight; or the concentration of TOC or Total HAP to 20 ppm by volume on a dry basis and corrected to 3% oxygen, all in accordance with the applicable rules; or shall maintain the records required to demonstrate that the open flare is designed and operated in accordance with 40 CFR 63.11(b) or 40 CFR 60.18(b), as applicable per federal rules.
The permittee shall:
continuously monitor the presence of the flame;
record all periods during which the automatic flare ignition system (pilot flame or electronic arc ignition system) or thermocouple was not working and gas was being vented to the flare/combustion device; and
record all periods of time during which gas was being vented to the flare/combustion device and there was no flame
The permittee shall maintain a record of all periods of time (date and number of hours) during which the flare/combustion device is burning collected gases at a heat input greater than 10 MMBtu per hour, along with a description of the emergency and/or the reason the heat input was greater than 10 MMBtu/hr.
Reporting Requirements
0. The permittee shall submit an annual Permit Evaluation Report (PER) to the Ohio EPA District Office or Local Air Agency by the due date identified in the Authorization section of this permit.  The permit evaluation report shall cover a reporting period of no more than twelve months for each air contaminant source identified in this permit.  It is recommended that the PER is submitted electronically through the Ohio EPA’s “e-Business Center: Air Services” although PERs can be submitted via U.S. postal service or can be hand delivered.
[OAC 3745-15-03(B)(2) and (D)]
If the permittee is using an enclosed flare/combustion device to demonstrate compliance with 40 CFR 63.771(d) for the TEG dehydrator or to demonstrate compliance with 40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1) for each storage vessel calculated to have VOC emission equal to or exceeding 6 tons per year, the permittee shall submit the results of the compliance demonstration, conducted in accordance with the applicable subpart, in the PER.
If the permittee is using an open flare to demonstrate compliance, the permittee shall submit all visible emission readings, heat content determinations, flowrate measurements, and exit velocity determinations made during the compliance or reporting period, as applicable by rule.
The permittee shall identify in the PER:
all periods of time when the pilot flame or electronic arc ignition system is not working when process gas is being vented to it, including the date, time, and duration of each such period; and
all periods of time during which the flare/combustion device was operated at greater than 10 MMBtu per hour heat input rate, including the date, time, and duration of each such period, and a description of the reason why the heat input exceeded 10 MMBtu per hour.
Testing Requirements
Compliance with the Emission Limitations and/or Control Requirements specified in section b) of these terms and conditions shall be determined in accordance with the following methods:
0. Emission Limitation:
1.35 tons CO/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emissions limitation for CO is based on using the AP-42 emission factor of 0.37 lb CO/MMBtu from Chapter 13.5 for Industrial Flares, Table 13.5-1, “Emission Factors for Flare Operations” and using the normal operation rate of 10 MMBtu/hr.  Estimated CO emissions shall be determined by the following calculations:
0.37 lb CO/MMBtu x 10 MMBtu/hr = 3.7 lbs CO /hr
3.7 lbs CO/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 16.2 tons CO/year
16.2 tons CO ÷ 12 months = 1.35 tons CO/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
Emission Limitation:
0.23 ton of VOC per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emissions limitation for VOC is based on using the AP-42 emissions factor of 0.14 lb of hydrocarbon/MMBtu from Chapter 13.5 for Industrial Flares, Table 13.5-1 “Emission Factors for Flare Operations” excluding emissions of methane (55% per Table 13.5-2 “Hydrocarbon Composition of Flare Emissions”) and using the estimated burner rating of 10 MMBtu/hr.  Estimated VOC emissions shall be determined by the following calculation:
0.14 lb VOC/MMBtu x 10.0 MMBtu/hr = 1.4 lb VOC/hr
1.4 lb VOC/hr x 8760 hr/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 6.1 tons VOC/year
6.1 tons VOC ÷ 12 months = 0.51 ton VOC/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
Emission Limitation:
0.25 ton NOx/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Applicable Compliance Method:
The emissions limitation for NOx is based on using the AP-42 emission factor of 0.068 lb NOx/MMBtu from Chapter 13.5 for Industrial Flares, Table 13.5-1, “Emission Factors for Flare Operations” and using the normal operation rate of 10 MMBtu/hr.  Estimated NOx emissions shall be determined by the following calculation:
0.068 lb NOx/MMBtu x 10 MMBtu/hr = 0.68 lb NOx /hr
0.68 lb NOx/hr x 8760 hrs/yr x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 3.0 tons NOx/year
3.0 tons NOx ÷ 12 months = 0.25 ton NOx/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
Emission Limitations:
0.15 ton SO2/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Applicable Compliance Method:
The SO2 emissions limitation is based on a fuel gas with a maximum H2S content of 250 ppmv for sour gas.
Compliance with the ton per year SO2 emissions limitation shall be determined by the following calculations:
10 MMBtu/hr x 1 scf/1020 Btu x 1 lb-mole/379.5 scf x 250 ppm H2S x 64 lb SO2/lb-mole = 0.41 lbs SO2/hr
0.41 lb SO2/hr x 8760 hrs/year x 1 ton/2000 lbs = 1.8 tons SO2/year
1.8 tons SO2 ÷ 12 months = 0.15 ton SO2/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
Visible Emissions Limitation for a combustion control device not used to demonstrate compliance with Part 60 Subpart OOOO:
Where potential VOC emissions from each storage vessel are determined to be less than 6 TPY or where using an open flare, visible particulate emissions from the exhaust stack of the combustion control device shall not exceed 20% opacity, as a six-minute average, except as specified by rule.
[OAC rule 3745-17-07(A)(1)(a)]
Applicable Compliance Method
Compliance shall be determined through visible emission observations performed in accordance U.S. EPA Method 9 and the procedures specified in OAC rule 3745-17-03(B)(3).
Visible Emissions Limitation for an enclosed combustion control device used to demonstrate compliance with Part 60 Subpart OOOO:
An enclosed combustion device used to demonstrate compliance must be operated with no visible emissions except for periods not to exceed a total of 1 minute in any 15 minute period, conducting Method 22 once every calendar month.
[40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1)(iii)]
OR
If demonstrating compliance using a combustion control device that is performance tested by the manufacturer, in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), the combustion device must be operated with no visible emissions except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes in any 1 hour of operation, conducting Method 22 once per calendar quarter.
[40 CFR 60.5413(e)(3)]
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the visible emissions limitation shall be determined in accordance with U.S. EPA Method 22 in Appendix A of 40 CFR Part 60.
[40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1)(iii)] [40 CFR 60.5413(e)(3)] and [40 CFR 60.5413(a)(1)]
Miscellaneous Requirements
0. Any final amendments to Part 63 Subpart HH and/or Part 60 Subpart OOOO will supersede any previous Subpart HH or Subpart OOOO requirement(s) in this permit.

Emissions Unit Group:  Equipment/Pipeline Leaks, F001
	EU ID
	Operations, Property and/or Equipment Description

	F001

	Ancillary equipment[footnoteRef:4] and Associated equipment:  compressors, pumps, piping, pneumatic controllers, inlet separators, gas-water/condensate/oil separators, etc. [4:   “Ancillary Equipment” means the same as defined in 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HH.  The Subpart HH definition is being used for this permit but note that the equipment leak standards found in Subpart HH do not apply for this permit because this permit is for an “area source” and the equipment leak standards do not apply to area sources.
] 

Equipment/pipeline leaks from valves, flanges, pressure relief devices, open end valves or lines, and pump and compressor seals in VOC or wet gas service.



3. This permit document constitutes a permit-to-install issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(F) and a permit-to-operate issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(G).
For the purpose of a permit-to-install document, the emissions unit terms and conditions in this permit are federally enforceable, with the exception of those listed below, which are enforceable under state law only.
None.
For the purpose of a permit-to-operate document, the emissions unit terms and conditions in this permit are enforceable under state law only, with the exception of those listed below, which are federally enforceable.
5.b)(1)b.
Applicable Emissions Limitations and/or Control Requirements
1. The specific operation(s), property, and/or equipment that constitute each emissions unit along with the applicable rules and/or requirements and with the applicable emissions limitations and/or control measures are identified below.  Emissions from each unit shall not exceed the listed limitations, and the listed control measures shall be specified in narrative form following the table.
	
	Applicable Rules/Requirements
	Applicable Emissions Limitations/Control Measures

	a.
	ORC 3704.03(T)
	Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) shall not exceed 0.88 ton per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period from fugitive equipment leaks.

	b.
	40 CFR Part 60 Subpart OOOO
Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, Transmission, and Distribution.
40 CFR 63.5365(d);
40 CFR 60.5390; and
40 CFR 60.5410(d)
	Each natural gas-driven pneumatic controller designed and operated to have a bleed rate less than or equal to 6 standard cubic feet per hour (scf/hr) and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions, shall not be considered an affected facility, subject to Part 60 Subpart OOOO.
Each pneumatic controller constructed, modified, or reconstructed on or after 10/15/13, located between the wellhead and a natural gas processing plant, and designed to have a bleed rate equal to or greater than 6 scf/hr is an affected facility subject to the requirements of Part 60 Subpart OOOO.
Each pneumatic controller affected facility that is constructed after 8/23/11 and is subject to these standards shall be tagged with the month and year of installation.



Additional Terms and Conditions
None
Operational Restrictions
1. In the event that a leak or defect is detected in the cover, closed vent system, process equipment, or control device, the permittee shall make a first attempt at repair no later than 5 calendar days after the leak is detected.  Repair shall be completed no later than 30 calendar days after the leak is detected in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5416(c)(4).  Any delay of repair of a leak or defect shall meet the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5416(c)(5).
[40 CFR 60.5416(c)(4) and (5)], [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)], and [ORC 3704.03(T)]
Unless it can be demonstrated that the pneumatic controller needs to have a higher bleed rate based on functional needs in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5390(a), each natural gas-driven pneumatic controller affected facility installed, modified, or reconstructed on or after 10/15/13 and located between the wellhead and the point of custody transfer to an oil pipeline or a natural gas transmission line or storage facility, must be designed and operated with a bleed rate less than or equal to 6 standard cubic feet per hour (6 scf/hr).
[40 CFR 60.5390(c)(1), (d), and (e)], [40 CFR 60.5365(d)], [40 CFR 60.5410(d)], and [40 CFR 60.5415(d)(1)]
Monitoring and/or Recordkeeping Requirements
1. The permittee shall develop and implement a leak detection and repair program designed to monitor and repair leaks from ancillary equipment covered by this permit, including each pump, compressor, pressure relief device, connector, valve, flange, connector, vent, cover, any bypass in the closed vent system, and each storage vessels.  This leak detection and repair program shall include the following requirements:
a. an initial inspection shall be completed within 90 days of startup and quarterly thereafter for a period of six consecutive quarters;
b. if following six consecutive quarterly inspections (1.5 years), no more than 2.0% (0.02) of the process unit valves and ancillary equipment (as identified above) are leaking, the inspection frequency can be reduced to semiannual;
c. if following six consecutive semiannual inspections (3 years), no more than 2.0% of the process unit valves or other ancillary equipment (as identified above) are leaking, the inspection frequency can be reduced to annual;
d. leaks shall be determined through the use of a "Forward Looking Infra Red” (FLIR) camera or an analyzer meeting U.S. EPA Method 21 of 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A;
e. the FLIR camera and/or analyzer shall be operated and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s operation and maintenance instructions;
f. a leak shall be determined to be detected if emissions are indicated by the FLIR camera or the reading from the analyzer is equal to or greater than 500 ppm or 10,000 ppm (as identified in Section 6.f)(3)), over the measured background level(s), based on the limitation identified in the Testing Section below; or the “leak detected” instrument reading required per any applicable rule;
g. during each inspection the following information shall be recorded:
i. the date the inspection was conducted;
ii. the name of the employee conducting the leak check;
iii. the identification of any component that was determined to be leaking and the concentration measured in ppm (if using an analyzer);
iv. the percentage of components leaking, determined as the sum of the number of components for which a leak was detected, divided by the total number of ancillary components capable of developing a leak, and multiplied by 100; and
v. the date the component was repaired and determined to no longer be leaking.
The records from each inspection and the dates each leak is detected and repaired shall be maintained for at least 5 years and shall be made available to the Director or his representative upon verbal or written request.
[40 CFR 60.5416(c))] and [ORC 3704.03(T)]
Each natural gas-driven pneumatic controller affected facility installed or reconstructed on or after 8/23/11, located between the wellhead and natural gas processing plant shall be tagged with the month and year of installation, reconstruction, or modification and with information that can identify or trace the records for the manufacturer’s design specifications.
The following records shall be maintained for each natural gas-driven pneumatic controller installed at the facility after 8/23/11:
records of the date installed or reconstructed, the location and/or equipment each controller is servicing, and the manufacturer specifications;
if applicable, the records needed to demonstrate why the operations require the use of a pneumatic controller with a bleed rate greater than 6 scf/hr and the functional basis for requiring the higher bleed rate; or
if installed on or after 10/15/13, records of the manufacturer’s specification indicating that the pneumatic controller is designed to have a natural gas bleed rate less than or equal to 6 scf/hr; or 
if the pneumatic controller has been installed on or after 8/23/11 and before 10/15/13, the manufacturer’s designed bleed rate; and
where a higher bleed rate has not been demonstrated to be needed, the records of any deviations from the 6 scf/hr bleed rate for each pneumatic controller installed on or after 10/15/13.
Once a gas-driven pneumatic controlled has been documented to have a bleed rate less than or equal to 6 scf/hr, it is no longer subject to the requirements of Part 60 Subpart OOOO. The manufacturer’s specifications for the pneumatic controller and/or other records demonstrating compliance or exemption from the requirements should be maintained until the site is closed.
[40 CFR 60.5390(c) and (f)], [40 CFR 60.5410(d)], [40 CFR 60.5415(d)(3)], [40 CFR 60.5420(c)(4)], and [40 CFR 60.5365(d)]
The initial inspection for leak detection from the components identified above shall be conducted within 90 days of initial startup.
Reporting Requirements
1. The permittee shall submit an annual Permit Evaluation Report (PER) to the Ohio EPA District Office or Local Air Agency by the due date identified in the Authorization section of this permit.  The permit evaluation report shall cover a reporting period of no more than twelve months for each air contaminant source identified in this permit.  It is recommended that the PER is submitted electronically through the Ohio EPA’s “e-Business Center: Air Services” although PERs can be submitted via U.S. postal service or can be hand delivered.
[OAC 3745-15-03(B)(2) and (D)]
The annual report shall identify the following information for each leak detected:
identification of each pump, compressor, pressure relief device, connector, valve, flange, connector, vent, cover, bypass in or to the closed vent system and/or storage vessels that was demonstrated to have a leak during each leak inspection conducted during the compliance period;
the date each leak identified in “a.” was repaired; and
if it has been demonstrated, during the reporting period, that the leak detection inspection frequency can be reduced to semiannual or annual inspections, the percentage of components leaking (in accordance with Section 6.d)(1).
[40 CFR 60.5416(c))] and [ORC 3704.03(T)]
The permittee shall submit an initial annual report, for each natural gas-driven pneumatic controller installed at the facility after 8/23/11, within 30 days after the end of the initial compliance period, or no later than 11/14/13 or within one year and 30 days of startup, whichever is later.  Subsequent annual reports are due on the same date each year following the initial report.  The annual reports may contain multiple facilities if each pneumatic controller is clearly identified along with its location, and the report includes the following information from 40 CFR 60.5420 for each natural gas-driven pneumatic controller:
company name and address of the affected facility;
identification of each affected facility included in the annual report*;
beginning and ending dates of the reporting period;
the identification of each pneumatic controller and the equipment it controls;
the month and year each pneumatic controller was installed, reconstructed, or modified;
a statement as to whether the manufacturer’s specifications indicate the controller is designed to maintain a natural gas bleed rate less than or equal to 6 scf/hour; or the explanation of why the bleed rate needs to be operated to exceed this and the manufacturer’s specifications for the bleed rate;
records of any deviations from the appropriate natural gas bleed rate; and
certification of the responsible official of truth, accuracy, and completeness.
* One report for multiple affected facilities may be submitted provided the report contains all of the information required and is clearly separated and identified for each compressor station.
[40 CFR 60.5410(d)], [40 CFR 60.5420(b)(1) and (5) and (c)(4)], [40 CFR 60.5390(f)], and [40 CFR 60.5415(d)(2)]
Testing Requirements
Compliance with the Emission Limitations and/or Control Requirements specified in section b) of these terms and conditions shall be determined in accordance with the following methods:
1. Emissions Limitation:
Emissions of VOC shall not exceed 0.88 ton per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period from fugitive equipment leaks.
Applicable Compliance Method:
The annual VOC limitation is the estimated potential-to-emit based upon the maximum number of components and type of service (gas/vapor and light liquid) expected at the compressor station.  Unless or until more accurate emission factors have been demonstrated or established for the site (e.g. following initial and subsequent monitoring and inspections), the appropriate emissions factors from U.S. EPA’s “Protocol for Equipment Leak Emission Estimates”, Table 2-4, for Oil and Gas production Operations (a conservative estimate), shall be used to demonstrate compliance with the annual limit.  The facility’s potential emissions from ancillary and associated equipment shall be documented from the summation of the following calculations:
Component Type       # of components x emission factor x % VOC* = lb VOC/hr
In Gas/Vapor Service
Number of connectors x 0.000441 lb/hr x 50% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of valves x 0.00992 lb/hr x 50% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of flanges x 0.00086 lb/hr x 50% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of compressor seals x 0.01940 lb/hr x 50% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of relief valves x 0.01940 lb/hr x 50% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of high bleed pneumatic controllers x 0.0194 lb/hr x 50% VOC = lb VOC/hr

In Light Liquid Service
Number of connectors x 0.000463 lb/hr x 100% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of valves x 0.00551 lb/hr x 100% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of flanges x 0.00024 lb/hr x 100% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of pump seals x 0.0287 lb/hr x 100% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of relief valves x 0.01653 lb/hr x 100% VOC = lb VOC/hr
Number of high bleed pneumatic controllers x 0.01653 lb/hr x 100% VOC = lb VOC/hr
The total summation of VOC emissions per hour shall be multiplied by 8760 hours per year and divided by 2000 pounds to calculate the estimated annual fugitive VOC emissions; and then divided by 12 months to calculate the VOC emissions per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
As an alternative to using the above emission factors to calculate VOC emissions, the permittee may use facility specific VOC information for site specific emission factors. 
* The % VOC for Gas/Vapor service was based on the highest percent VOC in gas analyses submitted by representative facilities.
Emission Limitation:
Each natural gas-driven pneumatic controller installed after 10/15/13 shall be operated with a bleed rate less than or equal to 6 scf/hr, unless it can be demonstrated that the pneumatic controller needs to have a higher bleed rate based on functional needs.
Applicable Compliance Method:
Natural gas shall be used as a surrogate for VOC.  If required, the detection of leaks of natural gas into the ambient air from the pneumatic controller(s) may be determined using Method 21 from 40 CFR 60 Appendix A; however, compliance is demonstrated through maintaining the manufacturer’s design specifications, showing that the controller is designed to operate with a bleed rate less than 6 scf/hr.  If required, Method 21 may be used during inspections of the facility.
[40 CFR 60.5390(a) or (c)(1)], [40 CFR 60.5410(d)], and [40 CFR 60.5415(d)(1)], with [ORC 3704.03(T)]
Emission Limitation:
Except for pneumatic controllers regulated under the NSPS Subpart OOOO standards, as identified above, a leak from all other components shall be determined if the instrument reading is equal to or greater than the following ppm total VOC instrument reading from a portable sampler and in accordance with U.S. EPA Method 21:
pressure relief device in gas/vapor service                           10,000 ppm
pressure relief device in light liquid service                           10,000 ppm
pumps in light liquid service                                                   10,000 ppm
compressor                                                                                 500 ppm
sampling connection system*                                                          *
open ended valves or lines**                                                          **
valves in gas/vapor and light liquid service                             10,000 ppm
closed vent system                                                                      500 ppm
connectors                                                                              10,000 ppm
all other ancillary and associated equipment in VOC service 10,000 ppm
* must be equipped with a closed-purge, closed-loop, or closed-vent system
** must be equipped with a cap, blind flange, plug, or a second valve
Applicable Compliance Method:
Leak detection may be conducted using a portable sampler in accordance with Method 21 or the permittee may use a FLIR camera to determine if there are emissions from the process equipment, covers, closed vent system, storage vessels, and ancillary equipment at the compressor station.  Following the repair of each leak, the location shall be reexamined or re-measured to document the repair was successful.
Where a portable sampler other than a FLIR camera is used for leak detection, the detection of leaks of VOC into the ambient air and the background levels shall be determined as follows:
In accordance with the test procedure set forth in U.S. EPA Method 21.
The following calibration gases shall be used:
zero air, which consists of less than 10 ppm of hydrocarbon in air; and
a mixture of air and methane or n-hexane at a concentration of approximately, but less than, 10,000 ppm of methane or n-hexane.
All potential leak interfaces shall be traversed as close to the interface as possible.  The arithmetic difference between the maximum concentration indicated by the instrument and the background level is compared with 500 ppm or 10,000 ppm (as applicable) for determining compliance.  The leak detection instrument shall be calibrated before each use and shall meet the performance criteria of Method 21, from 40 CFR 60 Appendix A.
[40 CFR 60.5416(c))] and [ORC 3704.03(T)]
Miscellaneous Requirements
1. Any amendment to Part 60, Subpart OOOO shall supersede the Subpart OOOO compliance limitations and/or options contained in this permit.


Emissions Unit:  Flash Vessel/Storage Vessels and truck loading for produced water, crude oil, condensate, and/or petroleum liquids: T001
	Operations, Property and/or Equipment Description:
	T001
	One or multiple vertical fixed roof flash vessel/storage vessel(s) with a combined capacity of no more than 252,000 gallons (6,000 barrels), where each flash vessel/storage vessel has an individual capacity of no more than 39,894 gallon (950 barrel).



2. This permit document constitutes a permit-to-install issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(F) and a permit-to-operate issued in accordance with ORC 3704.03(G).
(1) For the purpose of a permit-to-install document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are federally enforceable with the exception of those listed below which are enforceable under state law only.
(a) None.
(2) For the purpose of a permit-to-operate document, the emissions unit terms and conditions identified below are enforceable under state law only with the exception of those listed below which are federally enforceable.
(a) 6.b)(1)c.
i) Applicable Emissions Limitations and/or Control Requirements
1. The specific operation(s), property, and/or equipment that constitute each emissions unit along with the applicable rules and/or requirements and with the applicable emissions limitations and/or control measures are identified below.  Emissions from each unit shall not exceed the listed limitations, and the listed control measures shall be specified in narrative form following the table.
	
	Applicable Rules/Requirements
	Applicable Emissions Limitations/Control Measures

	a.
	ORC 3704.03(T)
	Total VOC emissions (including breathing losses, working losses, and flashing losses) from all storage vessels combined at the compressor station shall not exceed 4.28 tons per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.

In order to comply with the tons per month emission limit, utilize one or more of the following controls:

Use of add-on control (vapor recovery, flare or equivalent) to control emissions from storage vessels.  If a flare is used, it must meet the requirements detailed in emissions unit P004.

Use of vapor balance while loading trucks.

Use of submerged or bottom fill on all storage vessels.

	b.
	OAC Rule 3745-21-09(L)
	See b)(2)a.

	c.
	Part 60, Subpart OOOO Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, Transmission, and Distribution
40 CFR 60.5365(e);
40 CFR 60.5395;
40 CFR 60.5410(h) and (i)
40 CFR 60.5411(b) and (c);
40 CFR 60.5412(d);
40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3);
40 CFR 60.5416(c); and
40 CFR 60.5417(h)
	The facility must calculate the potential for VOC emissions for each single storage vessel using an accepted model or calculation methodology, based on the maximum average daily throughput determined for a 30-day period of production prior to 10/15/13 for Group 1 storage vessels*, or determined for a 30-day period of production prior to 4/15/14 or 30 days after startup for Group 2 storage vessels**.

Where these potential VOC emissions are calculated to equal or exceed 6 TPY, the permittee must either maintain the uncontrolled actual VOC emissions at less than 4 TPY and maintain monthly emission calculations in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5395(d)(2); or install a control device, closed vent system, and covers designed and operated to reduce VOC emissions by 95.0%, and by 4/15/14 or 60 days after startup for Group 2 storage vessels or by 4/15/15 for Group 1 storage vessels.

Conduct monthly inspections of collection and control equipment.

Any final amendments to this rule will supersede the requirement(s) in this permit.

See b)(2) b. through f.

	d.
	40 CFR 60.5413(d)
	Option to demonstrate compliance with Part 60 Subpart OOOO through the use a control device model tested by the manufacturer.

	e.
	OAC rule 3745-17-07(A)(1)(a)








40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1)(iii)







40 CFR 60.5413(e)(3)








	Where the potential VOC emissions from each storage vessel are determined to be less than 6 TPY or where using an open flare, visible particulate emissions from the exhaust stack of the combustion device serving the storage vessel(s) shall not exceed 20% opacity, as a six-minute average, except as specified by rule.

If required to install controls in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5395, an enclosed combustion device must be operated with no visible emissions except for periods not to exceed a total of 1 minute in any 15 minute period, conducting Method 22 once every calendar month.

If demonstrating compliance using a combustion control device that is performance tested by the manufacturer, in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), the combustion device must be operated with no visible emissions except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes in any 1 hour of operation, conducting Method 22 once per calendar quarter.

	f.
	40 CFR 60.5365(e)
OAC 3745-31-05(F)
	The permittee accepts a voluntarily limit to restrict the potential VOC emissions from each storage vessel to less than 6 tons per year.



* Group 1 storage vessels are those installed after 8/23/11 and on or before 4/12/13
** Group 2 storage vessels are those installed after 4/12/13
Additional Terms and Conditions
The permittee shall not place, store, or hold in these fixed roof tanks any petroleum liquid other than crude oil and condensate where there is no custody transfer, unless such tank is designed or equipped in accordance with the requirements of paragraph (L)(1) of OAC rule 3745-21-09 with an internal floating roof or equivalent control approved by the Director, prior to storing such petroleum liquids.
[OAC rule 3745-21-09(L)]
Any storage vessel subject to and controlled in accordance with the requirements for storage vessels in 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart Kb, or 40 CFR Part 63 Subparts G, CC, HH, or WW are not subject to Part 60 Subpart OOOO.
[40 CFR 60.5395(h)]
If the storage vessel affected facility is installed with a floating roof to reduce VOC emissions, it must meet the requirements of 40 CFR 60.112b(a)(1) or (2) and the relevant monitoring, inspection, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements in Part 60, Subpart Kb.
[40 CFR 60.5395(e)(2)]
The permittee shall calculate the potential for VOC emissions for each single storage vessel (defined in 40 CFR 60.5430) using an accepted model or calculation methodology.  Emissions of VOC shall be based on the maximum average daily throughput determined for:
a 30-day period of production prior to 10/15/13 for storage vessels installed after 8/23/11 and on or before 4/12/13, i.e., Group 1 storage vessels; and/or
a 30-day period of production prior to 4/15/14 or 30 days after startup for storage vessels installed after 4/12/13, i.e., Group 2 storage vessels.
Each subject storage vessel initially calculated to equal or exceed 6 tons per year that subsequently is determined to have potential VOC emissions at less than 6 tons per year, e.g. due to decreased flow, shall remain an affected facility under NSPS Subpart OOOO.
[40 CFR 60.5410(h)] and [40 CFR 60.5365(e)]
Unless meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5395(d)(2), where the uncontrolled actual VOC emissions can be demonstrated to be less than 4 tons per year (4 TPY), or where it has been demonstrated that the potential VOC emissions are less than 6 TPY, the VOC emissions from each storage vessel affected facility shall be reduced by 95.0 percent by April 15, 2014, or within 60 days after startup, for Group 2 storage vessels; or by April 15, 2015 for Group 1 storage vessels.
[40 CFR 60.5395] [40 CFR 60.5410(h)], and [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)] 
Any vapors from storage vessels that are recovered and routed to a (vapor recovery unit) VRU system meeting the cover and closed vent system requirements specified in 40 CFR 60.5411(b) and (c) are not required to be included in the determination of VOC potential to emit for purposes of determining affected facility status for NSPS Subpart OOOO.  However, if the VRUs are removed or if the system fails to meet the cover and closed vent system requirements of Subpart OOOO, the potential VOC emissions from each such storage vessel shall be calculated within 30 days of the removal or non-compliant operations of the VRU system.
[40 CFR 60.5365(e)]
Where the uncontrolled actual VOC emissions from each storage vessel affected facility can be demonstrated to be less than 4 tons/year (without considering control) for 12 consecutive months (determined/documented monthly), the permittee may demonstrate compliance with Subpart OOOO (and exemption from installing a control device meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5395(d)(1)) by maintaining the uncontrolled actual VOC emissions from each storage vessel affected facility below 4 TPY.  Following the initial demonstration, the uncontrolled actual VOC emission rate shall continue to be calculated each month from each such storage vessel, using a generally accepted model or calculation methodology based on the average throughput each month, which must be separated by at least 14 days.  If the actual uncontrolled VOC emissions are calculated to exceed 4 TPY or if the well feeding the storage vessel affected facility undergoes refracturing or a new well is piped or vented to the storage vessel, the VOC emissions shall be reduced by 95.0%, as soon as the additional liquids are routed to the storage vessel or within 30 days of the monthly calculation demonstrating the uncontrolled actual VOC emissions exceed 4 TPY.
[40 CFR 60.5395(d)(2)]
A combustion control device that’s model has been performance tested by the manufacturer may be used to demonstrate compliance if the following conditions are met:
the manufacturer has demonstrated compliance for that specific model in accordance with all of the requirements contained in 40 CFR 60.5413(d);
the permittee installs a continuous monitoring system to measure the gas flow rate at the inlet of the combustor and a monitoring device that indicates continuous ignition of the pilot flame;
a visible emissions test using Method 22 at 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7, is conducted quarterly for a 1 hour observation period for visible emissions from the stack; and
an electronic copy of the performance test criteria and performance test results for the specific model tested have been submitted to the appropriate U.S. EPA database (by the manufacturer, or the manufacturer’s data submitted by the permittee where the manufacturer has not done so).
[40 CFR 60.5412(d)], [40 CFR 60.5413(d) and (e)], [40 CFR 60.5417(d)(1)(viii)], and [40 CFR 60.5420(b)(8)]
j) Operational Restrictions
1. Total capacity of all storage vessels storing condensate and/or condensed water shall not exceed 252,000 gallons (6000 barrels) combined, excluding any exempt or de minimis vessels.
Each storage vessel subject to the control requirements of Part 60 Subpart OOOO shall be equipped with a cover that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5411(b); and the storage vessel shall be connected through a closed vent system designed and operated with no detectable emissions, as determined using olfactory, visual and auditory inspections, and in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5411(c) to either:  1. an enclosed combustion control device, designed and operated in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5412(d) or 40 CFR 60.5413(d); 2.  an open flare meeting the requirements identified in this permit; or 3. to a process.  The collection and control systems shall be operated at all times when gases, vapors, and fumes are vented from the subject storage vessels to a control device; and where routing emissions to a process it must be operational 95% or more of the year.
[40 CFR 60.5365(e)], [40 CFR 60.5395], [40 CFR 60.5410(h)], [40 CFR 60.5411(b) and (c)(1) and (2)], and [40 CFR 60.5412(d)] or [40 CFR 60.5413(d)], and [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)]
In the event that a leak or defect is detected in the cover or closed vent system, the permittee shall make a first attempt at repair no later than 5 calendar days after the leak is detected.  Repair shall be completed no later than 30 calendar days after the leak is detected.  Grease or another applicable substance must be applied to deteriorating or cracked gaskets to improve the seal while awaiting repair.  Delay of repair of a closed-vent system or cover for which leaks or defects have been detected is allowed if the repair is technically infeasible without a shutdown, or if the permittee determines that emissions resulting from immediate repair would be greater than the fugitive emissions likely to result from delay of repair.  Repair of such equipment shall be complete by the end of the next shutdown.  A record of the leak detected and repairs must be maintained for a period of five years.
[40 CFR 60.5416(c)(4) and (5)] and [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)]
For each storage vessel affected facility, the cover and all openings on the cover (e.g., access hatches, sampling ports, pressure relief valves, and gauge wells) shall form a continuous impermeable barrier over the entire surface area of the liquid in the storage vessel.  The thief hatch shall be weighted and properly seated; and the gasket material for the hatch shall be selected based on composition of the fluid in the storage vessel and weather conditions.  Each cover opening shall be secured in a closed, sealed position (e.g., covered by a gasketed lid or cap) whenever material is in the unit on which the cover is installed, except during those times when it is necessary to use an opening as follows:
to add material to, or remove material from the storage vessel (this includes openings necessary to equalize or balance the internal pressure of the unit following changes in the level of the material in the unit);
to inspect or sample the material in the storage vessel;
to inspect, maintain, repair, or replace equipment located inside the storage vessel; or
to vent liquids, gases, or fumes from the unit through a closed-vent system to a control device designed and operated in accordance with the requirements of Part 60 Subpart OOOO.
[40 CFR 60.5411(b)]
Where the closed vent system contains one or more bypass devices that could be used to divert all or a portion of the gases, vapors, or fumes from entering the control device or a process, the following requirements shall be met:
A flow indicator must be installed at the inlet to each bypass device and it must be properly maintained and calibrated in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications.  The flow indicator must be fitted with an alarm that sounds an alarm, or, initiates notification via remote alarm to the nearest field office, when the bypass device is open, when the emissions stream is being, or could be, diverted away from the control device or process to the atmosphere; or
the bypass device valve, installed at the inlet to the bypass device, shall be secured in the non-diverting position using a car-seal or a lock-and-key type configuration.
Low leg drains, high point bleeds, analyzer vents, open-ended valves or lines, and safety devices are not subject to these requirements.
[40 CFR 60.5416(c)(3)], [40 CFR 60.5411(c)(3)] and [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)]
(8) Each enclosed combustion device, used to meet the emission reduction standard in 40 CFR 60.5395(d), must be installed and operated in accordance with the following requirements:
a. it must be designed to reduce the mass content of VOC emissions by 95.0% or greater;
b. it shall be maintained in a leak free condition;
c. it shall be equipped with a heat sensing monitoring device with a continuous recorder that indicates the continuous ignition of the pilot flame;
d. it shall be operated with no visible emissions, except for periods not to exceed a total of one minute during any 15 minute period;
e. visible emissions tests shall be conducted at least once every calendar month using section 11 of EPA Method 22, from 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A.  The observation period shall be 15 minutes and must be performed separated by at least 15 days between each test to qualify for consecutive months;
f. following any failure of the visible emissions test, the permittee shall follow the manufacturer’s repair instructions or best combustion engineering practice, as outlined in the unit inspection and maintenance plan (composed where there is no manufacturer’s instruction available);
g. all inspections and repair and maintenance activities shall be recorded in a maintenance and repair log which must be available for inspection upon request; and
h. following the return to operations following any maintenance or repair activity, the combustion device must pass a visible emissions test as identified in “d” above.
As an alternative to meeting the above requirements, a combustion control device may be installed whose model has been tested by the manufacturer in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), and the facility can instead meet the criteria in 40 CFR 60.5413(d)(11) and 40 CFR 60.5413(e).
[40 CFR 60.5410(h)], [40 CFR 60.5412(d)], [40 CFR 60.5417(d)(1)(iii) and (h)(1)], and [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)]
(9) Where the permittee is demonstrating compliance by using a combustion control device that’s model has been performance tested by the manufacturer, the manufacturer shall have demonstrated that the specific model control device achieves the performance requirements identified in 40 CFR 60.5413(d)(2) through (d)(11).  And an electronic copy of the performance test results must either be documented by the manufacturer and posted at U.S. EPA’s website http://epa.gov/airquality/oilandgas/ or an electronic copy of the performance test results, provided by the manufacturer, must be submitted to Oil_and_Gas_PT@EPA.GOV and a copy with the permit application.
[40 CFR 60.5413(e)(6)] and [40 CFR 60.5420(b)(8)]
(10) The control device model tested by the manufacturer must meet the following criteria and this criteria must be reported in the test report required by paragraph 40 CFR 60.5413(d)(12):
a. Method 22, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, results under paragraph (d)(10) of this section with no indication of visible emissions.
b. Average Method 25A, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, results under paragraph (d)(9) of this section equal to or less than 10.0 ppmvw THC as propane, corrected to 3.0 percent CO2.
c. Average CO emissions determined under paragraph (d)(8) of this section equal to or less than 10 parts ppmvd, corrected to 3.0 percent CO2.
d. Excess combustion air determined under paragraph (d)(7) of this section equal to or greater than 150 percent.
The manufacturer must determine a maximum inlet gas flow rate which must not be exceeded for each control device model to achieve a destruction efficiency of 95.0% for VOC.  The maximum inlet gas flow rate must be included in the test report required by 40 CFR 60.5413(d)(12).
[40 CFR 60.5413(d)(11)]
(11) If the manufacturer of a combustion control device has not posted the test results on the U.S. EPA website, “epa.gov/airquality/oilandgas/”, for the model for which the permittee is demonstrating compliance through 40 CFR 60.5413(d), the permittee must submit the testing information via email to Oil_and_Gas_PT@EPA.GOV.  The following data must be included in the test report:
a. a full schematic of the control device and dimensions of the device components;
b. the maximum net heating value of the device;
c. the test fuel gas flow range (in both mass and volume) and identify the maximum allowable inlet gas flow rate;
d. the air/stream injection/assist ranges, if used;
e. the test conditions listed below, as applicable for the tested model:
i. fuel gas delivery pressure and temperature;
ii. fuel gas moisture range;
iii. purge gas usage range;
iv. condensate (liquid fuel) separation range;
v. combustion zone temperature range;
vi. excess combustion air range;
vii. flame arrestor(s);
viii. burner manifold;
ix. pilot flame indicator;
x. pilot flame design fuel and calculated or measured fuel usage;
xi. tip velocity range;
xii. momentum flux ratio.
xiii. exit temperature range;
xiv. exit flow rate; and
xv. wind velocity and direction.
The test report must include all calibration quality assurance/quality control data, calibration gas values, gas cylinder certification, strip charts, or other graphic presentations of the data annotated with test times and calibration values.
[40 CFR 60.5413(d)(12)] and [40 CFR 60.5420(b)(8)]
(12) For a combustion control device where compliance will be based on the manufacturer’s performance testing requirements for a specific model combustor in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), the combustor shall be installed with:  1. a continuous monitoring device (having an accuracy of plus or minus 2% or better) to measure gas flowrate at the inlet of the control device, and 2. a monitoring device that continuously indicates the presence of the pilot flame while emissions are routed to it; and the permittee shall complying with the following criteria :
a. The flow rate at the inlet to the combustion device shall not exceed the maximum flow rate established based on the manufacturer’s performance test data;.
b. A pilot flame must be present at all times of operation.
c. The combustion device must be operated with no visible emissions, except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes during any hour.  
d. A visible emissions test using Method 22, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A must be performed each calendar quarter and the observation period must be 1 hour.
e. Any combustion control device failing the visible emissions test must follow manufacturer’s repair instructions, if available, or best combustion engineering practice as outlined in the unit inspection and maintenance plan, to return the unit to compliant operation.  All repairs and maintenance activities for each unit must be recorded in a maintenance and repair log and must be available for inspection.
f. Following the return of the device to operation following maintenance or repair activity, each combustion device must pass the visible emissions test in “d.” above.
[40 CFR 60.5413(e)] and [40 CFR 60.5417(d)(1)(viii) and (g)(6)]
k) Monitoring and/or Recordkeeping Requirements
1. The permittee shall maintain the following records documenting the facility’s determination of emissions from each storage vessel:
a. the maximum average daily throughput determined for a 30-day period of production prior to 10/15/13 for Group 1 storage vessels and prior to 4/15/14 or 30 days after startup for Group 2 storage vessels;
b. the content of each storage vessel;
c. the lab analyses, calculations, and process simulation model results documenting the annual emissions from breathing, working, and flashing losses; and
d. the records for the content and annual throughput (in gallons per year) for each tank.
These records shall be maintained for at least 5 years and shall be made available to the Director or his representative upon verbal or written request.
[40 CFR 60.5365(e)] and [40 CFR 60.5410(h)]
(14) If it has not been demonstrated that the storage vessels are exempt from the requirements of Subpart OOOO, the permittee shall conduct monthly inspections for each closed vent system, each cover, and the combustion control device used to demonstrate compliance in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5416(c) and 40 CFR 60.5417(h).  Each inspection shall include:
a. a record of the results of olfactory, visual, and auditory observations used to detect any leaks or defects in the covers or closed vent system, and to ensure system integrity of the combustion control device;
b. if any bypass device valve is secured in the non-diverting position using a car-seal or a lock-and-key type configuration, the seal or closure mechanism shall be visually inspected and a record must be maintained for each time the key is checked out;
c. a record of each leak or defect detected and the date of each attempt at repair and date of final repair;
d. if applicable, the inspection plan identifying the parts and equipment that are unsafe and/or difficult to inspect;
e. for the combustion control device, a record of visual inspections confirming that the pilot is lit and that the continuous burning pilot flame is operating properly;
f. for the combustion control device, a record of the visible emissions test conducted using Section 11 of EPA Method 22, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A; 
g. a record of any absence of the pilot flame, or other indication of smoking or improper equipment operation of the combustion control device and a record of the procedures taken to return the device to proper operations; and
h. a record of the inspection of the air vent(s) noting any obstructions or indications of liquid reaching the combustor.
Monthly inspections (for compliance) must be separated by at least 14 calendar days and the records shall be maintained for a period of five years.  A combustion control device model tested by the manufacturer in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d)(2) through (10), which meets the criteria in 40 CFR 60.5413(d)(11), the reporting requirement in 40 CFR 60.5413(d)(12), and the continuous compliance requirements in 40 CFR 60.5413(e) is exempt from the monthly inspection requirements above.
[40 CFR 60.5410(h)], [40 CFR 60.5416(c)], [40 CFR 60.5417(h)], [40 CFR 60.5411(b) and (c)], [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)], and [40 CFR 60.5420(c)]
(15) Each control device must be operated following the manufacturer’s written operating instructions, procedures and maintenance schedule to ensure good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions. Records of the manufacturer’s written operating instructions, procedures, and maintenance schedule must be available for inspection as specified in 40 CFR 60.5420(c)(13).
[40 CFR 60.5417(h)(3)]
(16) The following records shall be maintained for each storage vessel affected facility subject to the requirements of Part 60 Subpart OOOO and the control device(s), cover, and closed-vent system(s) used to demonstrate compliance:
a. records for the identification of each storage vessel affected facility and their location in latitude and longitude coordinates in decimal degrees to an accuracy and precision of 5 decimals of a degree using the North American Datum of 1983;
b. records of the VOC emissions determination for each storage vessel made under 40 CFR 60.5365(e), including identification and results of the simulation model(s) and calculation methodology used to calculate the VOC emission rate;
c. where the potential VOC emission rate of each storage vessel is equal to or greater than 6 TPY, and where demonstrating that the uncontrolled actual VOC emissions are less than 4 TPY, the monthly records demonstrating this determination;
d. records of deviations where the storage vessel was not operated in compliance with the requirements specified in 40 CFR 60.5395, 60.5411, 60.5412 and 60.5413, as applicable;
e. for each bypass device subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5416(c)(3), a record of each monthly visual inspection of the seals or closure mechanism, and records of the duration of all periods when any car-seal or lock mechanism has been broken, the key has been checked out, the bypass line valve position has changed, and/or the alarm for notification of a leak has sounded, including the duration of all periods of time when the vent stream is diverted from the control device or process and/or the flow monitor is not operating;
f. records identifying all parts of the closed-vent system that are designated as unsafe or difficult to inspect in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5416(c)(6) and (7), with an explanation of why the equipment is unsafe or difficult to inspect, and the plan for inspecting the equipment;
g. records of the monthly inspection of the closed vent system and cover(s), to include the name of the inspector and date of the inspections, and results; and for each inspection conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5416(c) during which a leak or defect is detected, a record of the following information:
i. the identification of the equipment and/or location of the leak;
ii. the date the leak or defect was detected and the date of the first attempt to repair the leak or defect;
iii. the date the leak or defect is successfully repaired or determined to be non-repairable;
iv. identification of any “repair delayed” and the reason for the delay, if a leak or defect is not repaired within 30 calendar days after its discovery;
v. the name, initials, or other form of identification of the operator (or designee) whose decision it was that repair could not be completed without a shutdown;
vi. the expected date of successful repair of the leak or defect if a leak or defect is not repaired within 30 calendar days; and
vii. the date of successful repair of each leak or defect that was determined to meet the requirements of “delay of repair” in 40 CFR 60.5416(c)(5);
h. all hourly records and other recorded periods when the pilot flame is absent;
i. the records of the monthly inspections of the combustion control device conducted in accordance with 40 CCFR 60.5417(h), including any corrective actions taken, the manufacturers’ operating instructions, and procedures and maintenance schedule;
j. the records of the monthly (or quarterly if complying by using a model tested by the manufacturer) visible emissions test conducted using EPA Method 22, of 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, and the record of the section 11 results, which include: company, location, company representative (name of the person performing the observation), sky conditions, process unit (type of control device), clock start time, observation period duration (in minutes and seconds), accumulated emission time (in minutes and seconds), and clock end time; and
k. if demonstrating compliance by using a combustion control device model performance tested by the manufacturer in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), the record of the inlet gas flow rate recorded during each inspection.
The permittee shall maintain files of all required information (including all reports and notifications) for at least 5 years following the date of each occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, and report.
[40 CFR 60.5410(h)], [40 CFR 60.5420(c)(5), (6), (7), (8), and (13)], [40 CFR 60.5365(e)], [40 CFR 60.5395], [40 CFR 60.5412(d)], [40 CFR 60.5413(e)], [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)], [40 CFR 60.5416(c)], and [40 CFR 60.5417(d), (g), and (h)]
(17) Where using VRUs for compliance, the permittee shall maintain records that document the VRU system is operated in compliance with the cover and closed vent system requirements of 40 CFR 60.5411(b) and 40 CFR 60.5411(c).
[40 CFR 60.5365(e)]
(18) Any parts of the closed vent system or cover may be designated as unsafe or difficult to inspect if the following determinations are documented and identified in a written inspection plan:
a. the inspecting personnel would be exposed to an imminent or potential danger as a consequence of the inspection; or
b. that the equipment cannot be inspected without elevating the inspecting personnel more than 2 meters above a support surface.
The inspection plan shall identify the parts and equipment that are unsafe and/or difficult to inspect; it shall require the parts or equipment that have been identified as “unsafe to inspect” to be inspected as frequently as practicable during safe-to-inspect times; and it shall require parts or equipment that has been identified as “difficult to inspect” to be inspected at least once every 5 years.
[40 CFR 60.5416(c)(6) and (7)] and [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)]
(19) The following records shall be maintained for each storage vessel that has been determined to have potential VOC emissions less than 6 tons/year and not subject to the requirements of Part 60 Subpart OOOO:
a. records for the identification of each storage vessel and their location in latitude and longitude coordinates in decimal degrees to an accuracy and precision of 5 decimals of a degree using the North American Datum of 1983; and
b. records of the VOC emissions determination for each storage vessel made under 40 CFR 60.5365(e), including identification of the simulation model(s) and calculation methodology used to calculate the VOC emission rate.
[40 CFR 60.5365(e)]
(20) Where using the option to demonstrate compliance for a combustion control device by using a model that has been performance tested by the manufacturer in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), the permittee shall install a continuous monitoring system to measure the gas flow rate at the inlet of the combustor and a monitoring device that indicates continuous ignition of the pilot flame.  The flowrate shall be maintained so it does not exceed the maximum flow rate documented by the manufacturer; and the combustion control device shall be operated with no visible emissions, except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes during any hour.  A visible emissions test using Method 22 at 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7, must be conducted each quarter for a 1 hour observation period.
[40 CFR 60.5417(d)(1)(viii) and (g)(6)], and [40 CFR 60.5413(e)(3)], and [40 CFR 60.5420(c)]
(21) A deviation for a given control device is determined to have occurred when the monitoring data or lack of monitoring data result in any one of the criteria specified as follows:
a. If the closed vent system contains one or more bypass devices that could be used to divert all or a portion of the gases, vapors, or fumes from entering the control device, a deviation occurs when the following occurs.
i. For each bypass line subject to 40 CFR 60.5411(c)(3)(i)(A), the flow indicator shows that flow has been detected and that the stream has been diverted away from the control device to the atmosphere.
ii. For each bypass line subject to 40 CFR 60.5411(c)(3)(i)(B), if the seal or closure mechanism has been broken, the bypass line valve position has changed, the key for the lock-and-key type lock has been checked out, or the car-seal has been broken.
b. For a combustion control device whose model is tested by the manufacturer under and complying through 40 CFR 60.5413(d), a deviation occurs when the following conditions occur:
i. The inlet gas flow rate exceeds the maximum flow rate established by the manufacturer during the performance testing.
ii. During the quarterly Method 22 visible emissions test, conducted as required under 40 CFR 60.5415(e)(2)(vii)(C), the duration of visible emissions exceeds 2 minutes during any 1 hour of observation.
[40 CFR 60.5417(g)(5) and (6)] [(g)(5) for wet seal centrifugal compressor, not adjusted in amendment for split
(22) The permittee shall maintain monthly records of the calculated VOC emissions from the storage vessels; and at the end of 12 months of operation, the rolling 12-month summation of VOC emissions and the average calculated over each rolling 12-month period.
[ORC 3704.03(T)]
l) Reporting Requirements
1. The permittee shall submit an annual Permit Evaluation Report (PER) to the Ohio EPA District Office or Local Air Agency by the due date identified in the Authorization section of this permit.  The permit evaluation report shall cover a reporting period of no more than twelve months and shall include any exceedance of the monthly average 12-month rolling limit(s).  It is recommended that the PER be submitted electronically through the Ohio EPA’s “e-Business Center: Air Services” although PERs can be submitted via U.S. postal service or can be hand delivered.
[OAC 3745-15-03(B)(2) and (D)] and [ORC 3704.03(T)]
The permittee shall submit an initial annual report within 90 days after the end of the initial compliance period for each storage vessel determined to have potential VOC emissions equal or greater than 6 tons per year.  Subsequent annual reports are due no later than the same date each year following the initial report.  The reports shall include the following information:
the company name, facility name and address, and facility ID number;
the beginning and ending dates of the reporting period;
in the initial annual report, an identification of each Group 1 and each Group 2 storage vessel affected facility, including the location of each storage vessel, in latitude and longitude coordinates in decimal degrees to an accuracy and precision of 5 decimals of a degree using the North American Datum of 1983;
in the initial annual report, documentation of the potential VOC emission rate of each storage vessel at the facility, in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5365(e), and the maximum average daily throughput determined for the 30-day period of production used to establish the determination, including the simulation model(s) and/or calculation methodology used to document the VOC emissions of the storage vessels;
in each annual report, an identification of each storage vessel affected facility that was constructed, modified, or reconstructed during the reporting period, including the location in latitude and longitude coordinates in decimal degrees, and to an accuracy and precision of 5 decimals of a degree using the North American Datum of 1983;
an identification of each storage vessel affected facility that was removed from service during the reporting period, as required per 40 CFR 60.5395(f)(1); and each storage vessel affected facility that has been returned to service during the reporting period, as required per 40 CFR 60.5395(f)(2)(iii);
records of deviations from the requirements specified in 40 CFR 60.5395, 60.5411, 60.5412, and 60.5413 that occurred during the reporting period, as applicable;
identification of any month during the reporting period in which an inspection of the combustion control device, closed vent system, and covers was not conducted; Method 22 visible emissions tests were not conducted; and/or any leak or defect detected was not repaired, in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5416(c) and 40 CFR 60.4517(h), or 40 CFR 60.5413(e) for a combustor tested by the manufacturer;
for each closed-vent system with a bypass line, records of all periods when the vent stream was diverted from the control device through a bypass line and/or all periods in which the seal mechanism is broken, the bypass valve position has changed, or the key to unlock the bypass line valve was checked out;
for a flare or enclosed combustion device, any periods of time when the pilot flame was absent and any record of visible emissions;
identification of any changes made to the storage vessels, the closed-vent system, or control device that would alter the method of compliance;
if there were no excursions or deviations during the reporting period, a statement to that effect; and
certification of the responsible official of the truth, accuracy, and completeness of the report.
[40 CFR 60.5420(b)(1) and (6)], [40 CFR 60.5420(c)(5)], [40 CFR 60.5395], [40 CFR 60.5410(h) and (i)], [40 CFR 60.5412(d)], [40 CFR 60.5413(d)], [40 CFR 60.5416(c)], and [40 CFR 60.5417(g)]
The following records shall be made available to any representative of the Ohio EPA, upon request:
the identification of each storage vessels and the records for the demonstration of their annual potential VOC emissions and method(s) used to calculate the emissions, in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5365(e);
the results of any required visible emission observations;
if a closed-vent system and a combustion control device is used to demonstrate compliance, the results of inspection conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5416(c) and 40 CFR 60.5417(h); and
the design analysis of the combustion control device as specified in 40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1); or
if the combustion control device model has been performance tested by the manufacturer and compliance is demonstrated in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), an electronic copy of the test results submitted to U.S. EPA and/or posted on the U.S. EPA website.
[ORC 3704.03(F)], [40 CFR 60.5365], [40 CFR 60.5395], [40 CFR 60.5412(d)], [40 CFR 60.5413(d)], [40 CFR 60.5416(c)], [40 CFR 60.5417(h)], and [for 40 CFR 60.5420(c)]
m) Testing Requirements
Compliance with the Emission Limitations and/or Control Requirements specified in section b) of these terms and conditions shall be determined in accordance with the following methods:
1. Emissions limitation:
Total VOC emissions from all storage vessels (including breathing losses, working losses, and flashing losses) shall not exceed 4.28 tons per month averaged over a 12-month rolling period.
Compliance with the tons/month averaged over a 12-month rolling period shall be determined following the first 12 months of operation.
For each storage vessels not meeting the collection and control requirements of Part 60 Subpart OOOO, the potential annual VOC emissions must be documented to be less than 6 tons/year; or the uncontrolled actual VOC emissions shall be calculated to be less than 4 tons/year in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5395(d)(2) through monthly determinations.
For each storage vessel with potential emissions equal to or greater than 6 tons VOC/year, reduce VOC emissions by 95.0% by installing a closed vent system designed and operated with no detectable emissions, that routes all gases, vapors, and fumes to a process or a combustion control device meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5412(d) or 40 CFR 60.5413(d).
Applicable Compliance Method, documenting emissions:
Annual emissions from breathing, working, and flashing losses from each storage vessel shall be calculated based on the maximum average daily throughput determined for a 30-day period of production prior to 10/15/13 for Group 1 storage vessels and/or prior to 4/15/14 or 30 days after startup for Group 2 storage vessels.
Flashing losses shall be calculated using a generally accepted model or process simulation software program(s) and/or calculation methodology such as, but not limited to, E&P Tank, HYSIM, HYSIS, VMG, or ProMax, to calculate the VOC emissions.
Pressurized samples shall be taken after the separator and at the same time from the flash gas and condensate/oil lines for flash gas analyses; and the data from these lab analyses shall be used in the process simulation software to document emissions from flashing.
Instead of taking pressurized samples from the separator(s) or from the storage vessels, the permittee may utilize pressurized samples acquired from another similar facility operating under similar conditions, or choose to take a representative reservoir sample from a well in another part of the play.  If the permittee chooses to use pressurized samples from another facility, the flash gas analyses shall be submitted along with documentation demonstrating that the facility’s pressurized condensate/oil and gases would have similar chemical compositions and would be under similar pressures; and provide evidence that if pressurized samples were taken and lab analyses were conducted, the results would provide equivalent or lower emissions.  “Similar”, in this case, means that the chemical composition, pressures, and operating parameters/ conditions of the similar facility are close enough to this facility’s condensate/oil and gas composition, pressures, and operations, that the expected emissions would be equivalent to or less than the emissions calculated from the flash gas analyses obtained from the similar facility.  If the permittee chooses to use a representative reservoir sample, the analyses must be incorporated into an approved process simulation modeling program utilizing site-specific operating parameters.  “Representative”, in this case, means having an API gravity no more than 3 degrees below the API gravity of the condensate detected at the facility being permitted.  A representative sample with a higher API gravity results in a more conservative emissions estimate and is, therefore, not a concern.  If changes to the operating conditions and/or liquid composition are such that the emissions would be expected to exceed those determined with the representative analyses, the permittee shall either submit site-specific analyses using pressurized samples from the separator (with the highest pressures, if more than one), or submit emissions estimates using another representative analyses.  The Director reserves the right to require the owner/operator to obtain samples from the facility in order to verify compliance.
Working and breathing losses may be calculated using E&P Tank, EPA Tanks 4.0 software, or other accepted calculation methodology; and/or the working/loading emissions may be calculated using the “Loading Loss Equation” from AP-42, Section 5.2, for Transportation and Marketing of Petroleum Liquids, based on multiplying a loading loss factor (L*) by the annual petroleum liquid throughput in gallons per year divided by 1000, as follows:
*L = 12.46 SPM/T
For uncontrolled emissions, compliance with the emissions limitation above shall be established by multiplying an uncontrolled loading loss factor (LUC) by the annual throughput of petroleum liquids in gallons per year divided by 1,000.
LUC = 12.46 SPM/T
For controlled emissions, compliance with the emissions limitation above shall be established by multiplying a controlled loading loss factor (LC) by the annual throughput of petroleum liquids in gallons per year divided by 1,000.
LC = 12.46 SPM/T [1 – Efficiency/100]
Where:
Capture Efficiency = 97%
Destruction Efficiency = 98%
Control Efficiency = 97% x 98% = 95%
Where: 
L = loading loss, pounds per 1000 gallons loaded (Q)
S = saturation factor, 0.6 for submerged fill
P = vapor pressure of liquid loaded, pounds per square inch absolute
M = molecular weight of vapor
T = temperature of bulk liquid (oR)
MW = 66
P @ 61oF = 6.02
Submerged Fill Factor = 0.6
Temperature = 520.67 oR
Temperature = 520.67 oR
Applicable Compliance Method, through design of collection and controls
For each storage vessel for which the summation of the calculated potential VOC emissions from breathing, working, and flashing losses equal or exceed 6 tons per year, the permittee shall demonstrate compliance by:
a. installing covers meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5411(b); and 
b. routing all VOC emissions from the storage vessel through a closed vent system designed and operated with no detectable emissions, meeting the requirement of 40 CFR 60.5411(c); and
c. to a combustion control device designed and operated to reduce the mass content of VOC by 95.0%, in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5412(d); or 
d. to a combustion control device that’s model has been performance tested by the manufacturer in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d) and the compliant test results have been documented through submission to the appropriate U.S. EPA database; and the inlet gas flow rate is monitored and maintained at no more than the maximum rate specified by the manufacturer and the control device is maintained in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5413(e); and
e. conducting monthly inspections of the cover and closed vent system in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5416(c); and
f. conducting monthly inspections of the combustion control device in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5417(h).
Group 1 storage vessels (installed between 8/24/11 and 4/12/13) must be in compliance by April 15, 2015; and Group 2 storage vessels (installed after 4/12/13) must be in compliance by 4/15/14 or within 60 days after startup.  In the event an amendment to NSPS Subpart OOOO requires a performance test for the combustion control device to demonstrate compliance, the permittee shall schedule such performance test as required by the amended rules.
[40 CFR 60.5365(e)], [40 CFR 60.5395], [40 CFR 60.5410(h)], [40 CFR 60.5411(b) and (c)], [40 CFR 60.5412(d) or 40 CFR 60.5413(d)], [40 CFR 60.5415(e)(3)], and [ORC 3704.03(T)]
(25) If the permittee is demonstrating compliance by installing a combustion control device that’s model has been performance tested by the manufacturer, meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5413(d), compliance may be demonstrated by meeting the following criteria:
a. The inlet gas flow rate shall be maintained at a rate equal to or less than the flow rate established by the manufacturer.  The flow rate must be monitored as specified in 40 CFR 60.5417(d)(1)(viii)(A).
b. A pilot flame must be present at all times of operation and it must be monitored in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5417(d)(1)(viii)(B).
c. The combustion control device must be operated with no visible emissions, except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes during any hour.  Visible emissions testing must be performed each calendar quarter using Method 22 at 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7 with an observation period of 1 hour. 
d. Where the control device fails the visible emissions test, in order to return the unit to compliant operations, the permittee must follow manufacturer’s repair instructions or the best combustion engineering practices outlined in a inspection and maintenance plan for the control device.  All repairs and maintenance activities for each unit must be recorded in a maintenance and repair log and must be available for inspection.
e. Following return to operation from maintenance or repair activity, each combustion control device must pass an EPA Method 22, 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, visual observation as described in paragraph “c” above.
f. Unless the test results for that model of combustion control device has already been submitted by the manufacturer and are posted at: epa.gov/airquality/oilandgas/, an electronic copy of the performance test results must be submitted via email to Oil_and_Gas_PT@EPA.GOV.
[40 CFR 60.5413(e)] and [40 CFR 60.5417(d)(1)(viii)]
(26) Emissions Limitation, visible emissions options:
Where potential VOC emissions are determined to be less than 6 TPY, visible particulate emissions from the exhaust stack of the combustion device serving this/these storage vessel(s) shall not exceed 20% opacity, as a six-minute average, except as specified by rule.
[OAC rule 3745-17-07(A)(1)(a)]
If required to install controls, where potential VOC emissions are determined to be equal to or greater than 6 TPY, an enclosed combustion device must be operated with no visible emissions except for periods not to exceed a total of 1 minute in any 15 minute period, conducting Method 22 once every calendar month.
[40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1)(iii)]
If demonstrating compliance using a combustion control device that is performance tested by the manufacturer, in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5413(d), the combustion device must be operated with no visible emissions except for periods not to exceed a total of 2 minutes in any 1 hour of operation, conducting Method 22 once per calendar quarter.
[40 CFR 60.5413(e)(3)]
Applicable Compliance Method:
Compliance with the visible emissions limitation shall be determined in accordance with U.S. EPA Method 22 in Appendix A of 40 CFR Part 60.
[40 CFR 60.5412(d)(1)(iii)] [40 CFR 60.5413(e)(3)] and [40 CFR 60.5413(a)(1)]
(27) Closed-Vent Systems
Emissions Limitation:
For each storage vessel affected facility, with emissions greater than 6 tons of VOC per year, all gases, vapors, and fumes from the storage vessels shall be routed through a closed-vent system to a control device meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5412.  The closed-vent system shall be designed and operated with no detectable emissions as demonstrated by 40 CFR 5412(d) or 40 CFR 60.5413(d) and through inspection conducted in accordance with 40 CFR 60.5416(c).  
Leak detection may be conducted using a portable sampler in accordance with Method 21 or the permittee may use a "Forward Looking Infra Red” (FLIR) camera to determine if there are emissions from the closed vent system, storage vessels, and ancillary equipment.  If a leak is detected using a FLIR a portable sampler shall be used in accordance with Method 21 to measure and document the successful repair of the leak.  The closed-vent system shall be considered in compliance if the instrument reading is less than 500 parts per million by volume (ppmv) above background.
Applicable Compliance Method:
a. A demonstration that there are no detectable emissions shall be determined during each annual inspection of the closed vent system and conducted in accordance with the test procedure set forth in U.S. EPA Method 21 at 40 CFR Pert 60, Appendix A-7.
b. The detection instrument must meet the performance criteria of Method 21 at 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7, except that the instrument response factor criteria in section 3.1.2(a) of Method 21 must be for the average composition of the fluid and not for each individual organic compound in the stream.
c. The detection instrument must be calibrated before use by the procedures specified in Method 21 at 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7.
d. Calibration gases must be as specified as follows:
i. zero air (less than 10 parts per million by volume hydrocarbon in air); and
ii. a mixture of methane in air at a concentration less than 10,000 parts per million by volume.
e. the detection instrument readings may be adjusted to account for the background organic concentration level; the background level value must be determined in accordance with the procedures in Method 21 at 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7.
f. The detection instrument must meet the performance criteria of Method 21 at 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7, except the instrument response factor criteria in section 3.1.2(a) of Method 21 must be for the average composition of the process fluid, not each individual volatile organic compound.  Where the process streams contains nitrogen, air, or other inert elements/compounds that are not organic hazardous air pollutants or volatile organic compounds, the average stream response factor must be calculated on an inert-free basis.
g. If not adjusting the detection instrument readings for the background organic concentration level, the maximum organic concentration value measured by the detection instrument shall be compared to 500 ppm by volume, the applicable value for the potential leak interface.
h. If adjusting the detection instrument readings for the background organic concentration level, the value of the arithmetic difference between the maximum organic concentration value measured by the instrument and the background organic concentration value shall be compared to 500 ppm by volume, the applicable value for the potential leak interface.
A potential leak interface is determined to operate with no detectable organic emissions if the organic concentration value, determined using Method 21, is less than 500 parts per million by volume above background.
[ORC 3704.03(T)] or [OAC 3745-31-05(F)]; [follows Part 60 Subpart VV, 40 CFR 60.482-10 and 40 CFR 60.485(b)]
n) Miscellaneous Requirements
1. Any amendment to Part 60, Subpart OOOO shall supersede the Subpart OOOO compliance limitations and/or options contained in this permit.
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